We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire hazard”
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deadwood Dick's
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in February. We were escorted to our room on the 4th floor via a rickety freight elevator, walked across a roof and into a maze of hallways. That night we were awakened by the police department pounding on our door as smoke filled the building. We were evacuated because of a possible fire in the elevator shaft. The smoke was very thick and acrid. The smoke alarms Did NOT go off ever. The owner told everyone it was fine to go back to our smoke filled rooms and took much persuasion to finally refund our money so we could go stay at a safe hotel. I am convinced if the fire had not been detected early people would have died.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVStroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are sorry you had to experience the unfortunate timing of our elevator being misused. The elevator you are speaking of is our passenger elevator and it is part of the historic building and history. The elevator has a weight limit and we tell all our guests when we check them in to please observe the maximum weight limit. The weekend of your stay was during a busy weekend; we were full and we instructed every guest of the weight limit on the elevator. Beyond our control, the elevator was overloaded to the point it seized the brake, causing a continuous flow of smoke. There was no fire. We have a sprinkler system throughout the building. The fire department was called and the building was evacuated for safety purposes. Deadwood Fire Department cleared the building of the smoke and gave their approval for return of guests to the hotel. We offered a full refund to anyone who wished to stay elsewhere. We called other hotels to find a place for the guests that did want to relocate. We did everything possible to accommodate all our guests. This is a safe and historical building and many people love staying here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had the occasion to visit Deadwood in January. We stayed at Deadwood Dicks Hotel and I must say it was like going back in time. It is not like the many faceless hotels and Motels that exist now, It has charactor and charm that seems to be a long gone trait. Altho the room had a nice large TV and a very nice comfortable bed, It also was decorated with antique pictures and pieces of period antiques. Also on the lower levels there is a Antique shop filled with about anything you can think of, and all for sale. It may not be for everyone but, If you want something a little different and unique this is for you. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your response and we are happy you enjoyed yoiur stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I would caution anyone considering this hotel to reconsider as it is unsafe and not sure how it could pass a fire marshal's inspection. The old elevator was operational but scary when we arrived but when we went back to the hotel late that night it was not working and when you opened the door to the elevator you saw the empty elevator shaft, making it possible for someone who wasn't paying attention to fall to the bottom. The beds I believe must have come from the antique store in the hotel as they were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on - we considered leaving at 2 a.m. and driving home instead of suffering an entire night on those horrible mattresses. There were outlets that were uncovered, stains on the bedding, bad smells, poor heating, and no safe escape if there was a fire. You cannot cancel the room once you book it and now we know why - not sure who would voluntarily stay after seeing the conditions of the hotel. The lobby (antique store) was closed when we left the next morning at 9 a.m. so there's no one to talk to about these issues and no way to get a receipt upon checkout. A scary place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are sorry you did not like our building and elevator. The elevator you are speaking of is our passenger elevator and it is part of the historic building and history. Someone had “pryed” the elevator door open making it non-functional. That is why it was open to the bottom. We are unsure of how they were able to do this but it is under investigation. All of our beds have double pillow-top mattresses and should have been very comfortable. The outlets are not exposed as stated and we have very good housekeeping staff. If there was a problem, we should have been notified so that we could take care of it. Since you were here for more than one day, you could have let us know. We can not fix a problem if we do not know about it. Our heating is on a boiler system and it thoroughly heats the building. We have provided fans and space heaters to accommodate the individual needs of our customers. There are fire escapes from each and every room. Our cancellation policy is one night in advance with no refund which we state up front before we take the reservation and the reason is we are not a chain hotel, if we hold the room for you and turn away other guests and then you cancel we are losing business. The normal hours of operation for the hotel check-in desk are 10am to 6pm, however we can be reached by telephone 24-7 and we tell every guest upon check in that and to please call us if they have ANY problems or need anything. We give receipts when guests check in unless you book on-line (which is the case here) and then you get your receipt from Black Hills Central Reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Quaint place. However the broken windows, smells and lack of safety outweigh the experience. We were there late fall and I killed over 100 flies during a one night stay. They know they have a problem that fixing/caulking the old windows would fix because there was fly spray and a fly swatter in the room. We stayed on the top floor and the elevator is the only direct way from the street to the room. In an old building the only way out in case of fire is out the window and down a metal ladder fire escape. Overall I can not recommend this motel at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskermale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are sorry you did not like our hotel. It is true, in the fall the flies and wasps try to obtain warmth and do get into the building, that is why we provide spray and swatters. Our building is safe. The metal ladder you speak of is an historic fire escape (not intended for modern-day use). We have current fire escape routes from every room. There is also a sprinkler system throughout the building which is maintained and checked regularly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Deadwood was our wedding destination. Deadwood Dick's is an awesome place to stay. Shopping in the antique store, eating(and drinking) in the bar/restaurant, and feeling like you have stepped back in time in the guest rooms. We stayed in room 407, which had a great view from the side window looking out over the street and downtown area. From the Overlook at Mt. Moriah Cemetery, you can look down and see the back side of Deadwood Dick's. We are going back again in 2013, and have already booked our stay. We just might see you there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Deadwood and at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rake cold showers. Pro...it woke us right up after a night of partying. Con...who really wants a cold shower?
There is an old time elevator that is small, fun and unique, and a little scary. But if someone doesn't close the doors afed flag #1...prepayment of room required at booking (I can see why...because we would have canceled our next night if possible, but were locked in with no possibility of refund...good move on their part)
Red flag #2...Raid on counter ... Why? Flies in the bathroom. In dead of winter? Yes. I stepped on a dead fly on bathroom floor. And while using toilet, heard and saw three flies buzzing around.
Red flag #3...My husband and I both had to tter using it. Then it won't run. Unfortunately we had forgetful neighboring hotel guests, therefore got some excercise walking up the flights of stairs both nights. Not so fun after a late night and a few drinks.
Old time heater that makes banging noises all night. Small leak in bathroom. Sink slowly drained while brushing teeth.
The bed was comfy...but it is a thick memory form Matress topper on top Of older mattress.
The staff is friendly..we were escorted to our room. And we're a little late checking out which they were nice about.
The rooms were fairly clean.
It's old time atmosphere...but needs some work. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you want an interesting experience or there are no other rooms available in Deadwood.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location is one of the best in Deadwood. We stayed in the King room which was spacious and comfortable. We've stayed in historic hotels in other mountain towns and this is by far the best we have found in terms of comfort and space. The room was clean and spacious. The room is decorated with a historic feel. The parking is more convenient than other locations in Deadwood (and it's free), We did't have time to look at the antique stores in the bulding, but next time, we will make sure we're in town long enough to do some shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RangerMomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our hotel and the antique store.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#15 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: $41 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deadwood Dick's 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing