We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Hidden Gem

The Deadwood Model Train is hidden in the basement of a gift shop on Main St in Historic Old Town... read more

Reviewed September 16, 2018
Nick_S_WI
,
Appleton, Wisconsin
Train Lover

I love trains so this was a great thing to see. Very large Model train exhibit and you can make... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2018
Colleen E
,
Louisville, Kentucky
Read all 60 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Deadwood
from $10.00
More Info
from $10.00
More Info
from $8.00
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
38
21
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trains run all ages train room train fans mineral palace main st gift shop in town basement display track downstairs scavenger hunts miniature enthusiasts fun
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 60 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2014

Very elaborate HO gauge set up, we always go see this when we are in town. No fee for admission, very neat thing to see particularly if you have children.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Kickbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

This was a very neat thing to see!!! The person doing this has alot of passion as u can tell by seeing it!!! My ten year old loved it!!! It's free will donations!!! Loved seeing it!!!

1  Thank tneemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2014

I am not into trains but this set up is very cool. It is just downstairs from one of the gift shops so a little hard to find but worth looking for. The details put into this model train are wonderful! For a quarter you can see the two trains make their way around the tracks. While watching the train you can check out the signs on the walls asking you to find certain pieces on the model such as a campfire or waterfall. The Deadwood stagecoach and many other Deadwood sites are included in the model.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank ktzgmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

My five year old liked it, if you put a couple quarters in the box the trains will run. I didn't like it since there wasn't a lot of room to maneuver around it and there were enough people there to make it feel a bit tight. So I sat upstairs and waited while my hubby and little guy checked it out. I wouldn't go there if it weren't for my little guy. If you are into model trains and such you will love this, if not you won't care.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank 2sweet4umarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

If you are a model train enthusiast, a young child or just a grown-up child you will enjoy this wonderful model railroad display. Even when none of the modelers are there you can put in some quarters and watch several HO trains traverse a very detailed model layout. So much detail is included it must have taken hundreds of hours of dedicated work to achieve. I loved it.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank RichLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews