We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service with a friendly staff in a wonderfully historic hotel.”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous service with a friendly staff in a wonderfully historic hotel.”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This historic building has been carefully and thoughtfully renovated into a chic boutique hotel. It is centrally located and is walking distance to all of Deadwood 's activities. While the rooms are wonderful and tastefully decorated, the real charm is the staff. They are customer oriented, friendly and hospitable. This hotel is a joy to stay in. Ask for rooms 5-6.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jflatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    25
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
102
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is our last night at the Martin & Mason. We will be sad to leave. We travelled to Deadwood for the history and found it right here in our hotel. It has been lovingly restored to reflect the year it was built - 1893. Attention to detail is really quite amazing, with period antiques and decor. Every morning there was fresh coffee and homemade scones available just outside our door, served on fine china. We were shown to our room by the owner, Melanie, and each time that we saw her throughout our visit she remembered us by name. We found the same graciousness was provided to us throughout our stay by Luby, at the front desk. It has the distinction that it is not just another hotel, it captures the spirit of the town. If you're going to the Black Hills be sure to check for availability at this hotel first.

Room Tip: Every room is unique. Check out their web-site. There are wonderful photos of individual rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I so enjoy turn of the century hotels (no, not 2000 :-)) It is hard to find them as they are lots of work to bring back to life. Well, the Martin and Mason is alive and well. We are so pleased that we found this interesting jewel. I even used the stairs as opposed to the elevator to get more of the effect of a gold miner who had struck it rich. We spent 2 nights in the Sanderson Suite and it was so nice. The scones were served warm each morning. The coffee and tea were hot. Also complimentary soft drinks and bottle water on our floor was a nice touch. The quaintness of the Martin and Mason allowed the staff to get to know us and that was neat as well. So if you like old hotels this is the place for you. If you like big boxes with no personality, it certainly is not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in the suite and the experience was perfect. The people running the operation were incredibly accommodating. No complaints as room was clean and the bed was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffhyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Awesome accommodations - tons of ambiance, amazing decorations and delicious scones for breakfast. Friendly staff, well worth the trip and the slightly higher price tag than other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiemonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The girls were so accommodating to us! The bed was soooooooo soft and comfy and I loved the old claw foot tub in the room. Waking up to warm scones and coffee in the hall was amazing. Everything about our stay was wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. We chose it because other TAs had mentioned the quaintness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. When you are in Deadwood, you want an appropriate cowboy type hotel - and this is what we got. It was a novelty having the claw foot bath in the bedroom - the toilet was in a tiny wee cupboard but that was part of the charm.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, one lady helped us up to our room with our luggage another helped me win on a slot machine! I liked the fact that it had slots on the ground floor. We were given complimentary drinks (wine) both before we went out for dinner and when we returned. Complimentary soft drinks available at all times from a 'fridge on our floor and complimentary tea, coffee and muffins available in the morning - served on fine china.
Centrally located, free parking. I'd definitely recommend it for an unusual but charming stay. Cost $296 for the 2 nights - about £185 - good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tembo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Property: Martin Mason Hotel
Address: 33 Deadwood Street, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing