We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here overnight as part of a 5 day tour and it's very charming! Our room was cozy, recently updated and very quiet. Smoking is allowed in the Casino so we stayed clear of it but really enjoyed the location, friendly staff and the variety of food for breakfast.

Room Tip: 2nd room floors were cozy, udpated and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinotchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    66
    42
    35
    60
See reviews for
51
118
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Old hotel that provided the basics but not much more
We questioned our choice when we saw the price 89.00
per night. Old bathrooms-small. A/C in windows only. Halls were warm.
No coffee in room. Small TV-21 inch. The common areas were bright
clean and inviting. Casino area was spacious and the machines were spaced
in such a way to leave you alone!!! The one thing we missed the most was internet in our room!!! They provided basic room. We got what we paid for
If we get back there we will look at it again, but will probably stey elsewhere

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brownlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Franklin is historic which is another word for run down.
We had very little hot water in the morning for a shower and the room smelled of urine.
My wife and I just went down to play some blackjack and have some drinks to get our minds off the room but that was just as bad. The pitboss ignored us to get our players card in and the dealers acted like we were a bother. We went down the street to another casino and had a great time. I will never go to the Silverado/Franklin again. You should avoid this place as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geocash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deadwood hotels

Frazee, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stayed Memorial weekend for two nights. If we could have gotten out of the second night without paying we would have left. The place smells the minute you walk in the door like mold or something, I would think that they could invest in some sprays to get rid of that odor. The women that checked us in was more interested in reading her book and acted like we were a problem for her to check us in. She was very rude. The halls were dark and that was good because you then could not see how dirty the place was. The room was awful, very dirty and also smelled. I hung my clothes in closet and will not be able to wear my blazer until it is dry cleaned and I hope that takes out odor. In the morning I could see the room cause it was daylight and opened the curtains, and the walls had cobwebs that would make a Halloween display. They said their buffet would be done by Memorial weekend even in their ads and it was not done. We were really disapointed

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countrygirl5703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The picture on the web site shows beautiful antique furniture and a flat screen TV. Our room was beat up, mismatched 1950s furniture, an old tube TV with a fuzzy picture, and a bed that needed a new mattress. The paint was cracked and peeling, and the room smelled.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My sisters & I stayed at the Franklin Historic Hotel a few weekends ago. We went to celebrate my birthday, to play slots & do a little shopping in the shops around town. We stayed in room 314 which was a suite. The radiator leaked & the floor under the carpet was soft & mushy. The room was hot & we had to prop the windows open with boards that we found in the closets so that we could get fresh air. There was a ring of urine around the toilet & the ceiling above the tub looked moldy. The casino is supposed to give complimentary beverages for gamblers but the waiter ignored us for 45 minutes. Finally a very nice young woman had a shift change with him & after that we received good service. The free continental breakfast was all right but nothing to write home about. The room was $115 a night which was way over priced. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lkaypalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Of all the hotels in Deadwood, we chose this one for our honeymoon. We were told the room had a "4 person jacuzzi"..It was a plain old dirty jacuzzi tub. The whole place smelled bad. The room was hot and there was no heat control. It was loud and the bed lumpy and uncomfortable. With the beautiful lobby and casino, who would ever guess how HORRIBLE the rooms in this place are. I feel like an idiot for not reading all of the reviews before staying, because it is obvious, we are not alone in the way we feel about this hotel. We paid over 170,00 for a room that we shouldn't have got charged for at all!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mizztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilveradoFranklin, Director of Sales at Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Hi-
I appologize that your stay at the Franklin was not what you expected. We hope that everyone who visits the Silverado Franklin has a good experience. Please feel free to contact me at 605-578-3670 x:632 and we will see what we can do to fix this for you.
Thanks,
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#15 of 24 in Deadwood
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Dick's
Deadwood Dick's
#20 of 24 in Deadwood
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

Property: Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Address: 709 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1011
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel and Gaming Complex is located at the Top of Main in the Historic town of Deadwood, SD. The Silverado & Franklin feature over 375 state of the art slot machines, 22-blackjack tables and 5 live poker tables in one of Deadwood's most elegant poker rooms. Callahan's Irish Pub and the Veranda (seasonal) serve all of your favorite spirits as does the lounge at the Silverado. All you can eat Crab and Prime Rib Buffet every Friday and Saturday. Deadwood's Premier Steakhouse - Legends Steakhouse serves breakfast and dinner daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel And Gaming Complex
Silverado Franklin Historic Deadwood
Historic Franklin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing