We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's not a boutique hotel by any stretch of the imagination. We went to the room we had reserved. No seating except on the bed. For some reason the chairs were missing. The woman who took us to our room came back with a couple of straight chairs. DH not impressed. He was also taken aback that this hotel had been condemned before being rehabbed. He felt that should have been offered upfront. We were offered an upgrade which I took for another $100. DH not pleased. But, I wanted to be comfortable. We got a suite. Too bad there wasn't food service. It would have been wonderful to have tea in that room. Bed was luxurious. Towels very nice and fluffy.

There was coffee available on the floor with the rooms and a small fridge with complimentary beverages.

The normal rooms are small. However, it is an old hotel. If you want cookie cutter experience, then go somewhere else. It's not a great value for the money. But, it's well located in Deadwood. We walked to everything.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel when reserving a room. You will have a better chance of getting what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We appreciate so much your time in writing a review for our eight room boutique hotel. We actually do meet all the qualifications for a "boutique hotel" as described by wikipedia! We are also very proud of the fact that we have received so many accolades and awards for our thirteen year project to restore our building located in a national historic district. We are frequently asked to give tours of our project by the state and city historic preservation officers as an excellent example of a complete renovation. During the renovation it was necessary to create bathrooms in rooms that originally did not have them, and this in itself was a challenging project! In addition, it was our goal to use every historical item that was left in the building after many years of abuse. We couldn't be prouder of our efforts! Unfortunately, I was not present during your stay or I would have been happy to show you the building with Before and After pictures! If you were in one of the suites I am so sorry that you did not find the tea kettle provided with tea cups, tea and condiments to make your stay more comfortable.....maybe next time. I do look forward to helping your next stay meet all your needs here in Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 186 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Small room. Dirty bedspread. No food services available. Old linens. Soft, lumpy bed with equally bad pillows. Poor lighting. Non existant management skills. Dank lobby. Would never recommend this "hotel". Not at all like advertised...except that it does seem old.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

The staff at the Martin & Mason Hotel is very accommodating and helpful with all of our guests. Even though I was out of town during your stay, the staff let me know of the issues regarding the confusion with your purchase downstairs and how unhappy you were upon arrival. They actually called me in Michigan they were so concerned. Clearly, you were having a "bad day". Please let me clarify some of your comments; Our restaurant is only closed from 10pm to 7am, this time of year, so I am sorry that food service was not available to you when you needed it. I hope you had breakfast in the morning, as it is the best in Deadwood, but I am sure you were pleased with the coffee and scones outside your room in the morning! Our beds are all pillowtop with 600 count sheets. The down pillows are a selection of different thicknesses and weights, so as to accommodate everyone's needs. Nothing is dirty as we have the absolutely best housekeeper in the world who takes her job responsibilities very seriously. I would like to personally invite you back to meet her and our entire staff on better terms when you are happier. as this review was quite unrealistic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Melanie and entire staff made our two night stay a memorable experience. The personal attention to guests makes this hotel a MUST DO in Deadwood. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a stay to remember.

Room Tip: The Lucy Martin room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review! We really enjoy having such nice guests in our small hotel. It is what makes this business so rewarding and fun. The Lucy Ann is one of our favorite rooms too! We look forward to hosting you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Martin Mason hotel embodies everything that is great about Deadwood. It is authentic and atmospheric, yet has all the up-to-date necessities for these days such as a lift, air conditioning and modern bathrooms. The bed could not have been more comfortable, and the welcome and hospitality could not have been warmer. Melanie is such a charming and friendly woman, as is everyone who works at the hotel.
Breakfast at Lee Street Station attached to the hotel is cooked to order and delicious - the rye bread the best I've tasted this side of Poland.
I accidentally left a precious necklace behind, and Melanie was in touch to let me know before I had even realised I didn't have it. Incredible service.
I would say to anyone planning to visit Deadwood: stay at the Martin Mason - you won't be disappointed.
PS I just wish I wasn't already married because I'd love a wedding in the ballroom on the top floor - a magic place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thank you to Melanie (and staff) at the Martin Mason Hotel, it was a pleasure to stay at your hotel and you were more than accommodating to us. The restoration done to this hotel is absolutely beautiful and very comfortable. We will definitely recommend your hotel and friends who will be travelling to South Dakota.

Thanks again,
Rick and Dee

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We found this hotel after a bad experience in South Dakota when we didn't check TripAdvisor. We checked with TripAdvisor and found the Martin & Mason as the top rated hotel in Deadwood.

We must admit that when we first got to the hotel we were a little concerned. First, it's not that easy to find since it is inside the Wooden Nickle Casino and there is no typical entry area or "front desk". You check in at the Casino Cashier.

We tend to be particular about where we stay and we almost called it quits before checking in. But the folks were so nice that we decided to take a look at the room. As soon as we got off the elevator on the hotel floor, we began to be impressed. This old building had been lovingly restored to it's former glory. Our room, the Lucy Ann, was very nice and gave us the feeling of the past while providing everything that you need. Our guide (we hesitate to say Bellman) was Archie and he was wonderful. He offered us a tour and showed us most of the unoccupied rooms. We were especially impressed with Room 1, the Sanderson Suite, and Archie offered to work with the owner to get us a complimentary upgrade. We took Archie's recommendation for dinner at the Deadwood Social Club which by the way was excellent. When we returned to the hotel, Archie was waiting to help us move into the Suite.

In addition, Melanie, the owner, was waiting to give us much of the history of the building and by coincidence, she had relatives very close to our home in Kentucky. We had a very nice talk. The hotel provides complimentary soft drinks coffee and there were warm scones in the morning.

This is a "don't miss" if you are in the Black Hills of South Dakota.

Room Tip: Don't be discouraged by the casino, the rooms and people are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We all really enjoyed meeting you on your trip through the west. It is guests such as yourselves that make a small hotel like ours so much fun. We hope you had a great time on the rest of your journey and hope that you will return again to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in the Martin Mason Hotel between 6th and 10th June. From the start, Melanie and her staff could not have been more welcoming, approachable and helpful. The decor of the hotel, especially the bedrooms, are all based on the victorian age, in sympathy with historic Deadwood. If you want a hotel with modern, "any town", facilities then this hotel is not for you. We stayed in room 11 which was very comfortable (great comfy bed!). There are no coffee facilities in the room but Melanie kindly offered us a kettle and tea making facilities, which was very welcome after our long journey from Elk Mountain. Although the Martin Mason doesn't provide breakfast, It does provide lovely scones and fresh coffee from 6am in the morning. The scones were delicious!!! However, if you want a cooked breakfast, the adjoining Lee Str Station diner/cafe is well worth a visit. Martin Mason hotel is right in the centre of Deadwood and only minutes away from all the activities, restaurants and shops. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and we were a little sorry to leave. If we are ever back in the Black Hills, we will definitely stay in Martin Mason Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart_Anke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

It was really our pleasure having the chance to visit with you while you were at the Martin & Mason Hotel. It is so good to know that you had a pleasant time here and in the Black Hills. We sincerely thank you for such a nice review and we will certainly not forget our new Scottish friends! We hope you return to stay with us again when you come to the Great American West for your next visit.....until then "happy travels"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#17 of 25 in Deadwood
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#2 of 25 in Deadwood
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood St, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range: $109 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing