We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful surprise!”

Prairie Berry Winery
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Experience our award-winning wines in a fun and relaxed setting in the heart of the Black Hills. Find us three miles northwest of Hill City on Highway 385, just a few miles from Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Crazy Horse Memorial. We’re Hill City’s only working winery and Sandi Vojta, our fifth generation winemaker, handcrafts each wine, often using old family recipes, just a few steps from our Tasting Room. Start your Prairie Berry Winery experience with a free wine tasting of up to five of our award-winning wines, including our Anna Pesä handcrafted traditional European wines, at our Tasting Bars. We produce a variety of wines in styles for every palate – from crisp, dry wines and robust, oak-aged reds to sweet, fruity varieties. Our Kitchen offers housemade menu items including gluten-free, vegetarian and kids’ options. Menu selections pair perfectly with our wines, vary with the season and many of our ingredients are sourced locally. Enjoy a meal on our patio with our beautiful views of Black Elk Peak (formerly Harney Peak). Our brewery, Miner Brewing Company, is located next door.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Based on advice from locals (and good reviews), visited this winery off season to miss the crowds. Did appetizers for lunch and the wine tasting. Atmosphere is pleasant, clean and professional. Parking lot is being expanded over winter. Personnel are fantastic, and the food, while a little pricey, is excellent and well worthwhile. Oh yes, the wine is very good as well. Grapes used are from SD, region, and elsewhere. I was particularly pleased with the white wines from local grapes. These are actually a somewhat better value than the fruit wines, which are also very good. Bottom line: I will be returning to this gem of the Black Hills.

4  Thank Food_Detective101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for the great review! We're always happy to hear from our guests. We will pass along your compliments to our staff, and let our Kitchen and winemaker know you enjoyed the food and South Dakota white wines.
Thanks for visiting and taking the time to write a review. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 574 of 659 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Love taking a day trip up to Hill City! It's a must to stop by Prairie Berry! The atmosphere is awesome and the wine is excellent! If your looking to eat lunch, their kitchen is unbeatable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BadgerFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Prairie Berry with us. We're always happy to hear from repeat visitors and especially happy to hear that we're living up to your expectations. We will pass your compliments on to the Kitchen.
Thanks again, and happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a great experience at Prairie Berry, not only is the wine delicious but the service was also outstanding. Alli helped us to choose the perfect wines to take home with us. She knew exactly what to suggest and did it with a smile!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Prairie Berry. We're always happy to be able to pass compliments on to our staff. We will let Alli know that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you again, and happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

In an area full of seasonal mom & pop tacky tourist traps, Prairie Berry winery is an oasis of culture, cuisine and award-winning wines. The food is uncommonly good, and the wines are so superior to expectations that true wine lovers need to give this a serious look. This isn't just boutique fruit wines, but some very serious varietals that are winning serious national awards. The place is gracious without being stuffy, and some of the greatest people work there providing meals, great conversation and samples. THIS IS A FIRST CLASS OUTFIT. We will be back again and again when we are in the area. Thanks Shari & Sonya.

3  Thank Granny-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you enjoy about Prairie Berry. We will pass your compliments on to our staff, especially Sonja and Shari.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We do love the food at Prairie Berry. They are wonderful at catering to vegan and gfcf diets. The wine tasting is a fun addition to the lunches we do about once a month. Susan was very knowledgable of the wines we were tasting. Our kudos to her. The only drawback is the prices which are a bit high of both food and wine. Would buy more of the wine if it were more reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crsymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for being a repeat visitor and for your great comments. Thanks also for your mention of our vegan and gluten-free options. We try to make sure we have items on our menu that appeal to all tastes. We love being able to pass compliments on to our staff, so we will make sure Susan knows she provided a great tasting experience.

Most of the fruits that go into our wines are hand-harvested by people in remote areas of South Dakota. We handcraft those fruits into international-award-winning wines. We apply the same philosophy of local and loved to the food from our Kitchen, making nearly everything in-house and using local products whenever possible. It may cost a little more, but for us, the superior quality and support of our local economy are worth it.

We truly appreciate your feedback, and hope you'll contact us if you have any further comments, questions or suggestions. You can reach us at 1.877.226.9453 or info@prairieberry.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing