We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Loved this property. We were greeted at the door by an awesome lady could not have been more pleasant. Our room was not ready but no problem. They stored our bags and we have time to have lunch and look around. We had 2 rooms with balconies that overlooked the city which was wonderful for morning coffee. The rooms were spacious and clean. It is a block to the trolley stop and 2 blocks to main street so cannot beat the location. After looking at the other choices is Deadwood - hands down this is the best. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! It means so much to the entire staff when our property receives such accolades. We agree, Sally(valet) is a star employee! Again, thank you, and we hope to see you again soon at Deadwood Mountain Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    127
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
116
211
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mississippi
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

First time in Deadwood. Booked through the Chamber of Commerce a couple months ahead and got a fair price. The staff are more than welcoming and friendly. It is sorda weird you go in one side of elevator and come out the other, but you get use to that. The room was very clean and nice. Kids enjoyed the pool. We ate in the restaurant and service was great; food good. Enjoyed the casino. Not large, but a variety of machines and I left with a little win.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynot011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdingford, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I called this hotel blindly as we were approaching Deadwood. When our family pulled up instantly I new I had made the right choice. Clean rooms,GREAT service and beautiful place. I even left my check card at one of the restaurants and a few hours later we left the hotel to check out the sights and one of the staff caught me on the way out! You will not regret this place!

Room Tip: A players card gives you 10 % off
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to read that Deadwood Mountain Grand exceeded your expectations and provided you with unmatched service and accommodations. Since, Deadwood Mountain Grand is now your first choice when visiting Deadwood, We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Deadwood Mountain Grand on the nights of the 28th and 29th of June. From the minute we pulled up the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean and well appointed, and we loved our view of Deadwood from our balcony. Our king bed was very comfortable and even though we were right next to the elevator we didn't really hear much noise. And that's saying something because the place was packed for a concert the first night of our stay. There is a casino downstairs, but once you take the elevator to the hotel you are totally removed from it. The Aught Six restaurant was good for breakfast, but at dinner it was okay, but average. I highly recommend the Deadwood Social Club for dinner- a short walk but worth it! Overall, we were very pleased with the Deadwood Mountain Grand. The hotel was awesome and the people were top notch. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymmom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our team members. They will truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had grown up in Deadwood and picked a midweek evening for my husband and I to see the new facility. As I came in the door while my husband parked the car, I was greeted with a big smile by a familiar face, Jerry Smith. I told him we were checking out the facility for a small class reunion in Aug. but were very curious about the whole facility. He took us up the elevator to the amazing hotel lobby, told us the history as he showed us historic pictures. We saw the pools and decks and views and shared memories. Our impression was made most positive with Jerry's personal attention. We enjoyed a delicious dinner which included gluten-free bread--a first! We will definitely be back even befor the Aug. dates.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are especially pleased that you recognized Jerry's unmatched guest service. We have forwarded your compliments to his manager so that they can recognize him on a job well done. Thank you again for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We LOVED this place! It's beautiful and very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And we got a great rate! Deadwood is a really neat place and I really like that the casinos are non-smoking! I will definitely stay here again when I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you! We are so excited to hear we are your new favorite place to stay in Deadwood! It's so rewarding to share such nice reviews with all our team members! Again, thank you for sharing, and we hope to see you again soon at Deadwood Mountain Grand,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife, our pooch, and I spent four nights at the DMG this past June and had a great time! We stayed in the Big and Rich suite, and thought the room was very nice. The room was very clean, and set up nicely. The bedroom is separated from the living room area by a rock fireplace room divider. On the bedroom side of the divider was the fireplace and a flat screen TV and on the living room side there was a small frig and another flat screen TV. The pluses of the room were: very comfy bed, very wide (although narrow) balcony facing the town, nice size bathroom (good shower water pressure and a shower head that was at a good height, I am 6'4" so that is important to me), a nice size in room safe, and like I said earlier, very clean. The only real negatives were there was no microwave, and although they have room service, there were no menus in the room.

A lot of people reviewing this hotel are put off by the fact you have to use two sets of elevators to get to the hotel rooms. We did not find this difficult at all. You do have to walk through part of the casino to get to the first set of elevators which take you to the hotel check in and then another set to get to the rooms, but the whole journey is not that long, and the casino is easy to navigate.

The casino itself is very small (not by Deadwood standards), but actually quite nice. We love roulette, and while they don't have any live roulette tables, they do have an automatic roulette table that uses an actual roulette wheel, and continuously spins. We had a great time there. The casino also serves complimentary well drinks. You can purchases top shelf liquors also, and if you do, ask about long pours (definitely worth the extra $1.50).

We ate several meals at the hotel, and while I did have an excellent Walleye dinner the first night, overall the food was just okay.

The best part of the hotel though was the people working there! The whole staff was awesome!! Special mention goes out to Lisa at check in, The Jerry's (pony-tailed and good fellow, well he reminded me of a mob guy), and a lady (I am so sorry I didn't get her name because she was so awesome!) who assisted with luggage our last day there. She works for the school system for most of the year, then works at DMG during the summer. Super lady! Everyone we encountered went out of their way to help out or just say hey! Thanks to all of you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Exceeding each and every guest’s expectations is our specialty here at Deadwood Mountain Grand. We are pleased to read your kind words and thank you for sharing them. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#2 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing