We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bullock Hotel's huge rooms”
Review of Bullock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bullock Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bullock Hotel's huge rooms”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our second stop on our South Dakota trip was for the Bullock Hotel the last 2 nights of August. Again, a period hotel, with lots of character. The room itself was huge, although the carpet definitely needed updating. I liked that the sink was big enough to have a vanity area if you pulled over the chair, and was outside of the bathroom itself. That is always helpful when you have 2 people getting ready in the morning. The staff was wonderful and very helpful with all our questions, and we enjoyed our Ghost tour with Miss Molly....thanks for deciding to go ahead and do the tour that weekend! Parking is not onsite, but is behind the building, across the road. This is actually rather handy, as you can then pull your car up to the little protected area by the back door for loading and unloading, rather than doing it on the busy street. Bully's Cafe had a very reasonable (and good) breakfast available, and the staff here was lots of fun. Bullock's is toward the end of the old town main strip, which keeps it quieter than further towards the middle, where you had a lot of foot traffic as the weekend approached. I think the only thing I could see being changed to make this a 5 dot rating would be cleaner/newer carpet in the room itself, and a smaller toilet. Our bathroom had the long oval toilet, and the door just missed it as it opened and closed. A small round toilet would fit better. But all in all I really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahsati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    111
    35
    18
    14
See reviews for
67
195
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamler, Oh
Level Contributor
302 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is such a gorgeous old hotel. Our room was at the end of the hall and was quite large. Most in our party were not that lucky. SO, be sure to ask for a large room when you call.

The restaurant has a wonderful breakfast ( not included) and the entire staff EVERYWHERE was so so nice.

The internet service is not good on the second floor - I did not ask the third floor guests but I presume theirs was no faster than ours.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger ones as there are only 25 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our historic hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came to Deadwood for two nights for a getaway with friends. The Bullock was a great compromise between history and modern convenience. Our room had comfortable beds, a nice view of the hills and two sets of sinks. We stayed in the room where "SETH" was written on the wall, but only in certain light - probably a ghost wrote it, or someone trying to scare the guests? You decide!

For a gambling town, I expected noise from the streets, but our room was quiet and a nice little sanctuary. The food in the restaurant was nice too. The staff was very friendly and gave loads of extra information - a sign they love their job, and their town!

The location of the hotel and the city itself can't be beat. You can literally walk to everything. We had a mix of gamblers and no gamblers and there was enough to do for everyone. We went off-season so we didn't see the reinactments, but I heard they're worth coming back for the in the summer.

The ghost tour was fun whether you believe in the supernatural or not. We were lucky enough to see some of the suites where all the "paranormal action" is. "Calamity Jane" worked hard to put on a good show and once the tour was over, we found she was quite knowedgeable about the history of not only the Bullock, but of many areas in the town as well.

Once we heard about the history, we also visited the cemetery and the history house museum. All very much worth your time if you like Western history. Take the Bullock tour if you like history, crazy ghost stories and want to know about the pictures on the walls, but avoid the house museums with young kids, there's too many things to bump into that are irreplaceable.

Room Tip: Take the tour if you like history! Ask if you can see one of the "ghost rooms", you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbrowndoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are glad your overall expereince here in Deadwood was great. We look forward to serving you again in the future, thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We are trying to keep the Bullock Hotel as our special getaway for our anniversary. We stayed there last year and had a wonderful time. This year we stayed in the same room, the Bullock Suite. I had booked the room a year in advance, but asked for a few special items. Although we loved bathing in the jacuzzi tub last year, the jets were dirty. I had a special request of ensuring the jets be cleaned before our arrival, and I also explained to them how it was our anniversary and that I would like to have 2 champagne flutes in the room for us. Upon our arrival and check-in, the staff welcomed us and wished us a happy anniversary. I found that to be very pleasant. We then entered our room, and not only were there 2 champagne flutes for us, but even a bottle of champagne on ice! I was pleasantly surprised! I'm happy that they went the extra mile for us. We love spending time in the Bullock. The staff is friendly and we love being in the rooms with the old fashioned furniture. It just gives it the extra touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dschofie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Well first of all Happy Anniversary! I could not think of a more romantic hotel to stay in for an anniversary and I'm glad we were able to meet all your needs We hope you make the Bullock the hotel of choice for all your future anniversaries! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

When we arrived, we were very tired. The front desk personnel made us feel right at home, and started our stay off by offering us the Fall rate even though it was still Summer time. We wanted to investigate paranormal activities and the the hotel was completely supportive of it. George (Bullock employee and Raiders fan-sadly) made sure we felt comfortable and offered my family access to various areas of the hotel for investigation. It's not very often we encounter such excellent customer service. Our breakfast was excellent homemade food for a very reasonable price. The shower had plenty of punch and the ghosts we encountered were playful. We can't wait to stay here again. Thanks Bullock!

Room Tip: Look for room 213. Lots of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I"m glad you were able to experience our great customer service first hand. We are a hometown htoel and we want all of guests to feel at home. Our ghosts make our historic hotel that much better and we hope you come to visit them again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were in Deadwood for one night and put up at the Bullock. Front desk service was courteous and competent, room was clean, no complaints. An historic old hotel - but updated for the 21st century. Right in the middle of the town - walkable to everything. Not much into the gambling, but it's in the house for those who want it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug_humes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Deadwood! We hope you come to visit us at the Bullock very soon! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were in Deadwood in late July 2012 and stayed at the Bullock Hotel for three nights. We absolutely loved the place. The staff is very friendly and helpful about any questions or concerns you might have about the hotel or things to do in Deadwood in general. They've done a nice job with the hotel to help keep that old west style and feel to it. If you're looking for a nice historic hotel this is definitely the one. Our room was farily spacious and had two queen beds and ran around $159 a night. The restaurant downstairs is nice and very friendly as well. The hotel gave us coupons to use when we checked in which you could use in their restaurant, bar, casino, or gift shop, so that was nice. They also do a $5 ghost tour Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights in the basement which we really enjoyed. They do this because of all of the history with the hotel and the fact that it is supposedly haunted. The staff and other guests told us they have had many things happen to them, although we didn't experience anything supernatural. But if you are a person wanting to experience something supernatural, this would probably be the place to try. Overall, we were very happy with our three night stay at this hotel and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedorightman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadie S, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for commenting on the Historic Bullock Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed staying with us and experiencing what Deadwood is all about. We hope you let us cater to you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#12 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#17 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bullock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullock Hotel

Property: Bullock Hotel
Address: 633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1123
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bullock Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bullock Hotel is a Deadwood Treasure. Experience the history and elegance of Deadwood's first hotel located right on Main Street. All are unique and have been painstakingly restored to the original details that Seth Bullock first envisioned. We have the perfect accommodations for leisure guests or family weekend getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Bullock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bullock Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing