We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine Tasting in the Black Hills” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie Berry Winery

Prairie Berry Winery
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A modern winery with elements that point to the family's five generations of South Dakota winemaking experience. Just a few miles from Mount Rushmore, with patio seating, hip heritage decor in the Tasting Room and Kitchen dining areas. Free tasting of our award-winning wines, from dry reds to sweet fruit. Fresh, gourmet food from our Kitchen. Open daily, year-round. Closed New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting in the Black Hills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stopped here after our hike and were hoping to get something to eat and taste wine. The brochure sounded like they might be meals but they are basically a deli of unique sandwiches. Because they didn't have anything without gluten that was substantial after a long hike, we didn't end up eating here. However, we did do some wine tasting. While at Mt. Rushmore we saw these wines and one called "Red A** Rhubarb" and it peaked our interest so we decided to stop here to do a wine tasting. The rhubarb wine was good and not necessarily a dessert wine. We came away with 6 bottles of various wines. There were two other wineries in the area but we didn't have time to stop but at one and this one has been here the longest as far as I could tell.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Singingdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    141
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
356 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A "Little Bit" of Napa Valley in South Dakota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

One of our favorite vacation pass-times is searching out local wineries. We really didn't think we would find a California style tasting room in South Dakota. But we did. The young servers were extremely well educated and Clarissa asked about our wine preferences before offering the 5 free tastings. All five wines we sampled were delightful but our favorite was their St. Pepin 2010. However everyone must try "Red XXX Rhubarb" a blend of rhubarb and raspberry - a bit sweet, but a fun wine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJean1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Wines, Nice showroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Prices average for wineries. The showroom is great, checkout easy, but the tasting bar is to small. They have a VIP tasting station that is larger, but you had to be a club member and it was empty. Still in the process of remodeling, but not an issue for customers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city, sd
Level Contributor
347 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Not a Wine Drinker, but Love These”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a must stop in for your tour of the Black Hills. They let you try 5 wines for free, and after that you have to pay. After two wines, you will be happy! My mom lives in central CA (wine country) and orders wine from here. I am more of a sweet wine person, so my favorite is Gold Digger. My moms favorite is Cranberry. My Husband loves Lawrence Elk. You have to try them and see what you like. Staff is knowledgeable, and there are a lot of nice souveniers. Bonus is the kitchen, which is a little eclectic, but the food is awesome. Have lunch and sample a little of the best of the Black Hills!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love that Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great Great Great, Glad I could bring some wine back to Iowa, staff very helpful with packing the wine for the trip home

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Berry Winery also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Berry Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing