We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay, for a quick road trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Ponca City, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overnight stay, for a quick road trip!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My best friend and I spent the night at the beautiful Deadwood Mountain grand over presidents day weekend. The hotel is beautiful. It was still snowy in the area and cold but we knew that coming in. It's literally at the top of the street of the main walking area for the town. We just stepped outside walk down a few feet and there was the first casino. The lobby of the hotel feels a little Vegas like as you have to walk through casino to even get to the lobby but that is the vibe of the entire town. The rooms were beautiful, beds were comfy. Very clean and it was perfect for our one night stay. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace-NotsoGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent visit and for taking the time to share your words of appreciation. We are humbled to have received such thoughtful comments, for there really is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. We hope you will consider us home again on a future " road trip" to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    132
    36
    16
    15
See reviews for
128
221
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yelm, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Better late than never, this review was for a stay the weekend of april 6, 2013. My husband and I went for our anniversary. Every single part of our stay was fantastic. When I mentioned it was our anniversary during booking the hotel, I certainly didn't expect the upgraded room and was especially surprised by the nice card and bottle of champagne that was hand-delivered (with a smile) after our arrival. The room was wonderful, all of the staff were very kind, and the FOOD.....AMAZING! As I'm currently in Washington state (online, looking for another excursion for this years anniversary), I'm so depressed that we won't be at the deadwood mountain grand again. I would love to go every year, for our anniversary and any other celebratory occasion. I had to stop by and tell the world how impressed I was, this coming from someone who has NEVER written an online review. Again, thank you so much!

Room Tip: We had a gunslinger suite that was perfectly cozy and posh with a pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
What a joy to read such a glowing review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations! It is such a pleasure knowing that you will consider us as your host during your future visits to Historic Deadwood! Again, thank you for choosing the Grand and happy anniversary from your friends at Deadwood Mountain Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a very cold Deadwood trip for the mardi gras celebration. This was our tour company's first opportunity to take a group to the Mountain Grand. Everyone from the greeter to the bellhop and waitstaff did an excellent job in welcoming our group. We always appreciate when a property makes us look good in the eyes of our customers. The facility is first class all around.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AmeriStarTransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand as host for your group. We are so pleased your group enjoyed their stay with us and we appreciate your kind review. It is our goal that each and every guest leaves with an exceptional experience, and we're glad that you were able to do just that. Again, thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to your next visit with us, and we hope the weather will be warner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

First impression: AMAZING! Never in SD have I had a bellman take us up to our room and unload the bags! Every bit of the staff treated us like we were family! I've never seen so many people that genuinely enjoy their jobs. The dealers were fantastic. The fun tournaments they offer throughout the casino, blackjack, slot tourney, etc. I have never stayed there and I would do it again and again. You knew who the regulars by the way the staff interacted with them, and I didn't feel I was treated any different, it was spectacular and I will be talking about this place for years to come. I will recommend it to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
What a pleasure it was to have you as our guest! Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand and for allowing us the opportunity to provide you with an experience that was truly memorable. We are excited to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorcroft, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I took my husband for a birthday weekend. We had the BEST time, From Jerry the "bellman" thru Travis the manager (hotel check-in, sales store, casino, restaurant & bar(Slime,table +concert) personnel,+ parking) we were "treated like royalty"! My husband is not hard to please yet he has very high standards when it comes to service. The sharing of history & knowledge was amazing VERY FRIENDLY, HELPFUL & SOCIABLE L Sipe

Room Tip: Tho the spa was not open yet We enjoyed the pool/hot tub often
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read Deadwood Mountain Grand exceeded your expectations and provided you with unmatched service and accommodations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Grand Resort - hopefully, on your next visit you will take advantage of our new spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My son and I stayed here on the second stop on our way from Louisville to Seattle where he is relocating. This hotel, now a Holiday Inn and Casino, sits mostly on the side of a hill overlooking most of the town creating some interesting views. When arriving by car you drive to the top of a ramp where you can unload and then self park or valet park (both free). Given the cold weather we elected the valet. To enter the hotel you must push your luggage cart to the opposite end of the casino to find the elevators. The casino at about 9:30pm on a Thursday night was empty with the exception of three people playing black jack at one table. The casino needed a bit of sprucing up including replacement of the dirty carpet. This was not an impressive entrance. Once in the hotel lobby things began to look a bit better. Checking in was a bit different since it is done sitting at a concierge type desk. The clerk was friendly and helpful. We asked for direction to restaurants still serving at that hour and were shocked to hear that none would be open by the time we would be able check in and walk to them. We were able to eat at the hotel bar getting in just under the wire before the kitchen closed. Menu at that time was limited to burgers and fries but they were very good and we enjoyed talking to the bar tender and other patrons. The room was adequate and clean and checking out was no problem. This hotel was OK but I would likely try another lodging location if I return to Deadwood.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwtilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand during your recent trip through South Dakota. We appreciate hearing from all our guests and value each and every review we receive. Yes, we agree, January in South Dakota can certainly present challenges for our housekeeping staff when it comes to keeping the front entrance carpet free of snow and the salt mixture that is a must when caring for our outside entrance and keeping our guests safe. I well certainly share your concerns with our cleaning staff. Please know that our main building was actually a Slime Plant, built in 1906, because it is historic and lies within Deadwood's Historic Landmark District, Deadwood Historic Preservation rules and regulations apply. But the hotel is new. Nevertheless, our hotel that completed almost two years year ago had to follow the guidelines set forth by those historic preservation rules in joining the existing building, thus, the short walk through the casino. We have a great valet service waiting to help all our guests with their luggage. Again, thank you, and we do hope to see you again should you travel this way in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean. The front desk staff always greeted us upon entering. The doormen also opened the door and warmly greeted us. Weekend pricing was a little high but weekday price was fair. You can walk downtown to casinos and bars. The entrance was difficult to find. You must go entirely through the casino to an elevator then take the elevator to the hotel lobby. Once checked in, you take another elevator to your room. The bar food is mediocre. We didn't eat in the restaurant/grill. Good place to stay in Deadwood.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KSeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit historic Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing