We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normally I wouldnt Rate this Attraction BUT...”
Review of Deadwood Alive

Deadwood Alive
Ranked #2 of 13 Fun & Games in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Witness the infamous trial of the man who killed Wild Bill Hickok. Six nights a week (no shows on Sundays). The capture of Jack McCall takes place in front of the Old Style Saloon No. 10 At 7:35 PM. The Trial of Jack McCall takes place at the historic Masonic Temple next to the Silverado at 8:00 PM. Shootouts and entertaining shows with the Deadwood Alive troupe throughout the day, starting at 1:45 on Deadwood's Main Street, Memorial Day weekend - September 23, 2017.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed June 30, 2014

These guys and girl (Calamity Jane) were all really good. They roamed the streets during the day and even though I dont have any kids I always saw them interacting with the kids on the street and I was pretty impressed. The "sheriff" said hello to my girlfriend and I ever single day. To me they went above and beyond with their level of service and represented the City of Deadwood admirably. An attraction like this runs the risk of being a joke pretty quick but I think Deadwood has a good crew.

1  Thank 108Lincoln108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of Deadwood Alive and the reenactors on Deadwood Main Street. These actors really enjoy their work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jack mccall"
in 25 reviews
"great actors"
in 3 reviews
"calamity jane"
in 14 reviews
"audience members"
in 4 reviews
"masonic temple"
in 2 reviews
"wild bill"
in 21 reviews
"wild west"
in 8 reviews
"main street"
in 8 reviews
"great family fun"
in 2 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 3 reviews
"card game"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 5 reviews
"come alive"
in 2 reviews
"history lesson"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"in town"
in 3 reviews
"trial"
in 36 reviews
Filter

99 - 103 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The street shows by the gunslingers really did add to the sense of history and were entertaining. The cast made a real effort and interacted with spectators. We went to one of the street shoot outs, the assassination of wild bill hicock, the capture of jack McColl and the music session they performed in the bullock hotel. All were entertaining. Worth including in your visit and absolutely free. If you wish you can see the trial of jack McColl at night for $5 per person.

1  Thank ATraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of the Deadwood Alive shootouts and the musical entertainment. The cast enjoys interacting with the visitors, and they work hard to bring good quality shows to Historic Main Street. We are happy you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

"The Trial of Jack McCall" is the best entertainment for your money anywhere. It is billed as the longest running play in the USA. It has been around for a long time for good reason. It is very entertaining for a very low price. The audience participation is hilarious and I would have gone back for another show the next night if I would have had longer to stay in Deadwood. If you are going to South Dakota, you should go to Deadwood. It is a great place to visit. If you are in Deadwood, you must not miss this show.

2  Thank 10ecJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the Trial of Jack McCall. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The deadwood is a historically significant city, with Victorian Architecture. The city has lot of Saloons, Gambling establishments and dance halls. The whole city was destroyed by fire in 1879.
The city retains its old beauty. TAKING A WALK in the busy area is a very enjoyable experience.
The cobbled stone pathway is also redone to recreate the old style. lots of trails fun in the black hills starts at Deadwood.
We just walked into a casino and played for sometime. Had a pleasant evening walking along the beautiful woods.

Thank loki_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in historic Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is the best $5 I have ever spent! If traveling to Deadwood, The Trial of Jack McCall is a must see. The show is wildly entertaining for all ages. My only regret is that we only had time to see it once!

2  Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the Trial of Jack McCall. The Deadwood Alive troupe enjoys performing, and we are grateful it shows!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deadwood Alive also viewed

 

Been to Deadwood Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing