We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
School Lodge Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Halvergate B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Julie is a lovely hostess,made you feel very welcome when we arrived,our room was very comfortable plus fridge if you needed it,one night we decided to stay in and we ordered a meal to our room,it was really nice,breakfast was also good plenty of choice,i would definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peppapig12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments, so glad you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us and also that you enjoyed you meal from our "Take Out" eat in your room menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    21
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
74
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a very pleasant Bed and Breakfast. It's nice to have your own entrance to your room. Also nice to be able to have a fridge to store things in.

On our last night we came back to the B&B around 5pm feeling really tired and we couldn't be bothered to go out to find somewhere to eat. We were aware that we needed to inform Julie at breakfast if we wanted to have dinner that night and as we hadn't we were pleasantly surprised when on enquiring, she said we were too late to book for the dinner but she would happily rustle up a salad for us to have.
It was great, and we ate it sitting outside in the garden. These extra helpful touches are what makes for a good host.

The choice at breakfast was good with good quality food.

Just the place to unwind, or in our case rush around like lunatics, trying to see everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbalwaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
It is very pleasing to learn that this couple had taken advantage of our NEW "Dine in Your Room" meal service...They actually preceeded the launch. We feel that giving people the Option and choice when dining to be very important and we are glad they enjoyed thier food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a fantastic guest house to stay at. Our own private entrance and garden area. Very comfortable and spacious accommodation. A really warm and friendly welcome from Julie made our stay complete. The dinner that she cooked for us on our second night was amazing, we really didn't think that we would have any more room for the lovely dessert, but we managed it ....just !!! The breakfast sets you up for a day of exploring the local area. We will definitely go and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torchytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Lovely comments from lovely people and we certainly look forward to seeing them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to, what is, an excellent B&B. Situated in a lovely location. Comfortable, quiet, clean room with it's own private entrance. Allowing guests to come & go as they please. Car park.
A warm friendly welcome awaits. Great choice at breakfast to suit all tastes. We would not hesitate in recommending the School Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11082012f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to see you both again. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had two nights at the School Lodge. Very comfortable accommodation with the added advantage of two armchairs in the room so that one of us didn't have to sit on the bed to watch the tv. Julie's beef in red wine with dumplings was absolutely delicious and the cooked breakfast was as good as you would get in any top hotel. We would certainly return again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice55England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Glad you had a lovely relaxing weekend and enjoyed all your meals, also that our rooms have 2 armchairs for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband booked this as a suprise for me just after my 50th birthday, and wow what a find, we has a lovely room with a fridge and ample cupboard space for hanging clothes, also you have your own garden area outside each lodge, the breakfasts were out of this world really set you up for the day, and nothing was a problem, all food was locally bought and when having breakfast the owner would say what she was cooking for evening meal and if everyone was happy, otherwise she would have done something else, evening meals were also plentyful, if you love home cooking the this is the place for you. In a great place too, so much to see and do all around. Great value for money and little gem of a place!!

Room Tip: I thought the best rooms were the ones outside of the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarnieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great hosts who make u very welcome Our accommodation was so peaceful you are going to get a great nights sleep The location is very handy for The Broads,Norwich and North Norfolk It's well worth a visit just for the laugh you have with the Gardener Kevin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherK598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryclass, Owner at School Lodge Country Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
The Banter was indeed very good and it was particularly nice to laugh and joke about ones differences.. “ Something which is all too rare these days”.
“SHORT BREAK IN NORFOLK!.. “NOT SHORT ENOUGH” HA HA !.
Joking aside they are indeed very nice people and we look forward to the possibility of seeing them again…. In the Very Distant Future. God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halvergate
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kings Head Inn Acle
3.8 mi away
The Station House
The Station House
#1 of 2 in Lingwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Lodge Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Lodge Country Guest House

Property: School Lodge Country Guest House
Address: Marsh Road | Norwich, Halvergate NR13 3QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Halvergate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Halvergate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — School Lodge Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
School Lodge Bed and Breakfast in Norfolk is a converted village School with individual, separately annexed en suite rooms with own individual styles. All ground floor. Each room has its own Private Entrance and Sit Out areas. Secure private parking within the grounds. All Rooms Offering Free Wifi, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Large Plasma/LCD TV's with FreeView, DVD Player, Stereo, Fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your School Lodge Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Lodge Country Guest House Hotel Acle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing