We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deadwood Dick's
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Deadwood
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was fun. Could only stay one night but we'll be returning. The room was vintage and very comfortable.The elevator is almosr worth the trip itself. And our hosts were outstanding. Can't imagine staying in a cookie-cutter hotel when a place like DD's is available.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review, we are so pleased when our guests enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 265 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location for historic Deadwood, you can walk to most things and there is on-site parking. As the lift was broken we were upgraded to a two bedrooms suite which was old-fashioned but light, spacious and had a good view of the town. However the antiquated heating system was so noisy during the night with creaks, groans and large bangs that I slept very poorly. I would strongly recommend this hotel in the summer but if you're coming in the winter (it was -13 C during the night) I would check first that the heating was sorted or bring ear-plugs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USfan077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

We are sorry you had a poor nights sleep at our hotel. Sometimes in the winter our boiler gets air in the system and vents through the pipes. This can cause banging. Usually it is not enough to keep you awake, so we apologize for your inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in the suite on the 3rd floor. It had a mini kitchen with a small (dorm size) fridge, microwave and coffee maker. It was also stalked with dishes and silverware. The room had a queen and a king bed, husband and I thought the king bed was very comfortable, we slept good. We also ate a few meals at the restaurant, the food and drinks were good.
I think all in all we had a great stay!! People need to remember that Deadwood is an older town, the buildings are older. That doesnt mean it isnt a nice place to stay. It was clean and was decorated with cute antiques. We will stay there again in the future, had a great time in Deadwood!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidre1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a fun time in Deadwood and liked our hotel and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had an excellent time during our stay at Deadwood Dicks, this place has unique character and feels like your traveling back in time, our suite had great beds , lots and lots of hot water , microwave, tv fridge, lots of towels, there is a great playground and community pool a. Block away, downstairs you can get great food and shop for antiques, the elevator is being fixed but there is a freight elevator that worked fine, THANKS FOR THE GREAT STAY

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank 996Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so happy when guests can appreciate the positive aspects of our business and efforts to accomodate our guests. Thank You!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in February. We were escorted to our room on the 4th floor via a rickety freight elevator, walked across a roof and into a maze of hallways. That night we were awakened by the police department pounding on our door as smoke filled the building. We were evacuated because of a possible fire in the elevator shaft. The smoke was very thick and acrid. The smoke alarms Did NOT go off ever. The owner told everyone it was fine to go back to our smoke filled rooms and took much persuasion to finally refund our money so we could go stay at a safe hotel. I am convinced if the fire had not been detected early people would have died.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVStroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are sorry you had to experience the unfortunate timing of our elevator being misused. The elevator you are speaking of is our passenger elevator and it is part of the historic building and history. The elevator has a weight limit and we tell all our guests when we check them in to please observe the maximum weight limit. The weekend of your stay was during a busy weekend; we were full and we instructed every guest of the weight limit on the elevator. Beyond our control, the elevator was overloaded to the point it seized the brake, causing a continuous flow of smoke. There was no fire. We have a sprinkler system throughout the building. The fire department was called and the building was evacuated for safety purposes. Deadwood Fire Department cleared the building of the smoke and gave their approval for return of guests to the hotel. We offered a full refund to anyone who wished to stay elsewhere. We called other hotels to find a place for the guests that did want to relocate. We did everything possible to accommodate all our guests. This is a safe and historical building and many people love staying here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had the occasion to visit Deadwood in January. We stayed at Deadwood Dicks Hotel and I must say it was like going back in time. It is not like the many faceless hotels and Motels that exist now, It has charactor and charm that seems to be a long gone trait. Altho the room had a nice large TV and a very nice comfortable bed, It also was decorated with antique pictures and pieces of period antiques. Also on the lower levels there is a Antique shop filled with about anything you can think of, and all for sale. It may not be for everyone but, If you want something a little different and unique this is for you. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your response and we are happy you enjoyed yoiur stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I would caution anyone considering this hotel to reconsider as it is unsafe and not sure how it could pass a fire marshal's inspection. The old elevator was operational but scary when we arrived but when we went back to the hotel late that night it was not working and when you opened the door to the elevator you saw the empty elevator shaft, making it possible for someone who wasn't paying attention to fall to the bottom. The beds I believe must have come from the antique store in the hotel as they were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on - we considered leaving at 2 a.m. and driving home instead of suffering an entire night on those horrible mattresses. There were outlets that were uncovered, stains on the bedding, bad smells, poor heating, and no safe escape if there was a fire. You cannot cancel the room once you book it and now we know why - not sure who would voluntarily stay after seeing the conditions of the hotel. The lobby (antique store) was closed when we left the next morning at 9 a.m. so there's no one to talk to about these issues and no way to get a receipt upon checkout. A scary place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are sorry you did not like our building and elevator. The elevator you are speaking of is our passenger elevator and it is part of the historic building and history. Someone had “pryed” the elevator door open making it non-functional. That is why it was open to the bottom. We are unsure of how they were able to do this but it is under investigation. All of our beds have double pillow-top mattresses and should have been very comfortable. The outlets are not exposed as stated and we have very good housekeeping staff. If there was a problem, we should have been notified so that we could take care of it. Since you were here for more than one day, you could have let us know. We can not fix a problem if we do not know about it. Our heating is on a boiler system and it thoroughly heats the building. We have provided fans and space heaters to accommodate the individual needs of our customers. There are fire escapes from each and every room. Our cancellation policy is one night in advance with no refund which we state up front before we take the reservation and the reason is we are not a chain hotel, if we hold the room for you and turn away other guests and then you cancel we are losing business. The normal hours of operation for the hotel check-in desk are 10am to 6pm, however we can be reached by telephone 24-7 and we tell every guest upon check in that and to please call us if they have ANY problems or need anything. We give receipts when guests check in unless you book on-line (which is the case here) and then you get your receipt from Black Hills Central Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
#11 of 26 in Deadwood
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 26 in Deadwood
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: $41 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deadwood Dick's 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing