We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it!”

Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon
Ranked #22 of 56 Restaurants in Deadwood
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Buffalo Bar is one of the oldest establishments in Deadwood, SD. It has been located at this site since its founding in June, 1877. Come in for a bite to eat or cold beer! If you are more interested in the club scene the buffalo boasts a wild night life with a live DJ on Friday and Saturday's.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Skip it!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Maybe we walked into a wake and we didn't realize it. If so, it must have been the owner that died, because patrons and staff were both miserable. Maybe it was the chef that died, because the food was reminiscent of 3am stop offs at waffle house on the cooks first day. What a shame, this place could be so great. R. I. P Bodega Saloon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbieCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us at the Buffalo Steakhouse. We pride ourselves on giving you the best overall experience and this apparently did not happen with your visit. Your comments have been addressed with the restaurant staff and rest assured it will not be repeated.

Hopefully, you will come back for another visit so we can show you what we're truly about here!

Thank you for your review-it is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    79
    63
    23
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Porterhouse steak and song!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere was great, they had an old school country singer on the patio, as usual I had the porterhouse steak and as usual it was fantastic. The staff was great especially my waiter, I'm picky about my steak and he was very patient, and the beer was ICE cold! Lastly the price was fair, Buffalo you did it right again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It's great to hear you had a terrific experience with us at the Buffalo Steakhouse! The Porterhouse is one of our signature steaks and we're happy it was prepared to your liking!

Thanks again for your review! Stop by and see us again-soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take a fly swatter”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Four of us had lunch and hoped to stay to enjoy the music, but the food was so bad and the flies were everywhere! I had the "prime rib sandwich" which was a dried out piece of meat on top of a hot dog bun. No amount of au jus could save this sandwich. My friends had burgers and left at least half uneaten. The flies in the outdoor area (which is most of the restaurant) were swarming everything and it wasn't much better inside.
I would never go back to this restaurant or recommend it to anyone. If you want to enjoy the music, do it from the sidewalk outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Buffalo Steakhouse! It's unfortunate you had the experience you had with us. It is not indicative of our usual performance as we pride ourselves on great customer service and the best value. Your experience has been addressed and we would sincerely appreciate it if you gave us another chance so we can show you what great time you can truly have here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great music. Food just okay”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very slow service. Waited 20 minutes. Waitress said they where short-handed. She took the order of the table next to use (they were seated first), but couldn't seem to take our order at the same time. Then took another 10 minutes before she could get back to us for our order. Food was fine. The entertainer was very good and enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We here at the Buffalo Steakhouse take great pride in giving the best customer service as well as receiving the best value for your money. We fell short of these expectations during your visit and your experience has been addressed with the wait staff.

Hopefully, you'll stop by and give us another try next time your in town. We are sure to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It was fun”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

It was fun, service very nice, atmosphere was quiet when we were there. Not great, not terrible. I enjoyed the gentleman singing more than anything. I would go again

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 823Raerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with Yancy singing in the Stockade.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you come through Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Steakhouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing