We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a Deadwood Experience”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hotel for a Deadwood Experience”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you are planning a trip to visit the historic old western town of Deadwood, this is the hotel to stay at to perfect that historic feel of your vacation. The owners did an amazing job renovating this historic building. The hotel is downtown for easy walking to casinos, shops and restaurants (vs. the need for trolleys from the larger motels). The hotel rooms were clean and cozy and very unique with its historic feel. With only 8 rooms, you feel like an honored guest. The owner even gave us a tour upon check-in. The staff were friendly and helpful as well. We will be staying here again on our next visit and will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniejholton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It was such a pleasure to meet you and have you as guests in our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us, as well. We hope to see you again here, should your travels bring you to Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    25
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
102
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Martin Mason was the most expensive hotel on our trip but not the most comfortable. It’s location is good and the people are friendly. Reception is in the casino by the casher cage and overnight parking is about a block away. When we pulled up it was unclear where we could park to check in and unload the luggage. You can park in the small casino parking lot temporarily but not knowing that we parked on the street and fed the meter. We were in the Lucy Ann (#2) room. It’s large but was missing a few amenities (luggage rack and iron/iron board) that I would expect; especially for the price of the room. There was no place to set luggage except on the bed which I do not like to do. It does have a very large shower but no place in the bathroom to set anything down. The sink is outside of the bathroom so I had to leave my glasses in the bedroom area and stumble into the shower. The door has a window above It with no coverings so the hall light shines into the room all night. I did mention the lack of a luggage rack on check out and was told they could have moved one from another room. Are they really that expensive that they can’t afford one for every room? All my complaints are relatively minor but they add up to not being completely satisfied especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windycitytraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to address some of your issues with your stay, however small they might be, as we strive continually to improve. Since our historically restored building is in the heart of the historic district of Deadwood, it is governed by all the preservation rules regarding signage in this designated National Historic Landmark town. Our address is 33 Deadwood St. and we have a parking spot directly in front of that address for loading and unloading, so I am sorry you were unable to find it. We are very proud that we have parking spaces in our lot right next to the building, steps from the door and additional parking in our lot across the street (not a block away) since many hotels do not even offer parking, except for the paid spots in the tiered city lot, truly blocks away. Many of your issues could have been addressed during your visit as we welcome making our guests as comfortable as possible while they are here. It is disheartening to me that your stay was not
apparently perfect for you. We hope you have wonderful travels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stuck in the snowstorm of the century with no power. Thank you Haverbergs for making room for us at your fantastic hotel! This is a hotel that makes you feel like family. Very clean and the customer service is fantastic! They even took other people from other hotels that were without power.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for the great review! I think we all bonded here in Deadwood after the "storm of the century". We really enjoyed being able to offer a haven for those without power and it was our pleasure to have you here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Frankly speaking I have chosen that hotel only because of the name that sounded very attractive. When we were leaving the hotel we were seriously thinking about another night in Deadwood only because of the fantastic Martin Mason. We have stayed at 21 hotel during our Big American Trip and I can't say something really negative about any of them. But Martin Mason itself and mainly the staff are really remarkable. I had booked a room with Booking.com but when we arrived they offered me an absolutely free upgrade for the room that was twice bigger and three times better. They really helped me with choosing the best restaurant in Deadwood and all my stay at MM we really felt ourselves as if we were at home. Thank you very much: I will always remember my stay with you!!!
The hotel itself is a special story but you have to see and feel it yourself. There are many historical hotels in this world but there is not a lot where you really feel the atmosphere of "those times". It is Martin Mason where you even do your best to be silent not to frighten the spirit of the past.
By the way: the historical atmosphere doesn't compromise the quality: you will find over there all you need and the breakfast is what you can't miss for any reason: as if cooked by your granny:)
Thank you very much again for that lovely day we spent with you in Deadwood!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It means so much to us to hear that we have pleased all our guests and especially those who have traveled so far. We are so glad that we could be a part of "your Big American Trip" and we hope that you will find yourselves back here sometime! It is truly our pleasure to be a part of your memories of the American West! Thanks again for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Martin & Mason Hotel is a very nice, very traditional hotel in the centre of Deadwood. The rooms are named as well as numbered (we stayed in Lucy Ann), and are traditionally decorated and furnished, with 4-post beds and dark red paintwork (in our room and wood panelling.
We didn’t have a full breakfast with our room, but the coffee and scones available in the hallway were tasty and kept us going for a while.

There are a couple of difficulties with this hotel though. Firstly, it’s pretty difficult to find as it’s above a casino and has very little signage at street level (there’s a bit sign high up on the building but if you’re not looking at the 3rd floor you won’t see it), and secondly, the entrance and reception area are in the middle of the casino. It’s a personal thing, but I’m not comfortable in casinos so I don’t like this. But I guess a lot of people visiting Deadwood are visiting to go gambling, so maybe this is a big plus point for them!

Anyway, I’d fully recommend this hotel for a stay in Deadwood.

Room Tip: Lucy Ann is very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of the Martin & Mason Hotel. We enjoy hearing from our international travelers and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We understand your concerns about walking through our Wooden Nickel casino to access the elevator to the hotel rooms. We hope that during your stay you were able to use our two private and keyed exterior entrances to the hotel, designed specifically for guests who want to avoid the casino. It was important to us that we maintain the historic feeling of our quiet small hotel and the two staircases to the second floor are designed to provide this to our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that you will return again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Martin Mason Hotel for a night after seeing a concert in Deadwood. I really enjoyed both the property and the service. Let me start by saying, yes the building and rooms are historic, as such this may come as a shock to some who are used to staying in cookie cutter hotel rooms. The tub with a hand held shower nozzle took some getting used to but it was still comfortable and fun. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was coffee and scones outside in the hall and the scones were delicious. Overall, we really had a great night there. We were able to walk to everything and Star was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angamn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Martin & Mason Hotel. We hope that when you return sometime, you might try another room for a different experience since they are all unique. The rooms with the showers are 1, 2, 5/6 and 7/8. Rooms 10 and 11 have bathtub/shower combinations! Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We where in room 7 the Mason Suite, my husband and I found the room to be well restored decorated to the period, comfortable very spacious, staff where very friendly polite willing to help, couldn't do enough for us, made our stay for two nights a delight.
Highly recommend. Close to the Main Street.
I put this hotel as top class.
Excellent

Room Tip: We where on the second floor but throughout our stay we had know trouble with any noise, it was a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linette and Joh... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. You cannot imagine how gratifying it is when travelers, such as yourselves, appreciate everything we have done to create a perfect experience for our guests. We hope to see you again sometime here at the Martin & Mason!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
703 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Property: Martin Mason Hotel
Address: 33 Deadwood Street, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing