We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel by Gold Dust(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bullock Hotel(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lodge at Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hickok House(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$120
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
323
145
39
17
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
145
39
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevent centerhotel lobbyparking garageyour luggageloved this hotelhistoric buildingvalet serviceblack hillsclose to downtownmain streetpool and hot tubroad tripslot machinesjerryelevatorconcertdoorman
Filter
Updating list...
362 - 367 of 542 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from December 26-29th, 2013. This is the second time we stayed there, but the first time under it's new ownership (Holiday Inn). The hotel is new so it is in really good shape, and clean. But the staff, service and amenities really suck! We booked 6 rooms three months in advance and requested to be put all together, but they put us on two different floors! We booked one room with a king-size bed, as me and my husband are newly weds and we did not get it! The restaurant food is terrible and the service is worse! We were the only table in the restaurant and it took almost an hour to get our food and two of the orders were wrong! There is nothing on the menu for vegetarians other than one garden salad. The gaming floor is not well set-up and they usually only had one waitress for the whole thing. Which means you wait an hour+ to get drinks. The manager is this sleazy little man, that did not care what we had to say, and did nothing about our complaints. We definitely will not be staying there again! The Deadwood Gulch is 1000 times better!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Let us begin by saying we are so sorry for the confusion and customer service errors that surrounded your visit. Please be assured that the points you have made have been addressed and appropriate training measures put in place with our management and staff to ensure they won't happen again. Although we are affiliated with Holiday Inn, no ownership change has occurred at our property. What concerns us most is that you enjoyed your first stay with us enough to return for a second visit, which points to a series of isolated events that we sincerely apologize for and are disappointed you encountered. Your experience is atypical of the GRAND guest experience we strive for and we invite you back for another positive experience at our property

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Although we spent only one night at the hotel, my husband and I were very impressed. Located above the old slime plant dating from Deadwood's gold rush days, the Mountain Grand makes a very nice choice for a stay in the area. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is located through the casino and you will have two elevator rides to your room. Our's had a balcony with a lovely view over the town was very nicely appointed with a comfortable bed, flat-screen TV, and a large bath. Room service is available. The lobby is beautiful and echoes the history of the Black Hills. From the front door to the front desk the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Valet parking is available in the adjacent parking structure and, although it was not completed during our stay, a spa will be open soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are wonderful when the weather is warm or you just like a nice view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Settergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read Deadwood Mountain Grand exceeded your expectations and provided you with unmatched service and accommodations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Grand Resort - hopefully, on your next visit you will take advantage of our new spa! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent one night as a quick trip to Deadwood. Hotel is less than two years old. Met at door by valet service and escorted to hotel desk. Hotel is separate from casino though walk thru it to desk. Reservation was accurate. Room was great although there was only a large shower. Don't know if tubs are available. Bill was accurate. As we come to Deadwood a few times a year we'll be back

Room Tip: View rooms are available. Suites also. Top floor was very quite
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontanaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much for such a positive review!. Of course, it makes us ecstatic to hear you will choose us for future trips to Deadwood. Again, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Drove from Sioux Falls to see Bill Burr. Drove up to hotel and was greeted by Jerry Smith, fantastic guy!! Ate at the restaurant, delicious burgers! The meat have great flavor and the bacon was meat locker bacon. Plus the southwest egg rolls were the best! The rooms are clean and the beds are SO COMFY! ! The lady that runs the coffee stand is such a sweetheart!! So, obviously I loved it there.....I will stay there my next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff. Jerry is a good example of staff on our property; glad to hear he was able to go above and beyond for you. We have a great entertainment lineup for 2014; please check our website for information. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

While we did not stay in the hotel, we did enjoy dinner in the bar. Limited menu but the food was served promptly. The restaurant/bar has lots of room so you will not feel crowded. The salads are of a large portion and the same goes for the burgers!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheriffBTJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing to dine at our Slime Plant Bar & Grill on your recent trip to Deadwood. I have shared your review with our Food & Beverage Manager. It’s always good to hear such nice comments. We hope you stay at our resort the next time you visit Deadwood. I'm sure you will be pleased with our beautiful hotel as well. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews