We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stay, will stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of First Gold Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Gold Hotel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
madison lake, mn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Stay, will stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

We have stayed at all the major Deadwood Hotels, and they are nice. First Gold is different. They know their visitors well. We stayed in building three. And while it is far from the main casino, they have shuttles running all the time. We walked because we need the exercise!
Their casino offers free drinks and snacks; they are always giving away TV's or cars or something.
The room was good size, the beds were comfy,and the price was good. $89 with AARP, as compared to $150 at the other name places.
Yes it was an older crowd, but everyone was pleasent, and seemed to be having a good time.
We go to Deadwood twice a year, and will now stay at First Gold.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeviewsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    57
    25
    13
See reviews for
51
116
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is without question the popular hotel with the bus tour crowd. At breakfast, i was easily (at 40) the youngest person of the 40-50 people in the room. This senior-heavy crowd can create a few problems, but at least they are quiet! I stayed in building three--these rooms are clearly new and reasonably nice (although the lack of a vent fan in the bathroom can set off your fire alarm..) The hotel is about as far from the main drag of Deadwood as you can get, but even that is only about 10-15 walk away. Overall, I think I would stay closer in to the center of the city next time, especially if you are looking for nightlife after 8 PM or so....

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank profxfiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at First Gold for a bus trip for Superbowl weekend. We stayed in the main building of the hotel. We like the convenience of the main building but the way the bathroom sink is around the corner from the rest of the bathroom is an odd design aspect. The rooms are pretty large and quite clean. Ours faced the back (so we saw a rock wall) and had 2 queen beds. I wish they had rooms with king beds available in this section of the hotel though. The bed was comfortable and clean.

We ate at the breakfast buffet each morning and it was good. There is a lot to choose from so anyone should be able to find something to eat. It was part of our package though, so I'm not sure I would have liked it as much if I had to pay for it each day.

This casino is one of the larger and nicer ones in town. They have lots of new slot machines to choose from if that is your thing. They do a lot of giveaways as well on certain days of the week, so the slot club seems worthwhile. We spent a lot of time at casinos downtown playing blackjack. Saloon No. 10 is very fun as they have bands on the weekend and great blackjack dealers.

I am not crazy about the location of the complex. It is one of the first hotels you come to in Deadwood so it is quite a walk to downtown. The trolley does not stop here anymore either. You have to walk down to the next hotel Cadillac Jack's to get on the trolley. (The trolley used to stop here on our last visit, 2 years ago, so I don't see why it changed.) And they drop you off across the street. They really need a stop since it is so far from downtown. If I went to Deadwood on my own and not as a tour, I'd choose a hotel downtown. It would save on trolley rides and walking. Overall, we had a fun trip to Deadwood and can’t wait to go back!

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — lack of a trolley stop
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNpalmtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at this hotel as part of a bus tour. The hotel is located at one end of downtown Deadwood. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to downtown, where the restaurants, bars, shops, and casinos are. The hotel is built off of a hill, so views from the hotel windows can vary. There are also multiple buildings associated with the hotel. We were in Building 3 and our room faced the garage parking lot. The room was standard size, bathroom was clean, but there is no tub. Be prepared for wet floors. We ate dinner at the restaurant associated with the hotel. It was buffet-style, and it was standard fare. Nothing stood out. Breakfast was also included and this was more substantial than you would find at other places. There were lots of choices for cereal and breads. Instant oatmeal was even an option. If you don't mind walking to downtown Deadwood, this hotel would be good.

  • Liked — Location, I didn't mind walking
  • Disliked — Food, no tub in bathroom, so bathroom floor got wet easily
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sightseeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

This ersatz addition to Deadwood lodging has pros and cons. On the bright side, there is great lighting over the bed, free wifi and cute touches of decor like the vintage western movie poster and tiffany style table lamp. The bed was good and all the bathroom fixtures worked well --since the place is new there are no surprises there. The little packets of toiletries seemed to be pleasantly unscented.

On the other hand, the towels are thin and they've put those plastic covers on the mattresses --the ones that make the sheets clammy. The walls are thin too and the construction feels cheap. I poked my heel on a piece of protruding tack strip next to the bathroom door. The hotel is situated in a man made cut in the side of a big hill, so the view and the light in the room resemble that of an airshaft, albeit one made of rock and mud. For the money (about $100/night) I'd look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank merilyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

Longmont, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

Very dirty rooms. Unfriendly staff. Out of the way.

I recommend a stay closer to the "strip".

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

First Gold Hotel and Casino consists of at least 3 buildings. Between 2 of them is the parking lot with wild western houses (fake) in the back. In the main hotel is the casino. House 2 faces the street and the main hotel as well as the parking lot. Even in this building you will find slot machines on first floor, but no nice lobby. In the back a bit up the hill is covered parking, and in there you will find the entrance of building 3. We got a room in building 3, if possible avoid this building. Windows on the one side of the building directly face the parking cars under the covered parking (so you won’t see sun or the heaven), and rooms on the back are facing directly the steep slope of a hill (it’s just a few steps away – brown earth and stones). So you won’t get any chance of any view... What was worse that directly outside our room was the main airconditioning equipment of the whole house and it noisely worked all time. We had booked this room through priceline and got a good price, perhaps that’s the reason for the not very nice or inviting room.
After all the room looks a bit basic and has no atmosphere. There is a small table with wooden chairs, we got a kingsized bed with no covering sheets on the lower matrasses (I hate that, you always see how stained they are). And there is a chest of drawers with a flat TV on it. Yes, they have 80 channels and wi-fi internet access, I hardly could believe. We even got ironing equipment and a hair dryer in our room. It is really clean, but dark because of no view... Bathroom is a bit small with a spacious shower, no tub! Looks clean and new. Some toiletries in there and fluffy towels. No fridge/microwave in room!
Try to get in room in building 2- facing street and you will have a sunny room in the afternoon with certainly more nice atmosphere.
There is an elevator to reach the floors. They even serve complimentary breakfast in the morning which I did not expect. If it was not for the price I would have rather stayed elsewhere (but all other hotels were very expensive).
The hotel is situated on the one end of Deadwood. It’s a bit far to walk to Main Street (10 min). On the other hand it’s not easy to park in Deadwood, you will have to pay for parking. Better to leave the car and walk to the next shuttle stop (1.- per ride). Main street is nice with old brick buildings. They have shoot-outs twice a day in mainstreet (4 and 6 pm). Their performance was a bit weak. On the other end of Deadwood (driving) you will find a supermarket.

  • Liked — cleanliness, paraking garage
  • Disliked — no cover on lower mattrasses, no view, no sunlight, noisy aircond. outside window
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Gold Hotel

Property: First Gold Hotel
Address: 270 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First Gold Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Gold Hotel & Gaming- "It's Where Deadwood Begins". Largest hotel property in Deadwood with 195 deluxe hotel rooms and 5 luxurious suites. We serve 3 Buffets everyday, featuring made to order omelets for breakfast, daily lunch specials and USDA Choice Prime Rib nightly. 11 Casino's filled with all your favorite slot machines and live blackjack table games. Free on-site parking including a covered parking garage, Free beer, wine and cocktails to players, Free Wi-Fi internet and Free Gold Club Players Card make First Gold Hotel your First Stop In Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Gold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Gold Hotel
First Gold Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing