We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our most comical meal ever”
Review of BB Cody's Steakhouse - CLOSED

BB Cody's Steakhouse
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were starved and literally ate at the first place we found. The atmosphere was rustic and tables were well hidden from other guests so it felt like you were alone. It took some time for our waitress to figure out we had arrived. that was just the start of her slow service. They had a special of Prime rib but were out so we opted to go for the ribeye. We started with an app of jalapeño bottle caps. This is were it starts getting funny. We ordered a round of drinks at the same time. A short while later our bottle caps arrive which were excellent. Our drinks were still MIA. A second order of bottle caps arrive seconds before our drinks. The waitress makes some excuse about how the cooks screwed up our order and took forever with our drinks and that our bottle caps should arrive shortly...hello, they are on the table along with an empty plate from the first set. 5 mins later another! plate of bottle caps arrive immediately followed by our meal. The waitress finally arrives back with our second set of drinks and again blames the cooks and says we will not be charged for the second serving of apps, I am beginning to wonder about the third and if a 4th will be coming. The steak was average, well cooked but with zero seasoning. We get our bill and were only charged for one set of apps so we bolted before another arrived. Did I mention that all apps were served by the same person? we laughed about it well into the night. Needless to say we did not order jalapeño bottle caps the rest of our trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CanadianChick43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! It's unfortunate that we weren't able to show you the best BB Cody's has to offer. We pride ourselves on giving the best customer service and the best overall experience and we fell short of that during your visit. It has been addressed and we're confident it will be not be repeated!

Please stop by again and see us next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nothing to dislike. A party of 4 we all enjoyed our meals and the service was good and friendly. The atmosphere is fun and western. They are photo friendly and have a sense of humor.

Thank Mac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us at BB Cody's. We appreciate the review and hope you come back and see us next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We checked the reviews for this restaurant and saw they were really good so we decided to try it. I ordered the ribeye and it was really good but the salad bar was not really a salad bar but a little lettuce, and a few other things. The server was great and was really helpful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your steak and we pride ourselves and giving the best customer service! Granted the salad bar is a little limited but that leaves more room for the good stuff!

Make sure you stop back and see us next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was literally the closest restaurant to our hotel so we went in. No wait (on a Friday night) and the seating is wonderful. Intimate and private. Food was great, wait staff was wonderful, very good prices.

Thank HoffBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us at BB Cody's! We appreciate all feedback and we're very glad you enjoyed your dining experience!

Please stop in and see us again next time you're in Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great Steak, Dined with a group of six. Wait staff was very friendly and took good care of us. Our table allowed us to watch the street so we didn't miss a gunfight right in front of us.

Thank ejenkins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at BB Cody's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at BB Cody's! We pride ourselves on giving you the best value and best customer service so you thoroughly enjoy every aspect of your trip.

Thank you for your review and make sure you stop back and see us next time you come through Deadwood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BB Cody's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing