We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in All Respects”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Hill City B&B and Inns
Saco, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb in All Respects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed with my family for 3 nights in late May. Great room (Chessie Lee) with loft nook for our two daughters. Cozy, clean, quiet, with great food and terrific hosts. Right in the center of Black Hills. Could not have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

If you want a place to feel completely at home, have enjoyable conversations, and get good advice for ways to spend your days, this is the place. If you're wanting a place that is just a place to sleep and to grab a bite before running, then find a hotel! All the antiques and the wood decor gave it a very homey feeling. Fun just to look around at all the stuff before breakfast. Sam and Linda were great hosts - the breakfasts were over the top. Linda could teach Starbucks a few tricks in how to make incredible coffee drinks. It was just the two of us, but would be great for a family as well. Hill City is a perfect location convenient to all the Black Hills sights. If I come back to the area, I'll be contacting Sam & Linda!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbobka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Sam & Linda made us feel right at home in their B&B / antique shop at the edge of main street in the heart of Hill City. Our room was are comfortable and homey with lot's of personal touches. Linda's breakfasts are fresh made, fantastic, and will keep you going until dinner! The innkeepers take great pride in their establishment and it shows. Sam is a fountain of information about the area and it's history, and provided many tips on things to see and alternate routes to take to get off the beaten path. Short walking distance to shopping and restaurants in town and 20 minutes from Mt. Rushmore, Hill City is the perfect balance between convenient location and quiet town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mountains to Prairies.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsley, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Mountains to Praries Bed and Breakfast is located in the charming city of Hill City. This was our stop before the Buffalo Roundup the following day. Sam and Linda were wonderful hosts and made our short visit a pleasure. The room had a private entrance, a small patio, and was decorated to the extreme. Every convience was taken into account. They also offer a complementary breakfast the next morning, but we had to leave early. They were gracious enough to pack us delicious muffins and drinks which really hit the spot. You cannot do any better than Mountains to Praries Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We had an awesome time staying at with the Brown's at the M2P B&B in Hill City SD, the best of both worlds for Sturgis Week. Centrally located in town as well as great knowledge and suggestions for fun... looking forward to our next trip to SD and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksb_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was our first stay in a bed and breakfast and we found the stay to be quite pleasant. Sam and Linda went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel welcomed. We stayed in the Bluma Madle. We found the decor of this suite to be very charming and nice. We were very impressed with Sam and Linda as genuine people who truly care about their guests and I would stay there again if we were to ever be in that area again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trelynn1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

Linda and Sam were wonderful hosts. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. Linda is willing to share recipes if you ask. Rooms were beautifully appointed and the most spacious I've stayed at. Any child would delight in staying in the bear den. We had a very early flight the last day and Linda and Sam prepared muffins and fruit for us. My 11-year-old daughter and I loved our stay and can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflower8192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hill City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harney Peak Inn
Harney Peak Inn
#1 of 8 in Hill City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountains To Prairies Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 East Main Street, PO Box 765, Hill City, SD 57745
Location: United States > South Dakota > Hill City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Hill City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in hills, near scenic drives, mountain lakes, wilderness, caves. Walk to historic downtown. Log-accented suite has 'bear den' for children. Pine-wrapped suite with loft sleeps up to five, and cabin-style suite with kitchenette sleeps three; personal entrances. All three provide queen pillowtop beds, satellite hdtv/dvd/vcr, wireless internet, refrigerator, microwave, ac, smoke/pet free. Inhouse antiques shop and espresso bar. Make M2P your starting point, and your relaxing place. Discounts available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing