We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome vacation stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Save
You added Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hill City
Arlington, Texas
1 review
“Awesome vacation stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our hosts were more than accommodating. The cabins are perfect, clean and well stocked and reasonably priced. The location could not have been more perfect for our first trip to South Dakota. Everything we wanted to do in the entire area was close by and easily accessible. The creek area behind the cabins is a great bonus area. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: all cabins and rooms are on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladeane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Looking for a comfortable place to stay centrally located where you can spend the day exploring Custer State Park, riding the Needles Highway, visiting Mount Rushmore, playing in the Black Hills National Forest or enjoying the Indian Museum North America at Crazy Horse Memorial? This is it because all of these things are within a 10 - 15 mile radius! The cabin and motel are perfect for folks who want to enjoy all the beauty of the Black Hills, plus it's approximately an hour or so from other South Dakota must see's: Deadwood, Sturgis, Spearfish Canyon, and Rapid City. Rustic cabins are clean, have comfy beds and are perfect for those who want to make a few meals while traveling. Helpful owners are on site and pleasant. Come sit a spell on the porch, cook a burger on the grill, or watch for big horn sheep or other wildlife down by the creek. A very relaxing place to stay!

Room Tip: Cabins are charmingly rustic...have their own kitchen, plus a grill on the porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredaNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowood, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We made our first trip to the Black Hills of SD in June 2014. We took the advice of many and tried to find accommodations in the Black Hills rather than staying in Rapid City or the surrounding areas. Good recommendation. The Lodestone could not be more centrally located with easy access to all the attractions. Cabin number four was just as advertised. It was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but suited our needs perfectly, especially for the price. The staff was friendly and helpful in planning our travels around the area. Would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMT1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The couple who own this resort were very friendly and accommodating. The cabins were beautiful and reasonably priced. It was centrally located between any activity you would want to do. There is a nice creek area out back. The cabin had a TV with a DVD player and satalite tv; however I can't say anything about that we have a no TV rule on vacation. I can't wait to return next year. What an amazing place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This cabin was cozy and clean. We were located right in the heart of the Black Hills. Only a mile and half from Hill City. Quick drive to Mount Rushmore, 1880 Train ride, Custer State Park and many other attractions. This is a mom and pop operation. Our room had two queen beds, sofa, easy chair, nice shower area, and a kitchenette. To top it all off we had a gas grill right outside our front door. This is a way to save money on meals too. Anything we needed the owners were of assistance. Would stay again and recommend this cabin to others. I was most impressed with how clean everything was and the price.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center. However, we had HD Dish TV and WIFI. All the cabins are close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mavis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This place was great, Called when we arrived late in the evening and they were just happy little campers to have us over. Nice puppy too. Wish we could have stayed longer it was so cute and relaxing there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilypad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The accomadations were really quite excellent comfortable and clean. One bedroom was to the back where my two grandson slept (10 & 12) and I was to the front with the bathroom in between including the kitchen. The owners were the friendliest folks in every way ready to be of assistance when ever necessary. My grandsons just loved having fellowship with their grandson and watching television at their home and exploring all over the place. We would look forward to staying at the Lodestone Motel as our home base for seeing all the sights around about and they were very reasonable and it was perfect for us.

Room Tip: The rooms may be a little different one from the other and would suggest checking it out that it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins

Property: Janssen's Lodestone Motel & Cabins
Address: 23884 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745-6517
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hill City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hill City
Number of rooms: 155
Also Known As:
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel And Cabins
Janssen`s Lodestone Motel & Cabins Hotel Hill City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing