We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place in the middle nowhere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freeman Country Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Freeman Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Freeman B&B and Inns
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place in the middle nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and everything worked as it should. We asked to park the motorcycles under the awning to keep them out of the rain. They were fine with it.. Rooms were a little on the pricy side but thats to be expected in such a small town. Get there early as the town shuts down at 9AM..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Freeman Country Inn while in town for a funeral. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the comfortable lobby area to sit and catch up with all the other relatives in town for the funeral.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked this room because of a previous Trip Advisor review and would really like to thank tknopf for that description. It was hard to find any other information about the motel (even had difficulty finding their phone number) but on that review I decided to take a chance. My husband, small dog, and I were staying only 1 night and were very tired by the time we got there. We were checked in by a very friendly desk attendant and assigned the easy-access room I had asked for when reserving the room. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable (felt like home). Our stay was short so I have no other information but we would definitely stay there again if going through the area.

Room Tip: Room 112 was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4638Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Book my stay. We were the only people in the hotel. We were extremely disappointed with th cost of the room. We had planned to stay for 3 nights over a weekend but there was no discount. the rate of our room went up each night. It was also hard to understand how it could be so difficult for the inn keeper to select a room since we were the only visitors (we checked each night before leaving Freeman and there were no other guest at the motel.) After staying one night we found a motel much cheaper only 30 miles away.

It was strange that a hotel as large as this would charge so high for a room with very little annemities. I have traveled across the county coast to coast staying in places like San Francisco, Yellowstone and resorts in New Hampshire and not paid the amount that they were charging in Freeman, SD

Room Tip: Check at hotels close by.... it's an easy drive to Freeman
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schofield
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel with without really knowing what to expect. It was formally a Super 8 Motel and the most recent review was over a year old. It more than met my expectations. My family had 3 rooms and they were clean and very comfortable, the motel had recently added refrigerators and they had a ton of cable channels available. There was a nice, simple breakfast served in the morning and all of the staff was very friendly. I would highly recommend this motel if you need a place to stay in Freeman.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tknopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towanda, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was a great place to stay. The hotel is ran by a couple of Christian families and they do a great job on the upkeep of this hotel. It is all Non Smoking which is what I really liked about it. You can tell they take pride in keeping their Hotel well maintenanced and clean. Staff was very friendly and their is a little breakfast (danish, toast, bagels, muffins and juice or coffee). For the price, which ran around $65.00, this was a great Hotel! Papa's next door, was an awesome place to eat and was very affordable for my family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

This place used to be the Super 8. For about $65 per night, you get a clean and comfortable room. The hotel offers some free complimentary breakfast items, but for a more substantial breakfast, try Papa's next door. The hotel staff is quite elderly and doesn't always provide prompt service. And no one is on duty from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m. Wi-fi service has just been launched, and is spotty at best. Hopefully, they'll get that fixed. Despite these minor glitches, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeman
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN U-Bar Motel
BEST WESTERN U-Bar Motel
#1 of 1 in Canistota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Freeman Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freeman Country Inn

Property: Freeman Country Inn
Address: 1019 South Highway 81, Freeman, SD 57029 (Formerly "Super 8")
Location: United States > South Dakota > Freeman
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Freeman
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Freeman Country Hotel Freeman
Country Inn Freeman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing