We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Vintage, Atmosphere”
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iron Horse Inn
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint, Vintage, Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I love the historic feeling of the hallways in this building. Our room was on the small side, but was perfectly fine for our one night stay. We had a queen bed and the bathroom was a good size. It was cute with its french doors. The room was pretty dark, a maroon color, but it totally fit in with the historic vibe of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. I am delighted that our boutique hotel emitted a "historic feeling" and a "historic vibe" for you during your stay. I am here every day ,and this place often speaks to me in the same manner. I believe most of our guests see the charm that our establishment, built over a century ago, carries forward. I am glad that you found your bed to be comfortable, and room clean and tidy. I will pass along your compliments to my staff, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    48
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
25
81
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance of this historic inn. Our room was on the 3rd floor in a corner, which gave us three windows to overlook the streets below. It was huge with 20' ceilings and and lovely modern bathroom. We had an amoire and a couch also. Bed and pillows very comfortable. The casino on the main floor was fun and the Inn was off the main drag so it was very quiet. Deadwood is one of our favorite places to gamble, eat and shop.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to enjoy the views of the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Wow, than you for your praise. We are grateful for your business and glowing recommendation.

My favorite room views are also the two corner "king suites." The views from the east wall are all very nice as well.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Deadwood and our boutique hotel. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Relatively basic hotel just a short walk to the main area for bars and resturants.Clean and tidy with friendly staff. Like most hotels in Deadwood, ground floor full of gaming machines although when we visted the gamblers were conspicious by their absence!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for being our guest, and for your kind words. Your description is very fair: Our rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable (Although they vary in size due to the historic nature of our building.) We are in the center of town, an easy walk to the restaurants, bars and attractions. Our adjacent parking is free, and we are considerably less expensive than other downtown hotels. I too believe our staff to be exceptional and friendly.

I will pass along your compliments to our staff, and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We traveled to Deadwood to enjoy a weekend in the Black Hills. The room was comfortable, clean, the staff was friendly and the ice machine nearby. The hotel sits atop a casino, complete with every imaginable slot machine, bring your credit card if that's how you roll. The hotel is one block off Main Street and all of downtown Deadwood is walkable. There is a cafe downstairs serving a very fine breakfast (Lee St. Station) - highly recommended. It's a comfortable stay and I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank klong1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. Many of our guests like our location (along with the Lee Street Station Diner!) Our central location makes it is an easy walk to all of the downtown sites and attractions. We try to offer a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at Iron Horse after reading reviews about the age and rusticness of the property. It is both: old and rustic, and as long as you know that you'll be fine with this hotel. The hotel could use some sprucing up and probably a good spring cleaning, but it's comfortable and reasonably quiet for its location in the center of Deadwood. It's easy walking distance to almost everything in Deadwood and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank All5knapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for being our guest in our boutique hotel! Many of our guests enjoy staying in a historic property when visiting historic Deadwood. Because our building was constructed at the turn of the century, we are certainly not a standard franchise property: our rooms vary in size and our hallways are a little narrow. I will pass your compliments to our staff, as they work very hard to ensure the comfort of our guests. I hope that your family enjoyed the experience and will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in Room 308 for 11 days in late June/early July and had another fantastic experience. We sleep better here than anywhere else - soft bedding with a light down comforter and several fluffy pillows do the trick. We never hear any noise from outside or other rooms and feel we have total privacy here. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job, especially with the odd hours we keep when we're here. They never know if we'll be out of the room by 8 a.m. or 1 p.m. on a given day, but always manage to take care of us while we're gone.

We love the hotel's central location and are thankful to have parking right here, especially when the town is so crowded. The combination of an historic hotel with a nice bar, gaming, the Lee Street Station Cafe' downstairs, and the BEST STAFF EVER have made the Iron Horse the only place we'll stay. The people who work here wear several hats, but do a fantastic job of taking care of everyone, even when it gets really busy. They're always cheerful and friendly, no matter how many directions they may be running in, and that makes them very special as far as we're concerned.

We come to Deadwood to relax and have a great time and we've found the perfect place to do it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank #17fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for being our repeat guest. I will pass along your compliments to our staff. We do ask our staff to "wear many hats" in operating our small family owned hotel. (Often the staff includes my wife and myself!) But with just nineteen rooms it often allows all of us to get to know our guests on a more personal level. We are grateful for your business, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at the Iron Horse Inn for three nights during the Fourth of July weekend. This was my second time staying at this hotel and I can't say enough how welcoming and amazing the entire staff is! They go to great lengths to make sure you're taken care of here.
Our room and hallway were always quiet and we didn't have to hear the rumble of traffic along the busy main street. This hotel has a great location with close access to all of the downtown attractions. We love that they provide a parking lot with passes to their hotel customers since parking is hard to find in most of Deadwood.
We come to Deadwood to relax and enjoy ourselves on vacation which is why we love this place. The atmosphere is laid back and gives you a great feel for the authentic Deadwood. There's a restaurant with a patio connected to the hotel that we've had nothing but great service and food at also. I've stayed at various places in Deadwood since I was a child but the Iron Horse has been our choice since we discovered it! We will continue to stay here every time we visit and would highly recommend! This place truly lets you escape on your vacation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for being our repeat guest.

Many of our guests comment on our central location and free parking. It is convenient to the downtown shopping and action, yet it is removed enough for a quiet sleeping experience.

I will pass along your compliments to our staff. Through our customer service, we try very hard to ensure each of our guests stay is a special one. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#16 of 24 in Deadwood
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Inn

Property: Iron Horse Inn
Address: 27 Deadwood St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iron Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly restored and affordable historic rooms located in the center of downtown Deadwood South Dakota. Free on-site parking, WiFi, television, and toiletries are included in the en suite bathroom. The Iron Horse offering includes a casino, restaurant, and lounge along with outstanding personal service. Constructed in 1898, the Iron Horse Inn once housed a livestock feed store, the public library, and the US Post Office. Today the 19 room boutique hotel houses guests interested in history, along with a clean and comfortable place to rest. Nearly all of Deadwood's attractions and activities are within an easy walking distance, including the Adams Museum and historic Main Street. The sandstone horse head, sculpted in 1898, greets each visitor that enters the front door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Deadwood
Hickoks Iron Horse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing