We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

This hotel room far exceeded our expectatations. The room was quite elegant. This is a top shelf hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravelalso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    167
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
102
373
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ingleside, il
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed in The Duke Suite. The suite was comfortable, sparkly clean. The towel warmer was a treat since it was cold when we were there. The complimentary breakfast was better than most. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We have stayed at the Celebrity several times and would again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel has a great location on Main St. The room was clean and elegant but the bathroom..... I felt like a queen! The glass shower and heated towel bars, no cowboy of the old west ever had it this good!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hideyho53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Elegant and well appointed rooms. Cannot beat the location. But even n/s room had a little aroma, and walking thru the casino to get out was ghastly. I hear smoking is being banned soon. Hears hoping.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhoundMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Celebrity Hotel in Deadwood, South Dakota August 14-16, 2009. This hotel is right on Main Street and from our 2nd floor room we could view the 4:00 PM daily gunfight. The hotel staff was very helpful and answered any questions we presented to them. Our room (a king suite) was excellent. Everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to everything in Deadwood. We would stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supreme2734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

My husband and I, and another couple recently went to Deadwood (Aug 29 - Sept 1) and stayed with Celebrity Hotel. Celebrity Hotel actually has 2 apartments it rents across the street. We stayed in Apt #301. Both apartments have a full kitchen, dining area/table, and living room. I believe both have 2 bedrooms as well. Below are pros and cons of #301.

Pros:
- Great price. With 4 adults, we paid $150 per night including taxes. Considering we had a fully furnished apt with 2 bedrooms, this price beat out any other hotels in Deadwood.
- Great location. The apts are kiddy corner across the street from the hotel - both right in the heart of Deadwood's Main Street.
- Continental breakfast. The Celebrity Hotel does offer a continental breakfast. Get there early to get the good stuff.
- Parking is free.

Cons:
- No wired or wireless internet offered in the apt. We could pick up an unsecured wireless signal from a business across the street, however the laptop had to remain by the window or the signal would be very low/lost.
- Apt #301 needs improvement. Places in the apt are a bit dingy. In talking with our neighbors in Apt #302, 302 is the better apt to stay in - is more like the rooms in the hotel. As of Sept 1, 2009, #301 does not look like the rooms in the hotel/have the same amenities (i.e. updated bathrooms, etc).
- Thin walls. You could sometimes hear people in the apt next door (the floors were creaky) but all in all is wasn't too bad or terrible where it was bothersome.

We would stay with Celebrity Hotel again, however I think next time we would opt to stay in apt #302 or in the hotel itself unless #301 is updated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egl5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
204 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

Spent one night at The Celebrity Hotel in Deadwood and had a wonderful stay. We were in room 217, which had one king bed and an unbelievably luxurious bathroom complete with glass shower, granite and heated towels! The room really felt like a fine hotel in Vegas, etc. The casino is small, but ample for slots. No table games, but they have plenty of those next door at the Mineral Palace. Also at Mineral Palace is The Gem Steakhouse, which was super! Celebrity has a nice second floor courtyard with a great view of the main street and the location is right in the middle of things. Parking in Deadwood is a bit of a trick with a large vehicle (truck, etc). The hotel lot on-site is tiny (about 10-12 small cars), but the hotel does validate for the deck across the street. Overall, a great choice and although a bit high-end price-wise ($130 Sunday night), I would recommend it for the awesome rooms and location. 217 was a premium room...I believe the victorian rooms are in the older, original portion of the building.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deskclerk102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Property: Celebrity Hotel
Address: 629 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing