We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski For Light”
Review of Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Rapid City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ski For Light”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My 30th year attending Black Hills Regional Ski for Light and My 8 or 9th year staying at the Celebrity. My stay here is always enjoyable and convenient. Pretty much the same staff over the years which says a lot. I always get the same room so it's like "coming home for a visit." Parking couldn't be any more accessible especially considering this is Deadwood. Unlike some hotels in Deadwood, there are no noise problems from people walking down the street after bar-closing banging on the windows and the like. The rooms are clean, well-kept, and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you get there early in afternoon, there is a parking lot right next to the hotel. This fills qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    177
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
113
394
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rented a room in the main hotel for the first night and it was nice and cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking for my bike and trailer was convenient. The rest of our stay we were able to stay in a condo across the street. The condo was huge and it overlook the main drag in Deadwood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a find! The MLK holiday gave us the opportunity to head to Deadwood for the weekend. We normally stay in Rapid City when we’re in the area but decided to give one of the historic hotels a try.
Making our reservation was easy enough and we able to get a room in the hotel proper.
We arrived before the check-in time of 4:00 p.m. but didn’t have to wait too long before we were able to get into our room. I felt the front desk staff was accommodating regarding getting us settled as quickly as possible.
The room was lovely. The king-sized bed and armoire (which has space for hanging clothes and then a large closet for other storage and houses the ironing board) take up most of the room but there was still enough comfortable space to sit at the small table. The bed was comfortable and I loved the pillows! The heat and AC is thermostatically controlled and a bit loud but, the room maintained a good temperature and the heat rarely came on.
On to the bathroom. It was beautiful! The vanity had plenty of room for two people to stash their toiletries. The complimentary bath products were a step above the norm and nicely displayed. The tub and shower are separate units and both were well maintained. The whole place was very clean, probably the cleanest hotel room I’ve stayed in for a very long time. There was a hint of fragrance after the housekeeping visit but it was not overpowering and it was not used to cover up any unpleasant odors.
There is a small coffee pot in the room but no refrigerator or microwave.
When we made our reservation we were told we would be in room 101. That made me a bit nervous. The hallway to the first floor rooms is separated from the casino by a door and we were the first room through the door – now I was even more concerned since I am a light sleeper and easily disturbed by noise. I was astounded! There was very little noise! I later asked how many guests had been there during our stay and was told the hotel had been full! There really wasn’t any noise from outside, and only minimal sound from the casino and adjoining rooms. The only problem I noted was from a door that seemed to be upstairs – it slammed. My guess is the return wasn’t properly adjusted and I made this known when we checked out. As we were walking away from the front desk, I heard a conversation regarding the issue being addressed with maintenance, talk about taking prompt action!
A continental breakfast is served in the morning and I won’t give it high marks but, for a hotel that doesn’t have a restaurant, it’s notable that it’s offered at all.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the room was nice in ambiance, cleanliness and comfort. There is a nice sized casino, a bar and smoking room. I’m almost reluctant to give this such a great rating because I always want to be able to get a room when I go back – lol. As long as there’s room at the Celebrity, we’ll never stay in Rapid City again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeanderingMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipestone, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Celebrity Hotel for 2 nights, Oct 17 and 18. This was the second time we stayed there. The rooms were very clean, bed was comfortable and it was a good location on the Main Street. Staff was very friendly and the check in and out process was very quick and efficient. The only issue I had was that not all the rooms have internet access. I even asked if there was an area on the lower level to plug in my laptop or to be able to check my emails for work. They didn't have anything like a business area. It was only a minor inconvenience, so I would recommend when making a reservation to make sure you have internet in your room if you need it or it could be an issue. I assumed they all did but was told only the newer section has it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tajrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Branch House, a separate building from the main hotel & casino. It is a short walk across the street. It was very quiet the first night because we were the only tenants. Outside traffic was not a problem. The second night was quiet unless someone was coming or going. Once they closed their doors, it was good. But anytime you're in a gambling (i.e. drinking) town, you'd better expect noisy, stomping buffaloes coming to their hotel rooms after midnight, with little regard that others may be asleep. Like I said, when the hotel room doors were closed, it was peaceful. Also, the room was reasonably clean, and we stayed in a suite which had plenty of room. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeBe_Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed September 27th and loved the hotel and our room. We came without a reservation so we could check things out in town fell in love with the location. Heather at the front desk gave us room 219, a king mini suite which over looked Main Street. Beautiful room. Nicely decorated. Free wine and beer while we gambled. Great bed. Need better lighting at the vanity in the bathroom. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nursusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Celebrity is absolutely a fantastic place to stay. Love the room 204 Elvis Prestley Room. We love the deck which overlooks Main Street Deadwood. The staff are fantastic. This was our 2nd time here (brought my brother and sister in law) they loved it also. We will defininately be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Property: Celebrity Hotel
Address: 629 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing