We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Reviewed July 15, 2006

About three months prior to my visit I had reserved two rooms for two nights on the South Dakota travel website, confirmation numbers and everything, that I printed out and took with me to Deadwood. When I made my reservation, I even called the hotel directly to make sure that I had booked correctly the specific types of rooms and arrangements that I required (I needed a smoking room with two beds and a non-smoking room with only one bed). Imagine my surprise, then, when I discovered upon arrival that they had correctly booked the single room for the night of my arrival, BUT had the double room booked to arrive THE FOLLOWING NIGHT (no matter what was printed on the website reservation print-out).

Sensing some tension from me ("What do you MEAN you only have one of the rooms?!?!?"), the desk person immediately deferred to an Assistant Manager ("We've been having some difficulty with the transfer of the website information to our reservation office.") who arranged for a double room in the "annex" across the street at no charge, from which we could move to a suite in the main building the following night for the regular room rate. Howevr, we'd have to check-out of the "annex" room and into the new "suite" room sometime after 11:00 a.m. the following day. Despite choosing the Franklin specifically for the purpose of experiencing the "historic" ambience, and despite having planned to spend the next day (July 4th) away from the hotel with relatives who live in the Black Hills, this solution seemed to be the only choice available to us.

The across- the-street "annex" is a pale shadow of a strip motel. Our 1960s-moderne room was right next to the laundry room, in which sheets and towels were loudly washed throughout the night. And the room had only a backlit fluorescent strip above each bed for overall lighting. However, the rooms in the actual historic hotel were only marginally better. Though functionally adequate in terms of plumbing, lighting and air handling, they appeared to have undergone little renovation since, when? 1920, 1930, 1950. Even the "suite" (which had a full kitchen, dining room, living room with bar, and two full sized bedrooms) seemed forlorn and cavernous in its general decoration.

The whole episode was capped off at check-out, when the front desk appeared to have no knowledge of the "solution" arrangements made two days earlier by the Assistant Manager, and presented me with a bill on which my credit card had been charged for two "historic" rooms for two nights each. Upon protesting that that "wasn't at all correct," I was quickly surrounded by hotel security guards who were ready to treat me as if I were a troublemaker. I calmy reiterated the entire story to a phalanx of desk clerks who'd gathered, one of whom dug into the computer and discovered that..ah, yes, there had apparently been a special arrangement.

And did I mention parking? When I arrived (only to find out that our reservations weren't correct), I was told that parking was across the street in front of the "annex," or behind the main hotel in the school (!) parking lot, or in the bank parking lot a block away, space in which was leased by the hotel when the bank wasn't open. Since the annex lot was full, I tried the school lot, only to find it LOCKED with a chain-link fence. I left my car at an on-street parking space and lugged my luggage back to the lobby, at which point one of the hotel employees told me that...well, they have a key to the school lot at the desk. He also recommended parking in the municipal parking garage two blocks down Main Street, and the hotel would reimburse the cost. But since the next day was July 4th I chose to move my car into the bank lot, taking advantage of the fact that the bank would be closed. When I came to retrieve my car the next morning, however, a previously invisible parking attendant appeared, admonishing me for not having gotten a "red tag" for my car from the front desk. Who knew!?

The Franklin's location is top-notch. Its pedigree is such that it could be a real gem as a fully renovated historic hotel. But, for the moment, it's a freaky disappointment with a staff that only partially gets that customer service is what it's all about. At the very least, guests shouldn't have to guess how properly to deal with their cars. When we finally drove on, to continue our vacation, it felt like we'd extracted ourselves from some bizarre "Hotel California" limboland.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 259 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2006

We just came from Deadwood this week. We had booked our room at the Comfort Inn but decided we would like to stay on Main Street, first stop, Franklin. I had visited their website before we left and could have sworn it said something about renovations being completed. We checked in.
Our room was just old and worn out, the only charming thing about it was the claw foot tub, even that was worn and needed help. The room was dark and of course the air conditioner in the window, it did work. I will have to say the room was clean but it was depressing. We had a noisy party next to us, lost sleep, so we changed rooms. This room was the same but it had a newer bathtub but the shower head was not working right.
We had visited years ago and stayed here but I can't remember much, I think the rooms were worse then but I do remember liking the lobby. I remember the old elevator that had to be run by someone. Of course it is gone with the renovation of the lobby. The main floor is big and uninviting.
We were told they are going to start renovating the rooms. I just hope they keep in mind that this is a historic old hotel and try to bring back some charm to the rooms.

Our first night we decided to eat the buffet across the street at the Siverado, we wanted to use the coupons the hotel had given us. The buffet was terrible. Mounds of cracked blacked pepper in several dishes. I thought I would be saved by dessert, flies sitting and flying about the desserts sitting out uncovered.
We went back for their two coiner breakfast and it was ok for the price, eggs, potatoes and toast.
Overall I was very disappointed in our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CNW901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mobile, Alabama
322
Reviewed July 12, 2006

This Hotel was the most horrible place I have ever been. When we looked online, we read that the hotel was going through remodeling. They are not, as we found, remodeling the guest rooms. They were remodeling the casino/saloon. Our room was called the Kennedy room. He could have actually slept on the bed or sat on the furniture. Everything was so old and old smelling. The light switches were so old, I have never even seen this type of button switch. The floor was creaky and loud. My husband and I left after being in the room only about an hour. Do not stay here. They call it the "Historic" Franklin Hotel for a reason.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilveradoFranklin, Director of Sales at Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Hi-
We appreciate you writing a review about our property. We always hope that everyone has a pleasant experience when staying with us. Please contact me at 605-578-3670 x:632 and we will see what we can do to make this a more pleasant experience for you.
Thanks,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

We booked this hotel at the end of a long road trip mainly because of its history. I was concerned because the hotel was supposed to be completing their renovation earlier the same week, but was guaranteed by the staff that everything would be done before we got there. Obviously they were incorrect. The sad thing was that I called the day before (to see if I needed to cancel because of the construction) and was told everything was ready to go.

Everything wasn't ready to go. We arrived and noticed that the lobby was ripped apart and had we realized what was coming, we should have just left then. The staff guaranteed us that there was no construction near any of the rooms and gave us our key. The room was fine (definitely not updated at all - everything looked like it was 30 years old) but the toilet barely functioned and the water pressure and temp was very inconsistent. Since we've been to many historic hotels, I wasn't expecting everything to be perfect and shrugged off those minor concerns.

Until 7 AM that is. At 7AM a lovely jackhammer sound woke our entire group up. I looked out the window and they were doing construction with a jackhammer not more than 10 feet from my bed. We didn't go to bed until about 3 AM, and had no idea to expect such a horrible wake up call. After several calls to the front desk to get them to stop, I decided it was a waste of time because they weren't going to stop their construction no matter what I did.

I'm sure this hotel will be great again sometime, but I would never recommend it until the remodel is finished. And even after that, they really need to hire staff that doesn't lie to you when you ask questions to make sure the hotel will be a good fit.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank massilem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilveradoFranklin, Director of Sales at Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Hi-
We appreciate you writing a review about our property. We always hope that everyone has a pleasant experience when staying with us. Please contact me at 605-578-3670 x:632 and we will see what we can do to make this a more pleasant experience for you.
Thanks,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2006

My problems with this hotel/motel started right from the start. I was given a key with a 100 number on it but the elevator had just 2nd and 3rd so I asked the desk clerk and he told us that there were no rooms on the first floor of the hotel and that our rooms must be on the 2nd floor.

We discovered that our rooms were across the road in the motel. We needed to carry our luggage up rickety old stairs and the room was old and musky smelling. The air conditioner was placed on a back wall and the room configuration didn't allow for good circulation. The bathroom was filthy and run down. The bed was uncomfortable.

If you want to sleep while in Deadwood, go elsewhere as the room is not soundproof and is noisy with people on the street all night. Then truck deliveries start at 4am. You will hear it all.

The hotel/motel is old, not historic. The lobby is being renovated for 7 million but the rooms are not being renovated.

There is absolutely no water pressure in the shower, I needed to rinse the shampoo out of my hair in the sink.

There is a Hampton Inn down the street that is newly opened, provides free entertainment at night, and restaurants. Next time in Deadwood, I will be staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NCTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilveradoFranklin, Director of Sales at Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Hi-
We appreciate you writing a review about our property. We always hope that everyone has a pleasant experience when staying with us. Please contact me at 605-578-3670 x:632 and we will see what we can do to make this a more pleasant experience for you.
Thanks,
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulysse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eniger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Dick's
Deadwood Dick's
#17 of 25 in Deadwood
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hickok House
Best Western Hickok House
#19 of 25 in Deadwood
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 25 in Deadwood
557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

Address: 709 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: $23 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel and Gaming Complex is located at the Top of Main in the Historic town of Deadwood, SD. The Silverado & Franklin feature over 375 state of the art slot machines, 22-blackjack tables and 5 live poker tables in one of Deadwood's most elegant poker rooms. Callahan's Irish Pub and the Veranda (seasonal) serve all of your favorite spirits as does the lounge at the Silverado. All you can eat Crab and Prime Rib Buffet every Friday and Saturday. Deadwood's Premier Steakhouse - Legends Steakhouse serves breakfast and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel And Gaming Complex
Silverado Franklin Historic Deadwood
Historic Franklin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing