We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway in the most amazing place in Deadwood”
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway in the most amazing place in Deadwood”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My fiance and I decided at the last minute to go somewhere for the week end. We decided to go to Deadwood, SD. We went online and started shopping for some hotels. The Martin and Mason came up and I directly called the hotel to see if anything was available. The lady on the phone was so friendly and helpful. She gave us options and she even offered us a 25% discount on the room (joy of the last minute). She directed us to the website and we looked at some pictures of the hotel. Our room was the John Martin one (#4) and it was simply gorgeous with the victorian style. The room was extremely charming and super clean. The hotel offered high speed internet and there was a hair dryer and 32'TV screen. There was also a antique bath tub - a little bit too small for two tall people but so adorable!! We had a complimentary breakfast (coffee, tea, and muffins) served on a tray right front of the door in the morning :) and they also offered complimentary beverages all day long (water, sodas). The hotel is at a perfect location - tight front of teh Adams Museum and 20 seconds away from Main street, where it's louder than on Deadwood street where the hotel is. It was very quiet that niight and we slept so well. The bed was extremely comfortable!! I also need to mention that the hotel has a restaurant and a gambling area. We did not experience any of it but it looked very nice. There is also a parking for guests only which is nice since deadwood gets pretty busy and it's nice to have a place to park our car upon arrival.
I usually never write reviews because I usually never experience anything exceptional; but this time we had such a blast and the hotel was definitely one of the best part of our trips. Look no further if you are looking for a romantic getaway - The Martin and Mason Hotel is awesome!!!
Here are a coupel of things we also did while in Deadwood:
- city tour bus (located on Main street): great to know the history of Deadwood
- cemetery: Wild Bill and Calamity Jane's graves are there
- Broken Boot Gold mine: visit very interesting
- The trial of McCall: theatre and country music! Great show!!
- Kevin's Costner restaurant 'Jakes': awesome food - and very romantic place
- Costumes and Photo like in the old time - located on main street: kind of pricy $50 - but definitely worth it!
- on the way back, we went to Cheyenne Crossing restaurant located on HWY 14a and the food was great- They have the biggest pancakes I've ever seen and the breakfast are great!! Prices are extremely reasonable for the quantity they serve
- scenic byway 14a with water falls

Room Tip: Check the website to see all the different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arielhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    25
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed at the Martin & Mason Hotel for the Deadwood Marathon weekend. Could not have made a better choice. The rooms are all very distinctive with period furnishings and lovely bed linens. Had everything we could have wanted steps from Main Street and restaurants. Very quiet and comfortable. Coffee and scones in the hall each morning. Very friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Cannot say enough nice things about the incomparable Martin and Mason in Deadwood. What a gem! I was impressed by the website and it turned out to be everything we had hoped for and more. The property has been beautifully restored with amazing finesse, utilizing both the old and some made-to-order reproduction pieces. The whole places oozes Old West charm balanced with modern sophistication.

Wonderful service from Luby, who hooked us up with a great special when we called to reserve and then gave us tips for restaurants and don't miss sites in town. The owner was extremely engaging and treated us like family. She has some incredible before/after photos and is happy to show you around the hotel to see all that has been done. The availability of a nicely stocked refrigerator and afternoon cookies is a real plus, and of course the morning coffee and scones...too die for. I travel quite a bit and can say without reservation that the Martin and Mason is absolutely tops in every way. If you staying in Deadwood, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I was so excited to find the Martin & Mason website. I wanted Old West charm and modern amenities and a little bit of four-star service. Sadly, somehow the reservations site booked u in the not nice hotel next door, which apparently used to be connected to the Martin & Mason before the renovation project. We were totally bummed with our crappy room but were lucky enough to meet the owner and hotel manager who gave a tour of the Martin & Mason and we hope to come back soon. Highly, highly, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeelanjanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We found M&M via tripadvisor and were not disappointed at all!!! We were the only guest at the hotel the night we stayed (quick spring break w/ the kids) and enjoyed the great service, elegant and comfy bed, beautiful room sprung from years ago decor!! We awoke to coffee and scones (via elves per my youngest). No matter if it is high time or off peak...do enjoy this diamond when visiting Deadwood!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snaptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2011

If you enjoy taking a step back in time without losing modern amenities you will love this place.
The rooms have been refurbished to their original splendor and decorated with antiques. The beds are very comfortable and the staff friendly. WE would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karldenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, MT
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2011

What a great hotel! The rooms are beautiful, the beds are so comfortable, the service is great! Had wonderful scones every morning with coffee. We were just so impressed with this hotel and the restoration of it. Great location, just a block of the main street. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesCity_MTKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Property: Martin Mason Hotel
Address: 33 Deadwood Street, corner of Deadwood and Sherman St., Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historic district and walking distance to the best of Deadwood, the 1893 Martin & Mason Hotel stands as the premier historic renovation in Deadwood. A quiet and unique experience, offering Victorian era ambiance with all the modern amenities. Luxurious King beds in our rooms and suites and the best sleep in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. The best breakfast restaurant in Deadwood, the Lee Street Station, is located in the building and open daily. Award winning staff available 24/7. Weddings, special events and meetings are our specialty in our 1898 ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing