We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An astondingly delightful experience”

Prairie Berry Winery
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Experience our award-winning wines in a fun and relaxed setting in the heart of the Black Hills. Find us three miles northwest of Hill City on Highway 385, just a few miles from Mount Rushmore National Memorial and Crazy Horse Memorial. We’re Hill City’s only working winery and Sandi Vojta, our fifth generation winemaker, handcrafts each wine, often using old family recipes, just a few steps from our Tasting Room. Start your Prairie Berry Winery experience with a free wine tasting of up to five of our award-winning wines, including our Anna Pesä handcrafted traditional European wines, at our Tasting Bars. We produce a variety of wines in styles for every palate – from crisp, dry wines and robust, oak-aged reds to sweet, fruity varieties. Our Kitchen offers housemade menu items including gluten-free, vegetarian and kids’ options. Menu selections pair perfectly with our wines, vary with the season and many of our ingredients are sourced locally. Enjoy a meal on our patio with our beautiful views of Black Elk Peak (formerly Harney Peak). Our brewery, Miner Brewing Company, is located next door.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

In an area full of seasonal mom & pop tacky tourist traps, Prairie Berry winery is an oasis of culture, cuisine and award-winning wines. The food is uncommonly good, and the wines are so superior to expectations that true wine lovers need to give this a serious look. This isn't just boutique fruit wines, but some very serious varietals that are winning serious national awards. The place is gracious without being stuffy, and some of the greatest people work there providing meals, great conversation and samples. THIS IS A FIRST CLASS OUTFIT. We will be back again and again when we are in the area. Thanks Shari & Sonya.

3  Thank Granny-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you enjoy about Prairie Berry. We will pass your compliments on to our staff, especially Sonja and Shari.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 575 of 657 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We do love the food at Prairie Berry. They are wonderful at catering to vegan and gfcf diets. The wine tasting is a fun addition to the lunches we do about once a month. Susan was very knowledgable of the wines we were tasting. Our kudos to her. The only drawback is the prices which are a bit high of both food and wine. Would buy more of the wine if it were more reasonable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crsymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for being a repeat visitor and for your great comments. Thanks also for your mention of our vegan and gluten-free options. We try to make sure we have items on our menu that appeal to all tastes. We love being able to pass compliments on to our staff, so we will make sure Susan knows she provided a great tasting experience.

Most of the fruits that go into our wines are hand-harvested by people in remote areas of South Dakota. We handcraft those fruits into international-award-winning wines. We apply the same philosophy of local and loved to the food from our Kitchen, making nearly everything in-house and using local products whenever possible. It may cost a little more, but for us, the superior quality and support of our local economy are worth it.

We truly appreciate your feedback, and hope you'll contact us if you have any further comments, questions or suggestions. You can reach us at 1.877.226.9453 or info@prairieberry.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Some fun wines, nice little gift shop, and bbq pheasant pizza is to die for! And if you find some wines you really like, they'll ship...

1  Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

We're glad you had a positive experience and we appreciate you taking the time to share that. Come back and visit us again--our menus change seasonally, so there's always something new to try. Thanks again for posting your thoughts, and please let us know if there's ever anything we can help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Staff here is friendly and extremely knowledgable. But the best thing is the wine. I am ashamed to say I love their wines, even though most of them are on the sweet side and I realize that is not very couth. But the wines are actually delicious. One of my favorites is Poker Face, which tastes of caramel and pineapple. I don't know how they do it but these wines are killer. Plus they have gourmet food both to eat there and pantry items to take home. I bought a smoked goose breast that was phenomenal and not that expensive.

1  Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Social Media Associate at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Amber--
Thank you for visiting, and we're glad you enjoyed your stop! We understand there's a perception out there that sweet wines aren't as sophisticated as dry wines, but our philosophy is that if you like a wine, you should drink it and enjoy it. Our wines, both dry and sweet, have won more than 700 awards in international competitions, so when you say you like our wines, you're in good company. We really appreciate all the nice things you have to say and will pass your compliments on to our staff.
Happy Thanksgiving!
~Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very expensive but good food definitely for the "hip" I wouldn't bring the kids! The wine tasting was nice.The women who appeared to be in charge of the food area had a unattactive,unhelpful attitude which set her apart from the rest of the staff who were nice.The place seemed to be in transition from open to closing?

Thank ELM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrairieBerryWinery, Manager at Prairie Berry Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We apologize that the experience was not entirely positive, and are addressing the issues you brought up with our staff. If you would like to contact us and discuss this further, we'd love to know exactly what we can improve to make sure our guests do not encounter this problem again. All of us here at Prairie Berry are focused on making the customer experience as positive as possible and we appreciate hearing all feedback, both good and bad.
Please contact Cara at 1.877.226.9453 ext. 240 to discuss.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you'll stop by again if you're in the area.
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Berry Winery also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing