We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, shaky service.”
Review of BB Cody's Steakhouse - CLOSED

BB Cody's Steakhouse
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Slow to be greeted, slow to be served, but the atmosphere and food were great. The restaurant is tehmed to be a mine and the lighting is adjustable at each booth.

Thank All5knapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, Manager at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thanks for enjoying your dining experience with us. We are sorry the service was not quite adequate. We are in the process of doing more training with our summer help. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for BB Cody's Steakhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were in Deadwood for July 4th and decided to get something to eat. We were seated right away and then we waited for 15 minutes before anyone came to take our drink orders. We were told that someone did not come into work and they were understaffed. The waitress was polite when she talked to us but she would walk by our table and not ask us if we needed anything or how we were doing. We were in our booth for 25 minutes before our food order was taken. I ordered a sirloin and I ordered it Medium Rare. To me this should be lightly cooked on the outside and uncooked in the middle. When the food arrived we had been sitting for almost an hour. My steak looked ok and I cut into it. The first bite was mostly fat and had a burnt flavor to it. I tried another piece with the same burnt flavor. I looked at the bottom of the steak and it was black. It looks like they burnt the bottom and tried to make up for it by not cooking the top. We had to refill our own waters and no one was satisfied with their food. I was very disappointed in this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, Manager at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

We are so sorry that we were understaffed and that you experienced this. On our menu's we have a graph showing how we cook our Steaks. With that being said, Medium-Rare is pink in the inside and Rare would be the one which you would have like being un-cooked inside. We do hope that you would give us a try in the future next time your in Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Where do I start...My husband asked if they could handle 14 people we were told No problem. We waited for fifteen minutes just to get water and menus. Then at least fifteen more before I went and asked if someone was going to take care of us. Finally got the order taken fifteen minutes later, our food did not come out to us for about forty more minutes. Food was cold, only two people ate there food. It was the worst dining experience I have ever had. Will never go back.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank 62notagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle J, Manager at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We are so sorry you experienced an unusual amount of time waiting for your food. There happened to be a concert in town that evening and most Restaurant's in town had a hour wait, so we tried very hard to get your group seated right away. But then you experenced the wait for your food and we do apolozie for this episode. We tried very hard to make things right with your group by comping the total amount of the bill. We did however feel you enjoyed our salad bar and most of the guests enjoyed the meal. We are sorry that by having you not pay the bill for the 14 guests did not satisfy the outcome of your dining experience. We do however, hope you would visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had the ribeye and shrimp special. The ribeye was cooked correctly and flavorful. Their house salad dressing was very good especially when topped with the chopped ham. Also the multi-bean salad has very flavorful. The mashed potatoes were on the cold side but the gravy was also very tasty. The waiter was friendly but trying to multiple duties at the same time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review BB Cody's! We are happy to hear you had a great meal! Our Chef Dale takes pride in giving the best quality food at a reasonable price and our staff is truly amazing!

Hopefully, next time you're in town, you can enjoy the full experience and stay in the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A late evening meal and the food was very good, the salad bar although not extensive was fresh quality. Price was right in line with what we thought it would be. The server "Billy" was very attentive and the service was great. Next time in there say hi to Billy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bloomington-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves at BB Cody's! And Yes-Billy is definitely a keeper! We pride ourselves on giving the best overall experience!

Thank you for review and we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BB Cody's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing