We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in Deadwood”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
5,485 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,774 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay in Deadwood”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for a night and very much enjoyed staying in the period style rooms. Very comfortable bed with a couch to sit on as well. Nice size bathroom - sink was in the bedroom area but that was fine. There was free drinks (i.e. water, diet coke, etc) available throughout your stay. The scones and coffee in the morning was a very nice touch. Rooms were clean; staff was very friendly and showed you where to park (easy park on the casino lot the day I was there) and also showed you your room.

Location is perfect - heart of Deadwood - and across the street from the museum.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    25
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
101
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our stay on 6-9-2014 was awsome. The room was beautiful. The furniture was real antique & well
restored. The pillowtop king bed with ample pillows was very comfortable. It was quiet and had no problems. Breakfast at the grill found us enjoying great food & friendly c00k-watress & bussboy -all in one (somebody didn't show for work..but the cook did it all & with a smile & great attitude..it made our day to see someone FAILING to be grumpy..just took care of business & served us well!
Will stay there again .

Room Tip: Our room was on street side but did not hear travel noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent 1 night in the Sanderson room and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable and styled in an old fashioned manner with genuine period furniture and well matched decor that felt very authentic rather than contrived. The facilities are less than one finds in a modern hotel rooms but this was more than offset by a high standard of cleanliness and all fittings were in excellent working condition. All the staff were very friendly and helpful at every occasion.
The diner attached to the hotel was honest and unpretentious serving good value tasty home cooked meals.
The building is old but interesting with lots of entrances and quite eclectic with the casino and bar facilities but full of character. Situated in the centre of the town, it is well placed to walk, explore, shop and take advantage of all the local amenities.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phili898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

On a recent trip to the Black Hills area, we stayed two nights in Deadwood, SD at the Martin Mason Hotel. We had a fine room, The Sanderson Suite, located on the second floor. The room was tastefully decorated and had a very comfortable King bed. The hotel offers scones and coffee in the morning that one can enjoy from the comfort of one's room. The staff is very courteous and helpful. There are many historic hotels in Deadwood, but this is located about
a block and a half from the main street thus avoiding some of the noise and hustle of that area. I would also highly recommend the Lee Street Station Café in the hotel. The waitress is very friendly and the food is good. Outside the windows are two old Phillips 66 gas pumps from what used to be a garage years ago. As you can see from the other reviewers, this hotel gets continual good reviews and I agree!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTPMoonwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulett, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Martin Mason Hotel on March 10th for my birthday. We have stayed here before and we just love the charm of the place. It really takes you back 100 years. It makes you feel like you are in the old west, but with all the modern commodities. The lady let us peek at several of the rooms and pick which one we wanted. She was very generous and even gave us a reasonable rate. These rooms are nicely decorated with antique furniture. The bed was SUPER comfortable. Nice hot clean showers. Also nice and quiet. They offer coffee and breakfast in the morning. We weren't able to stay however, since we woke up to a blizzard. We will be back again! Again I can't emphasize enough how beautiful these rooms are. We also stayed here on our honeymoon in a different room several years ago. We have been completely satisfied with our stay each time we have went there. It's really close to all the main attractions in downtown Deadwood.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful! No matter which one you pick I am told they all have great beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice. Once for new years and another for st patricks weekend. The hotel staff are very courteous. The location is in the heart of deadwood. The old feel of the rooms is a great experience. The rooms are very clean. Free complimentary refreshments are a plus. The best thing about this hotel once again is the very friendly staff!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had our wedding and reception at this beautiful hotel. We honestly can't say enough nice things about the hotel and the staff. The staff made our event very personable. The decor and the food was amazing. We were told prior to arriving that every detail would be complete and they sure kept their word. All of our guests felt the same way.
We also loved the ladies at the Lee Street Station Cafe! The food was excellent! The best biscuits and gravy I've ever had and the most fun waitstaff too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Property: Martin Mason Hotel
Address: 33 Deadwood Street, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing