We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing B & B I have ever stayed at!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2009

In looking for a central location, I came across this B&B in a search on the Internet. I have to say that this is the best B&B I have ever stayed at and this is all because of Sam and Linda! Every morning was a joy, being able to linger at the table after breakfast and getting to know Sam and Linda who both went out of their way to make us feel at home and provide us with everything we needed. This is a very family friendly place and a very good location to travel to all the sites. Sam and Linda are very knowledgeable about the area and were able to direct us to make better use of the time we had. We will definitely be making a trip back, thanks so much Sam and Linda!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJHolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2008

Sam & Linda have one of the cleanest B& B's we have stayed at. The breakfast selections are great and Linda's blue ribbon jam is worth the visit. Although we do not have children this location would be the prefect stop for a family. The little ones would love the "bear den" and stuffed amimals. Rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mimaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this B&B over Labor Day weekend. They only have two rooms for guests and we were the only people staying there. That was hard to believe since this B&B had quite possibly the best breakfast I've ever had! The B&B is also an antiques store and we ate breakfast right in the middle of the store. We had delicious omelets one morning and pancakes with eggs and sausage the next.
The room was very large and the bathroom was great with a spa tub and plenty of room to spread out. It was a little warm outside during our stay but the a/c in the room cooled us down after long hikes in the hills nearby.
Linda and Sam, the owners, were so accomodating as well. We had forgotten our backpack for our hike and they generously loaned us one of theirs. They were full of helpful information about the area and what we should see and where we should go. The location of the B&B is adjacent to the main downtown area of Hill City - a great little street of shops and restaurants.
The B&B also runs a small coffee shop and their drinks are delicious. I can't wait to recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ahavakamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Our family of four (2 adults & 2 kids) thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accomodations were perfect for a family. The kids had fun staying in the loft and the adults had privacy. Our room was warm and inviting and included lots of extra touches that made are stay very comfortable. Breakfast not only filled our tummies with delicious food but the visual experience of discovering the antiques was satisfying as well. The B&B was perfectly located to experience all the Blackhills had to offer without too much backtracking.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lkeely40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

This was our first experience at a B&B and we loved it. Sam and Linda made us feel welcome right away. They were very accomodating and made the whole experience wonderful.

We stayed three nights in the Chessie Lee's Peas Suite. It was like staying in a little house, all to ourselves. It was just my husband and myself and we had loads of room. The bed was cozy and the bath products were great. I can see where the accomodations are very family friendly.

The breakfasts were delicious and a fun atmosphere in the dining room. It was a great way to start off our day.

The property is very conveniently located to downtown Hill City, you can walk to everything.

If you are looking for a great place to stay in the Hills at an incredible value Mountains to Prairies is the place. I can't recommend it enough. I'd give it more stars if I could.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lookout4bikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Took my 86 year old father and we had a wonderful time with Sam and Linda. Sam and Linda helped us with the sites around the area. Wonderful meals, and it is so nice to come in from a long day and enjoy the porch with a delicious latte that Linda or Sam had fixed. Also enjoyed buying homemade jams from the granddaughter and shopping in the antique shop. Sam and Linda made us feel right at home and part of the family. We have made new friends in this wonderful couple. It was very nice to walk by the ole train station in the afternoon and enjoy the deer grazing in the area. I will return to this bed and breakfast again.

Sandy Barden
Columbia, SC

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willeenbarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Beautiful room at convenient location. This B & B is also an Antique store and coffee shop during the day. The B &B rooms are separate,but breakfast is served in the Antique store. What fun. Delicious breakfasts and wonderful hosts Sam & Linda, who are very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MJJ1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.5 mi away
Lantern Inn
Lantern Inn
#2 of 8 in Hill City
83 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
0.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 East Main Street, PO Box 765, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range: $85 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in hills, near scenic drives, mountain lakes, wilderness, caves. Walk to historic downtown. Log-accented suite has 'bear den' for children. Pine-wrapped suite with loft sleeps up to five, and cabin-style suite with kitchenette sleeps three; personal entrances. All three provide queen pillowtop beds, satellite hdtv/dvd/vcr, wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, ac, smoke/pet free. Inhouse antiques shop and espresso bar. Make M2P your starting point, and your relaxing place. Discounts available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing