We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Value”
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deadwood Dick's
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Imperial, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Value”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location is one of the best in Deadwood. We stayed in the King room which was spacious and comfortable. We've stayed in historic hotels in other mountain towns and this is by far the best we have found in terms of comfort and space. The room was clean and spacious. The room is decorated with a historic feel. The parking is more convenient than other locations in Deadwood (and it's free), We did't have time to look at the antique stores in the bulding, but next time, we will make sure we're in town long enough to do some shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerMomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our hotel and the antique store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    74
    17
    16
    23
See reviews for
49
121
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Friendly staff and great location to Deadwood's main street. Lots of character in this hotel and clean and spacious rooms. The elevator and decor make you feel like you have stepped back in time. Free parking, pet friendly, outside eatery and if you like antiques this is the place. If you only like 5 star hotels then this isn't the place for you but if you want to experience the history of the town and have a unique experience then this is a great place to stay. Truly unique, I haven't stayed anywhere like it. Across the street is the wooden nickel and they had the best chicken fried steak breakfast of anywhere in town, its a must have once. Social club is a must for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri6813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is nice to know we are achieving our goals in serving the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is over 100 years old and has alot of character. The elevator was added in 1903 and doesn't exactly line up with the floor when entering or exiting. Rooms had a bit of a musty odour but it also exudes nostalgia. There is no air conditioning but the room had a 60 inch flatscreen complete with Direct TV.

The location is the highlight of this hotel and is centrally located to many attractions.

Room Tip: Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our elevator has a new motor, brakes and controller board. It now stops on each floor with exact precision. All of our rooms have air-conditioners. I am unsure of why you stated you did not have any. We hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
403 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you want to go with the theme of the town, we definitely recommend you stay here. The staff are funny and real. The other customers are down to earth. Their logo is hilarious. Stepping in here, you feel like you stepped into a bit of the way it used to be.

Yes, the halls had a bit of a musty spell at first, but that is due to the old building and many old objects in it. It really felt like it was a step back in time. The elevator is this old thing that has the metal gates on it and you can see each floor passing by. To us, this was part of the charm. It never broke down on us, so we must have gotten lucky with the guests remembering to close the outside door. The antique store throughout the whole building was something you could spend lots of time just exploring. It was fun to watch the kiddos have an ice cream while grandma and mom tried out the slots here. BTW: I put in $20 and left with $80 in about 1/2 hour. Grandma lost her $20.

The suite (more like a mini apartment) we had was nice. There were two separate rooms with king size beds in each and a couch in the living room. There was also a mini kitchen and bathroom. All of the suite was clean and comfy. There was only one TV in our unit, in one of the bedrooms, so that might be tough if you are having more than one couple stay here that might each want a TV.

The building is only about a block from the main street and we easily walked to the main street to watch the shows and then again once the kiddos and MIL were getting ready for bed to check out the casinos in the area.

Deadwood was a really fun town and we found plenty to do with the kiddos. Plus, we got to enjoy some time with just my hubby and me downtown after hours on a trip that had a lot of otherwise early nights and mornings. It was a nice break from the otherwise hectic cross country road trip that we were on these two weeks. Don't be afraid to come here with kids. They have a great attraction at the Broken Boot Gold Mine, where the kids can pan for gold. Also, my boys loved the show at Saloon 10 about Wild Bill. We even ended up going to the trial and each of us played a part in the show at some point, except for the MIL. Deadwood was definitely a fun time for all, and Deadwood Dick's was just one aspect of this theme.

PS: There is a community pool just down the street if you kids need to swim, but we did not have the time the one night we were here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the comments of our guests and hope everyone has a great time in Deadwood and and is completely satisfied with our hotel and its amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We checked in and were told we had a fourth floor room and THEN told the elevator was out. They would use the service elevator or we would have to walk. I couldn't manage that many stairs and to compensate they moved us to the third floor and into a larger room. We were there for two days and the elevator was out the entire time. We did call for the service elevator only a couple of times and someone did come...but it was inconvenient and we were lead through a weird storage area to get to the hall for our room. We walked down most times and up a couple. They had our phone number and I wish they would have called to advise us of this earlier or offered to help make us other arrangements. The A/C was horrible and terribly noisy. We shut it off and turned the one on in the other room, shut the doors to both bedrooms and used a box fan to pull some cool air into the king room. On the plus side the room was very spacious and clean, including the bathroom. Location was indeed perfect. A short two block walk to the main street, but far enough away to avoid any noise. Parking was free at the hotel, but difficult to find at first. Everything was marked do not park,,,and we believed the signs. When we asked we were told, "Oh we never tow ayone." We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Check to be sure elevator is working before you come and ask about the window A/Cs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gjmagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Your booking was made for a fourth floor room, we did not surprise you with a change. As you stated, we in fact upgraded you to a suite on the third floor. Again as stated, we had extra staff here for longer hours to take all our guests up on the freight elevator to avoid having them walk the stairs. We are glad you said in your review you wish we had called you in advance. It is now our policy to call any and all guests if there is a problem with the elevator. In your case that wouldn’t have been possible as the problem happened the day you checked in. We provide on-site parking for all our guests and directions and instructions are explained in the confirmation we send to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velva, ND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I really enjoyed staying in this old building. The old elevator was pretty neat, especially when other guests closed the door all the way. We had the smallest room in the building, which meant our ac worked almost too good. The owners were very nice people! They even had some live music out on the patio one evening. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad when people enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Deadwood Dick's Suite 413 after we washed all of the dishes, utensils and utensil holder, wiped down counter tops, etc. The photo of room 413 on the Deadwood Dick's website is exactly how the room appears. The location is excellent with parking and walking to everything in Deadwood. The owners and staff were all welcoming, friendly and helpful. Friends enjoyed a smaller unit sleeping good every night. The lobby of the hotel is an antique store. We were there the week before Sturgis and had a good room rate. Great place to enjoy South Dakota if you are not looking for a modern hotel, it was a GOOD ADVENTURE!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are quiet and deer are on the terrain in the morning and evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Property: Deadwood Dick's
Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#14 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deadwood Dick's 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing