We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We had a fabulous time at the Lodestone cabins. The cabins are rustic, which made us feel like we were camping. The kitchen's have everything you need, as well as the bathrooms. Keep in mind it's no Hilton, but it's perfect for the setting. They have a nice park for the kids to play on and a gorgeous back lawn with a little creek and a nice area to relax and enjoy the scenery. It's outside of Hill City a little, so there isn't a lot of come and go traffic. We thought that the owners were really nice and had no complaints (like the last reviewer). They were VERY nice to our kids and let their dog, Watson, play with them. They talked to us, they were extremely nice and they never used profanity around our 3 young kids and we were right next to their house. I hope, if you are reading this and thinking about staying there, you do. I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thisisapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

We did not have an enjoyable stay at Lode Stone Cabins. The place was not handicap accessible. We were told that we could fit 4 vehicles next to each other in the place reserved for parking, which was not possible if you wanted to open doors and get out. We had a party of twelve, therefore we had 3 very large vehicles and 1 car.
We were also told that our rooms would not be entered unless we put a special sign on our door wishing so and they were entered anyway. Medicine and keys came up missing. The keys "magically" turned up, found by the owner.
The owners were very picky about little things, was very explosive, and used profanity in front of children. The man even threateded to "paddle" our 6 year old boy, for getting dirt on the asphalt!
We always left early in the morning and didn't come back until well after dark and they were still rude.

We would never recommend this place to anyone looking to have a nice stay.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank idk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Poor parking and is not handicap assesible. The owner of these cabins are very picky and picks at children the whole time you are there. He also uses profane language around children. Will never stay there again or recommend to any famlies traveling with children.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank grover2895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The owners of these cabins are so picky to a point that you can not enjoy your stay there. The husband definately has a problem with mood swings one moment he is as nice as can be and the next he is violently angry and complaining. They use abusive profanity in front of children. They threatened to spank my six year old granson. Come in and out of your cabins when you are not there. We had medication and keys come up missing. The owners threaten to add additional charges for getting dirt on there driveway and many other unreasonable things, I didn't know what to do, I had secured our cabins with my credit card. There is hardly any parking and what parking there is, is so tight that you can barely get out of your car. Our family of twelve will never stay there again, and since then have been told by others that they have stayed there and have had the same experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grover9546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We will never return to this motel and lodge, the owner was very rude the entire time of our stay. He threatened to "spank" my 6 year old nephew because of dirt on the asphalt. He was in our rooms when we were not preasent and things like medicine came up missing. I do not recommend this place if your looking to have an enjoyable vacation!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglassWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

My daughters and I really enjoyed our stay. Hill City is a great location in the Black Hills. The motel was a cute Mom and Pop's. Our room had 2 comfortable double beds, a/c, cable TV (office also has many movies you can borrow and watch in your room), kitchen with table, nice size refrigerator with freezer, stove, and microwave. Towels, dish detergent, soap, and garbage bags were provided. There was a gas grill. The bathroom was a nice size with wonderful shower water pressure! The owners live on site so if you need anything they are there to help. The only issue we had was with the wi-fi - it did not work the 5 days we were there (but we also went to the public library and their internet also did not work!??) There is no personal laundry on site, but in town there is a nice laundry mat that is quick (only 1 hour) to wash and dry!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronda42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This is a rehabbed motor lodge place. At first glance I was concerned. But after a few minutes I totally changed my mind.

Our room was cinder block-one big room with 2 beds. The beds were comfortable and clean. The room is not fancy-mostly taken up with beds. There was a nice arm chair just like the one I have at home.

Behind it was a full kitchen with a nice window looking out back to the stream. I loved the kitchen-clean and everything worked. Easy to cook and eat in.

The bathroom was roomy with a good shower. Very clean and white.

Out front is a porch where we visited with other travellers in the morning and evening.
The owner and his wife are very friendly and helpful.
The scenery was gorgeous-we even saw a big horn sheep just across the street. Wildlife viewing was easy.
Very conveniently located to everything.
Finally-this is a small thing but I was impressed. We had baseboard heating that was perfect. Quiet, and worked very well.
We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank wanderkat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
119 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins

Address: 23884 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6517
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
#5 Family Hotel in Hill City
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel And Cabins
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel & Cabins Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing