We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

good place to stay while in Deadwood, they provide rags to wipe down your bike, the room was very clean and comfortable, the lounge and restaurant onsite is a plus as well. the staff was very helpful providing info for people from out of town and made finding our way around easy. there is a trolly that stops right out front that takes you downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M&B_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    79
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
64
115
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

good service deadwood is a charming town .If you want proper espresso coffee there appears to be about two outlets one being the pumphouse Best western is well located a pleasant walk into the town.The staff were very helpful and showed us the the most scenic drives through the Blackhills .The wifi only worked intermittedly .Overall very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 64KelvinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about us. Everyone at the Best Western Hickok wants to make sure your time in our Beautiful Black Hills is memorable. You will be happy to hear that there is now another espresso coffee house in town. We hafve upgraded our wireless internet so we offer a stronger signal now also.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

good size room, clean, not too close to deadwood so you can easily get away or join nightlife. if you are going to Sturgis this is perfect location to hang your hat. easy to get to Sturgis, badlands, black hills, mount rushmore, and many more attractions. Only thing I didn't like was no complimentary breakfast as per other best westerns

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a late review from our US road trip last summer. We visited Deadwood in July 2012. The Hickock Inn is an old, worn out hotel. The lot is small, an each time we returned we luckily took the last tight space available. We were glad most of the occupants were bikers or there would be no place to park. The hotel, however was clean and comfortable, and the staff helpful and friendly. No buffet breakfast is offered as a restaurant is attached to the hotel, which serves breakfast at a price. Either the price should be reduced for the hotel or a buffet breakfast offered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HunkyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The Best Western Hickok House has a parking lot that can accomodate parking for one vehicle per room plus allow parking for our restaurant patrons. Our restaurant breakfast is recommended highly by the local people. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations however I hope you will stay with us again if you are in Deadwood so we can show you our true Hickok House hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two nights here on vacation to SD. The room was nice although it kind of a strange entrance. We entered through an outer door to a small hallway that had two room doors. Not sure what that was about but our room was comfy and clean. It was a quiet stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for the lower level if stairs are an issue. We are fine using stairs but these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grangemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had a good stay at the Best Western in Deadwood SD The staff was very helpful and nice. The rooms and grounds were exceptionally clean. Loved the small lounge and casino. The café was good but very limited menu. I had an issue with the air conditioner the repair man came right away. It didn't really fix the problem and I should have called again but didn't Im sure they would have fixed it. Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Best Western Hickok House good place to stay but lacks parking for guess vehicles except motor cycles and big Dodge Ram truck's. Needs to established parking guidelines for guest. One parking spot per room. No one room entitled to four parking spots unless they are in overflow area. Suggestion: paint room number (in big white numbers) on each parking space in front of guest room. Good restaurant, good food, and good staff. Will check on progess for our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.4 mi away
First Gold Hotel
First Gold Hotel
#17 of 24 in Deadwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Property: BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hickok House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing