We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, try the buffalo”

Desperados Cowboy Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Hill City
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Leesburg, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, try the buffalo”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Make sure you make a reservation--lines out the door when we arrived. We were seated quickly, and our server was attentive and fast. All 3 adults tried the buffalo (two had the roast, one the steak); all loved it. The kids had pasta and their was good as well. Great atmosphere right on the main street through town. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    274
    95
    41
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Family friendly, actually just friendly all round. The menu was decent, they had a good selection of beers and wines and when our waitress was admittedly a little slow in bringing our drinks, she immediately apologized and comped them, without a word from us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oneiljh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We were passing through Hill City and chose Desperado's based on positive reviews. The menu was simple, but offered plenty of variety: buffalo burgers, chili, salad, and late breakfast. Our server was new, but friendly and attentive. It us located in a historic building with original hand-hewn logs.

Helpful?
Thank LaurieM505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I read mixed reviews on TripAdvisor so I was hesitant for us to eat at Desperados. I am so glad we ate there. The atmosphere can't be beat. The inside is worth the visit by itself. One ordered the quesadilla and two of us had BBQ sandwiches. All were very good. Drinks are served in mason jars. This is a great place to eat when in Hill City. Most items are under $10.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcikon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Free-range, organic grass-fed, local buffalo - It does make a difference!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I consider myself a buffalo-burger expert. I like the taste, and I like the fact that they are healthier for me than a burger. Desperados serves a special buffalo burger that is actually even lower calorie than the buffalo meat that others serve. It was fresh, and cooked perfectly (not overcooked). The burger was very juicy, and tasty. (The burger was so good, that we are planning on ordering some when we get home.) I also will suggest ordering the sweet potato fries. Many times sweet potato fries are soggy, limp, and gross. These were crispy and flavorful. This was the second time we had been to this restaurant, and did didn't disappoint.

On a side note, it was mentioned in other reviews that the service was slow . . . and it was. We were told that there were extenuating circumstances (not going to get into it here) - just know that it is not the fault of poor management. So reviewers, cut them a little bit of slack.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperados Cowboy Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Desperados Cowboy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing