We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel by Gold Dust(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$100
$90
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$134
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hickok House(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$120
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bullock Hotel(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Deadwood(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
$189
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
323
145
39
17
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
145
39
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevent centerhotel lobbyparking garageyour luggageloved this hotelhistoric buildingvalet serviceblack hillsclose to downtownmain streetpool and hot tubroad tripslot machinesjerryelevatorconcertdoorman
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 542 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Drove from Sioux Falls to see Bill Burr. Drove up to hotel and was greeted by Jerry Smith, fantastic guy!! Ate at the restaurant, delicious burgers! The meat have great flavor and the bacon was meat locker bacon. Plus the southwest egg rolls were the best! The rooms are clean and the beds are SO COMFY! ! The lady that runs the coffee stand is such a sweetheart!! So, obviously I loved it there.....I will stay there my next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff. Jerry is a good example of staff on our property; glad to hear he was able to go above and beyond for you. We have a great entertainment lineup for 2014; please check our website for information. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

While we did not stay in the hotel, we did enjoy dinner in the bar. Limited menu but the food was served promptly. The restaurant/bar has lots of room so you will not feel crowded. The salads are of a large portion and the same goes for the burgers!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheriffBTJustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing to dine at our Slime Plant Bar & Grill on your recent trip to Deadwood. I have shared your review with our Food & Beverage Manager. It’s always good to hear such nice comments. We hope you stay at our resort the next time you visit Deadwood. I'm sure you will be pleased with our beautiful hotel as well. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Jerry Smith is genius! Ask him anything! Great service with a smile, was warm and charming. His knowledge of the hotel to the hills was amazing. Even down to the photos in our hotel room Perfect first encounter at a top notch casino and venue.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your grand review! We are especially pleased that you recognized Jerry's unmatched guest service. We are very proud of our staff, and love to hear such kind comments. We are also pleased you enjoyed our property, and your stay with us. Thank you again for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We really like how they've reused the original structure for the casino. The hotel rooms are nice, clean, and daily service was good. We went to Deadwood with 10 others to celebrate a retirement. The quoted nightly rate was so high, everyone else in our party stayed elsewhere in town. Our rate was low on Thurs and Sunday, but the Fri/Sat rate was $300+/night. This hotel is definitely not a $300/night property. What's strange about the high rate is the fact that Oct/Nov is a very slow time and the hotel was not even close to being full.

We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner 3 times each. The food was excellent. The chicken fried steak was the best I've had in years, and the ribeyes and burgers were excellent as well. Kudos to the kitchen. Waitress had no clue what a Bombay Sapphire, up, extra dry martini was, but the bartender knew, and an excellent drink was delivered.

The casino was not kind to any of our party of 12, and the group gambled all over town for 3 days. Everyone had bad luck at this place, though, which is odd. You'd think someone would've been lucky. This was also one of the least populated casinos in town, meaning the locals may know this place as unlucky also.

Staff was friendly and attentive.

All in all, the hotel gets a good rating, the restaurant an excellent rating, and the casino a poor rating. Since we use casino comps to offset our hotel and food charges, we'll look to stay at one of the more friendly hotel/casinos, like Cadillac Jacks or the Hampden.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks about the hotel and for sharing your great dining experience at the Aught Six Grille. Unfortunately, we apologize for any confusion you experienced with our rates, as we have our rate set for standard rooms at a much lower rate than the $300.00 mentioned. Perhaps, the rate you paid included additional room charges? Again, I have forwarded your comments to our hotel management for further review. Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand; we do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Wednesday, October 16th for our anniversary. We were given a free upgrade to a room with a balcony which was fantastic. While we went to get our luggage from the vehicle they had a staff member bring a bottle of champagne on ice and two glasses to our room. They even took the time to hand write a card congratulating us on our anniversary. Needless to say my husband and I were beyond impressed. We travel out to Deadwood at least twice a year if not three times and were very excited to find out that this had become a Holiday Inn property as we are IHG Reward members. Keep up the good work! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Director of Sales at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank you for the awesome review! We are very pleased with the high level of satisfation you experienced at Deadwood Mountain Grand, a Holiday Inn Resort. Hopefully we can build on this review and use it as a benchmarck for the way we would like all our reviews to look. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us on your special day. Happy Anniversary! Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews