We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howlin Hawg Diner - CLOSED

Howlin Hawg Diner
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Description: Mainly breakfast items with great rolls. Strange hours, Tue to Sat 6am to 1pm, Fri and Sat 11pm to 3am. Huge portions with great taste. Suggest split plate order for 2 with carmel/cinnamon roll that is larger than your 2 hands placed side by side.Tried 3 different menu items and all were fantastic. This restaurant is recommended by locals to all.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Came here from a recommendation from our hotel. All I can say is wow!! The Howler sandwich is a must have. We will definitely eat here again on our next trip through Deadwood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyldreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Home Made English Muffins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We ate breakfast at the Howlin Hawg Diner every day we were in Deadwood. The food has a wonderful home made taste to it and the English Muffins were like none I had ever had before. They were home made and were one of those "Over the Rainbow" surprises that you don't get often enough in restaurants. We are planning another trip to Deadwood in June 2013 and I can't wait to stop by the Howlin Hawg for breakfast and those tasty English Muffins!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeSt-Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good basic breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Darcy is a good cook and the service was quick and friendly. The food was good--my husband had the burrito and I made my own breakfast of pancakes eggs and bacon. Quick easy and tasty!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieinMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast Bonanza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very casual, reasonably priced, and tasty too ! You will see lots of locals here....do I have to say more ?

My personal favorite is the breakfast quesadilla. If you like biscuits & gravy you will be Howlin' Hawg Heaven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrymen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a well made inexpensive breakfast. The portions were generous and we liked it so much we came back twice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank justdesserts9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing