We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel by Gold Dust(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge at Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hickok House(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$120
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bullock Hotel(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
323
145
39
17
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
145
39
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevent centerhotel lobbyparking garageyour luggageloved this hotelhistoric buildingvalet serviceblack hillsclose to downtownmain streetpool and hot tubroad tripslot machinesjerryelevatorconcertdoorman
Filter
Updating list...
357 - 362 of 542 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from a very cold Deadwood trip for the mardi gras celebration. This was our tour company's first opportunity to take a group to the Mountain Grand. Everyone from the greeter to the bellhop and waitstaff did an excellent job in welcoming our group. We always appreciate when a property makes us look good in the eyes of our customers. The facility is first class all around.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank AmeriStarTransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand as host for your group. We are so pleased your group enjoyed their stay with us and we appreciate your kind review. It is our goal that each and every guest leaves with an exceptional experience, and we're glad that you were able to do just that. Again, thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to your next visit with us, and we hope the weather will be warner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

First impression: AMAZING! Never in SD have I had a bellman take us up to our room and unload the bags! Every bit of the staff treated us like we were family! I've never seen so many people that genuinely enjoy their jobs. The dealers were fantastic. The fun tournaments they offer throughout the casino, blackjack, slot tourney, etc. I have never stayed there and I would do it again and again. You knew who the regulars by the way the staff interacted with them, and I didn't feel I was treated any different, it was spectacular and I will be talking about this place for years to come. I will recommend it to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

What a pleasure it was to have you as our guest! Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand and for allowing us the opportunity to provide you with an experience that was truly memorable. We are excited to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I took my husband for a birthday weekend. We had the BEST time, From Jerry the "bellman" thru Travis the manager (hotel check-in, sales store, casino, restaurant & bar(Slime,table +concert) personnel,+ parking) we were "treated like royalty"! My husband is not hard to please yet he has very high standards when it comes to service. The sharing of history & knowledge was amazing VERY FRIENDLY, HELPFUL & SOCIABLE L Sipe

Room Tip: Tho the spa was not open yet We enjoyed the pool/hot tub often
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read Deadwood Mountain Grand exceeded your expectations and provided you with unmatched service and accommodations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Grand Resort - hopefully, on your next visit you will take advantage of our new spa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My son and I stayed here on the second stop on our way from Louisville to Seattle where he is relocating. This hotel, now a Holiday Inn and Casino, sits mostly on the side of a hill overlooking most of the town creating some interesting views. When arriving by car you drive to the top of a ramp where you can unload and then self park or valet park (both free). Given the cold weather we elected the valet. To enter the hotel you must push your luggage cart to the opposite end of the casino to find the elevators. The casino at about 9:30pm on a Thursday night was empty with the exception of three people playing black jack at one table. The casino needed a bit of sprucing up including replacement of the dirty carpet. This was not an impressive entrance. Once in the hotel lobby things began to look a bit better. Checking in was a bit different since it is done sitting at a concierge type desk. The clerk was friendly and helpful. We asked for direction to restaurants still serving at that hour and were shocked to hear that none would be open by the time we would be able check in and walk to them. We were able to eat at the hotel bar getting in just under the wire before the kitchen closed. Menu at that time was limited to burgers and fries but they were very good and we enjoyed talking to the bar tender and other patrons. The room was adequate and clean and checking out was no problem. This hotel was OK but I would likely try another lodging location if I return to Deadwood.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dwtilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand during your recent trip through South Dakota. We appreciate hearing from all our guests and value each and every review we receive. Yes, we agree, January in South Dakota can certainly present challenges for our housekeeping staff when it comes to keeping the front entrance carpet free of snow and the salt mixture that is a must when caring for our outside entrance and keeping our guests safe. I well certainly share your concerns with our cleaning staff. Please know that our main building was actually a Slime Plant, built in 1906, because it is historic and lies within Deadwood's Historic Landmark District, Deadwood Historic Preservation rules and regulations apply. But the hotel is new. Nevertheless, our hotel that completed almost two years year ago had to follow the guidelines set forth by those historic preservation rules in joining the existing building, thus, the short walk through the casino. We have a great valet service waiting to help all our guests with their luggage. Again, thank you, and we do hope to see you again should you travel this way in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and clean. The front desk staff always greeted us upon entering. The doormen also opened the door and warmly greeted us. Weekend pricing was a little high but weekday price was fair. You can walk downtown to casinos and bars. The entrance was difficult to find. You must go entirely through the casino to an elevator then take the elevator to the hotel lobby. Once checked in, you take another elevator to your room. The bar food is mediocre. We didn't eat in the restaurant/grill. Good place to stay in Deadwood.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KSeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit historic Deadwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews