We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place to Dine in Deadwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jakes Atop The Midnight Star - CLOSED

Jakes Atop The Midnight Star
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Dine in Deadwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Bone in ribeyes were excellent. Professional waiters uncommon in resort areas but Jakes does it right.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    40
    25
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
197 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Remote quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I recently had an opportunity to be in Deadwood for dinner. I had been given Jack's as a recommendation. My concerns were unfounded. Jack's is named after Kevin Costner's character in Dances with Wolves. The movie was filmed nearby. I had Buffalo Braised Shank. I asked the waitress if the dish was accompanied with a marrow spoon. When told it was, I knew this restaurant knew what they were doing. The meal couldn't have been better. The soup come out and it was delicious. Next was a small scoop of lime sorbet. This was to cleanse the pallet prior the main course. The buffalo came out beautifully presented and elegantly served. The meat was cooked to perfection. The marrow was of course delectable. I recommend highly Jake's when visiting Deadwood.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun Memorabilia to Look at While You Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I went here alone while my husband was recouping in the room because I just needed to eat something. It was suggested by our host. It didn't not disappoint. Being by myself, I had plenty to look at with all of the Kevin Costner memorabilia. I was also impressed to be able to eat a burger WITH a bun as they had gluten-free buns (I usually just eat a burger without anything in most restaurants if I feel like having a burger).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Singingdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Be ready for a wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went here for our anniversary after reading other reviews. The tables are close together with only a few by the windows overlooking the street. Wine selection was poor. The steaks were very good & cooked perfectly. It was the smallest Caesars salad I've ever had! Maybe 2 small Romaine leaves but the dressing was tasty. Service was slow between courses but we weren't in a hurry anyway. They are only open Wednesday thru Saturday from 5:00-10:00. I might be inclined to try another place next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“sophistication in the wild west”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Jake's yearly on our annual trip. The food and service along with the atmosphere is excellent. However, DON'T be in a rush service takes sometime. The Cosner memorabela is interesting and the pricing fair. If you would like fine dining this is the place to visit in Deadwood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakes Atop The Midnight Star also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing