We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfy, cozy in the Black Hills”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are visiting the Black Hills, Mountains to Prairies is like having a cabin in the middle of town; convenient to all the area attractions (Crazy Horse Monument, Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore, etc.) Clean, spacious, comfy cozy. We stayed 3 nights in Chessie Lee’s room which can comfortably accommodate 5 people if you take the loft. It has a small fridge and microwave and the pellet stove was especially appreciated the night it snowed.
Sam and Linda are gracious hosts and Linda’s specialty coffees are great. The sign is a bit hidden from the street so keep your eyes open so you don’t pass up this gem

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seger725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 81 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Mountains to Prairies was our first experience in a B & B. Not having anything to compare it to may lead you to believe that we don't have a lot to say. But that's just not true. This was a fantastic experience. The next leisurely trip we make, we will be looking for a B & B just like Mountains to Prairies. We truly believe it is the best B & B in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We went for 4 nights at the tail end of the busy season and we had a very good time. We had a VERY busy schedule planned since we don't get a lot of vacation time, and Sam & Linda were gracious in helping us with our needs. We also had some compounding issues with our vehicle, and they were able to help recommend somewhere locally to get it fixed.

On to the breakfasts! We really enjoyed each meal, the crown belonging to the made-to-order omelets! Everything was great, finished up by a treat coffee. They were great fuel for our very active and busy days.

Our room was upstairs above the antique store, and we slept well. It was equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot as well as TV/DVD/VCR/Dish. Added bonus was the jet-tub. After our long busy days, what a great way to relax and get ready for the next adventure.

Room Tip: Upstairs requires the use of the stairs - if this is a problem, we'd recommend the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Mountains to Prairies and thoroughly enjoyed it. Sam and Linda made us feel so comfortable. Sam was very knowledgeable and helpful with his suggestions for dining and sightseeing. Linda cooked a great breakfast and made delicious coffee drinks. Both of them were very nice and we enjoyed our conversations. This B&B was very clean and conveniently located near main attractions and just walking distance to local shops and restaurants. Our daughter loved the bear's den!

Room Tip: If you have kids, make sure to pick the room with the bear's den and use the air mattress on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We chose this B&B based on reviews from Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. After staying in basic cabins in Yellowstone, we welcomed the cozy, comfortable atmosphere of Mountains to Prairies. Even though our suite was in the main house, we had our own entrance and felt like we were staying in our own luxurious cabin. We were surrounded by antiques and wood paneled walls. We enjoyed our own kitchenette, even though we simply make coffee every morning. The hosts were caring and made us feel at home. The location right in Hill City was perfect. After a long day of sightseeing, we parked the car and walked to dinner. Desperados was our favorite restaurant with Alpine Inn coming in a close second. A nice feature was the ability to opt out of breakfast if we chose, allowing us to get any early start. We did enjoy one of Linda's wonderful breakfasts which kept us satisfied most of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Mountains to Prairies was a great place to stay for many reasons. The rooms are very unique, spacious, clean and comfortable. It is like you are in your own cabin in the woods - and then you walk through the door and are served a wonderful breakfast and coffee in the antique shop. No need for lunch most days !!

We spend 5 nights here using both the first floor rooms - and were thrilled with everything. Sam was a great host with helpful suggestions for attactions in the area. It was super easy to walk down Main Street and pick a different restaurant each night. Our favorite stop in town - which is new and not on Trip Advisor yet - was Twisted Pine Winery - great wine, CHEESE and olive oil. SUPER location to get to all the parks/caves, Mammoth Site and Rapid City. We would definitely stay here again...........

Room Tip: All great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay in two different bed and breakfasts in the Black Hills which allowed us to compare lodging.

This Bed and Breakfast is located in town, which I wasn't expecting, but it made it convenient for accessing the attractions. The owners, Sam and Linda, run an antique store out of the dining room, and a coffee shop at the front desk. Though the road in front of the home is busy, you cannot hear the traffic, unless you open the window. It is across the street from the 1880 train, and during the day you hear a very faint old time train whistle, which was actually charming.

We stayed in the room with the loft, Bluma Madle. This is an interesting room as when one enters the lobby/front desk area, there are stairs to the right leading to the 2nd floor, which consists of the loft to the left, and the Bluma Madle room to the right. Our teenage daughter stayed in the loft bed, which consisted of an air mattress on the wood platform. There are large windows which do not open, and blankets are hooked to the windows for privacy. I was a little uncomfortable with the fact our daughter was outside of our room, and the stairs do not have a door to prevent others from walking up the stairs in the middle of the night. The owners do keep the front door locked when the coffee shop/antique store are closed.

The Bluma Madle room is compact--a lot of furniture in an average size bedroom. Instead of a closet there is an antique armoire. There is a bench at the end of the queen size bed which will hold a suit case. There is a hall tree with a bench which holds another suitcase. There is a refrigerator and a microwave--both nice touches. The bathroom has a deep jacuzzi tub.

We typically don't use air conditioning, preferring natural ventilation, but we were advised if we opened the one window in the bedroom we'd hear the road noise. Since there is only one small window the room is a little dark, but there are plenty of lamps. The air conditioning is a wall unit and it is noisy. The bed sleeps very warm, possibly due to the fact it is a pillow top mattress and it had a thick mattress cover. While comfortable, I felt like I was sleeping on an electric blanket.

There were two other families staying at the same time. Each family is provided with their own table in the dining room, but this didn't prevent us from visiting with the other families. Breakfast is delicious, hearty and plentiful, so much so on our second breakfast my daughter and I told Sam we'd share one breakfast. Their sweet granddaughter conscientiously waitressed the tables. On Sunday mornings they do not serve breakfast, but provide a picnic basket option. The owners will give you a $15 credit if you do not take the picnic basket. We were checking out and decided to eat on the road. Linda was sweet to leave homemade muffins in our room the night before.

My husband enjoyed visiting with Sam. We didn't see Linda much as she works the kitchen, and since she runs a commercial kitchen the guests are not allowed into the kitchen.

Though we enjoyed this Bed and Breakfast, we missed not having a common comfortable family room/sitting room. We typically like to visit with other guests, or the owners, after a day of touring.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvlRedondoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.1 mi away
Harney Peak Inn
Harney Peak Inn
#1 of 8 in Hill City
73 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Hill City/Mt. Rushmore/ Area
3.7 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 East Main Street, PO Box 765, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range: $85 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in hills, near scenic drives, mountain lakes, wilderness, caves. Walk to historic downtown. Log-accented suite has 'bear den' for children. Pine-wrapped suite with loft sleeps up to five, and cabin-style suite with kitchenette sleeps three; personal entrances. All three provide queen pillowtop beds, satellite hdtv/dvd/vcr, wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, ac, smoke/pet free. Inhouse antiques shop and espresso bar. Make M2P your starting point, and your relaxing place. Discounts available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing