We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CASINO IN A CORN FIELD! WHO WOULD'VE GUESSED!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal River Casino & Hotel

Royal River Casino & Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flandreau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal River Casino & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“CASINO IN A CORN FIELD! WHO WOULD'VE GUESSED!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Well...not exactly...but what a surprise and what a neat and fun casino in the middle of farm country.
The staff was friendly and we had a ball with the blackjack dealers.
Now..here is something to pay close attention to.
If you smoke...its no problem! If you don't...then dont blame the casino. They allow smoking and you know that it will affect you...so..here's what you do.
Get off I-90 at I 29 and go north towards Sioux City for a few minutes and get off at exit 77...turn right.turn left at Perkins Restaurant and book a great room at a great price at America Inn hotel.
They have pool..jacuzzi..free breakfast.
Then head back to I 29 and go north this time (you'll be passing I 90 again) for about 45 miles .
Get off at Flandeau exit and follow signs for 7 miles to this cute a bb d cozy casino.
They'll give you a member card and you can play the slots..and enjoy blackjack with some of the friendliest dealers aroundm
We won 180.00 on Blackjact and 200.00 on slots. Who needs a room if you dont smoke.
Go there and try it.You'll have a great time and the buffet is out of this world
Oh yeah...if its your birthday..they give you 20 seconds in a plastic booth to try and grab all the money you want. Its a riot.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
212 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Visited Royal River as we were staying in Pipestone, MN so it was just a short drive across the border. From the outside, the casino looks large but once you walk inside you notice it is quite small. We walked around the entire casino four times in about two minutes. However, what it lacks in size, it makes up in winnings. We visited the players club to sign up for a slot card and were given $5 in free play, and played on the winnings from that $5 for nearly two hours. Unfortunately we left with nothing but it was cheap entertainment. The drinks are fairly cheap too. The place was not super busy but because it is small trying to get on a machine may take a few walks around. Did not check out the hotel so cannot review on that; however, from the price of their rooms and the offers one can get I may go back and book one.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel was nice and easy to find. Stayed in a non smoking room - that smelt of smoke. We were visiting family, other wise we would have not stayed in Flandreau. Okay place, pool looked nice but did not take advantage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The good: relatively clean. The bad: front desk staff was rude at check-in. Recliner in room had fresh urine on it, that we didn't notice until my wife sat down in it after we were settled in. The buffet was not bad - but even the crab that just came out wasn't even warm. Slot machine that I was playing broke - it took 3 staff for one to finally show up that could re-set it. Even then, the dollar I'd bet on that spin was lost, and he said they regarded it as having been played (even though the machine had stopped, and been re-set, after 2 of the 4 wheels stopped). Drinks were okay, and fair priced. Pillows on bed were total floppy mess, no support at all. Fitted sheet absolutely would not stay on. Pool and hot tub were tiny. As reservation casinos we've visited go, this one is above average; but by regular standards, the whole experience was poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dukembe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flandreau hotels

Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Typically when traveling, we prefer large, vegas-type casinos but we took a chance on this one (advertised as 17,000 sq ft). Although it was farther from the interstate than we thought, it was well worth the trip. Lots of small denomination slots, $4.00 mixed drinks, clean spacious rooms, and a great breakfast buffet. The staff was very nice and the coffee was outstanding! We would definitely go back on our next road trip west.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NanaKelly-S177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We got stuck in a snow storm and the rate of $39.00 a night was too good to give up. The breakfast was $3.99 special. They had a nice pool and an RV park but in winter I stay inside hotels. The room was very clean the TV are outdated but that is a miner issues. The staff was helpful about road conditions etc.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are quite. You may want a middle or lower floor if it is windy or you can hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbutterflymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, MN
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

GOOD
- Food is cheap
- 2Q room had table&chairs and plenty of space
- We were VERY successful in the casino. They claim a 96% payback and we left several hundred ahead
- The superbowl party was fun. Great nacho bar and we had our own personal bartender plus we won tons of great prizes
- All the employees, except 1 were very helpful and friendly. The blackjack dealers and bartenders were really fun.
- Drinks were plenty strong
- Accommodated request for 3 rooms next to/across from each other
- High stakes slots have 1 dollar machines

BAD
- Room 132 is a long walk to the front desk and casino
- Buffet food is just ok but its cheap (bkfst = 499)
- Hairs in the sink

UGLY
- The beds and tv are old
- front desk person (evening of Feb 3rd, 2013 - she was the only person there at the time), told me that it was too much paperwork to upgrade me to a suite

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor, in the 100-110 range if you want to be closer to the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChickWithAStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flandreau
19.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brookings
20.0 mi away
Days Inn Brookings
Days Inn Brookings
#8 of 9 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Pipestone
20.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 9 in Brookings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
19.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal River Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Casino & Hotel

Property: Royal River Casino & Hotel
Address: 607 S Veterans St, Flandreau, SD 57028-1416
Location: United States > South Dakota > Flandreau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening our doors in 1990, Royal River Casino & Hotel continues to be the preferred entertainment destination for excitement seekers in southeast South Dakota, southwest Minnesota, northwest Iowa and across the upper Midwest. Located just 35 minutes north of Sioux Falls, SD, Royal River Casino & Hotel fulfills every entertainment and relaxation need with the hottest casino filled with the loosest slots, highest payouts, black jack, roulette and poker; two restaurants offering a delicious variety of menu items and full buffet; soothing hotel rooms, and the best in events and entertainment….every day! The Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe is comprised primarily of descendents of "Mdewakantonwan", a member of the Isanti division of the Great Sioux Nation, and refer to themselves as Dakota, which means friend or ally. The Flandreau Santee Sioux Indian Reservation is 5,000 acres of combined trust and fee tribal land located along and near the Big Sioux River in Moody County, South Dakota, in a region know as the Prairie Coteau, which consists primarily of undulating or gently rolling land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal River Casino Bingo Hotel Flandreau
Royal River Casino Bingo And Motel
Royal River Hotel Bingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing