We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Friendly to Veterans” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Radcliff, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Friendly to Veterans”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was a bumpy one. We were greeted by the door staff on where to park and they even came to the overflow parking lot to pick up our bags.The first night there we had a good time out on the front patio partying with our group. There was about fourty of us. The next day when we returned to the hotel, we were told we couldn't park where we parked the night before because it was for valet parking now. We had to park at the bottom of the parking garage now. We went to eat in the hotel restaurant and the menu had no pasta on it or sandwich items. We ask if the bar had a menu and the waiter said yes but we were not aloud to see it because it was for the bar only. So I walked over to the bar and looked at the menu which had items we were interested in. So we had to move to the bar to eat..Kind of stupid since the food came from the same kitchen...That evening our group returned to the patio to party again and we were met by the management staff.. We were told we could not drink our own beer out there because they had a band and wanted us to buy from there bar..I told them that they already got me for $500.00 for the room for the weekend and now you want us to buy your beer TOO!! So of course we were watched until the band quit and the bar closed. The next night was the same thing we were watched till the bar closed. It just seems funny when a orginization books 30% of the rooms for this weekend, and brings 1500 -2000 members to there small town with a population of 1200. The hotel should of had some leniency for us.
The one thing that was cool is that we did sit in the bar and have a drink with... Niles Harris... a true "Combat Veteran". Needless to say I will not stay In this hotel ever again. It just appears that the Hotel staff and the Casino staff don't talk to each other. They change there rules as they go.

Room Tip: You can stay less than a mile out of town toward Lead, SD for $35.00 a night then Spend $122.00 here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Before we address other issues, one of very great legal importance and in dire need of clarification, is the fact that we are governed by strict rules and regulations regarding our liquor license. As you found out, we take it seriously. The issues you describe are not so much customer service-related, as they are policy and procedure-related.
That means we can’t allow anyone to bring their own beer in to party on the patio or we risk losing our license. While you feel your group was singled out, please be assured that this rule is strictly enforced with any and all persons who attempt to bring their own liquor in. You’re right – we patrol the area diligently, as the benefit of having a cocktail creekside is appreciated and indulged in by thousands of visitors each summer and we intend to keep it that way by keeping our liquor license.
Same sort of thing on the parking. We made an exception, respectfully allowing veterans to park in what is normally our valet parking area, in order to temporarily accommodate the large numbers in town for the convention. We’re sorry for the confusion and y our disappointment in being asked to move to the lower level of the covered parking garage.
Our prices and policies are typical of high-end hotel establishments and no matter how many rooms we sell to affiliates with any organization, our policy is to adhere to the rules and regulations set forth by the city and other governmental entities. In light of that, we are sincerely sorry for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    125
    31
    15
    15
See reviews for
116
205
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were on the final leg of a two week roadtrip and stayed two nights at the Deadwood Mountain Grand. We weren't sure if our small SUV with roofrack would fit in the parking garage, but the valet came out to assure us it was fine. I ran ahead to survey the situation and was told by the valet that the hotel lobby was "just through the casino and up the elevator to the third floor." Seemed like a Vegas stunt and I was a little put-off, however, once you think about the design into the hillside, I sort of understand the setup (the casino and concert venue is an old "slime" plant for gold processing, the hotel added up the hill).

Our room was modern and clean, comfy beds, mini-fridge, and a table and chairs. The "Deluxe Double Queen" room was spacious enough that the four of us weren't on top of each other. The floor was quite quiet, which was a pleasant surprise at a casino hotel. The kids swam in the pool, which was rather small, but they still enjoyed. My husband, however, was less than impressed with the fitness center. The lobby has several seating areas that have lovely, comfortable furniture. There's a table for coffee and another with two flavored water options (orange, yum!), which were a nice touch. Still, it was strange to leave the hotel and have to steer the kids through the casino rooms to the front door.

We did try the "casual dining" late the first night, actually tables on one side of the bar area. The lighting was quite dark, and no one else was sitting over there, so it felt awkward. My husband was hungry but the kids and I just wanted dessert, which was not on the menu. The waitress brought us the men for the Aught 6(the more "upscale" option), which they apparently weren't really supposed to do. My first choice wasn't available, my second choice only had one slice (which my daughter was going to have)...luckily, the pricing of all the food and drinks was quite reasonable.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay, but I am not sure I'd go back to Deadwood to stay. It is tricky to find lodging or dining not associated with gambling. It isn't really geared to families, and yet it has all these great "old west" activities and should embrace that market more, in my opinion. If you're looking to go to Deadwood for gambling or a show, I would say the Deadwood Mountain Grand is a great option, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank googlymoogly014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel during your family vacation. We appreciate you taking the time to complete the review of our hotel and pointing out the things we did well as well as the things we can improve on. We appreciate that you would stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a renovated slime factory. Our room and bathroom were nicely appointed. Large, clean and comfortable. The room was a little warm and we found the AC to be too noisy to leave on overnight. We could even hear the AC on in the next bedroom which we found very disruptive during the night. We had dinner in their restaurant and the food was very good, but the service was exceptionally slow. We were told that they only had two people working in the kitchen.The only negative for me was that in order to enter the hotel lobby, you had to carry your luggage through the casino, which was a tad uncomfortable.Parking is free for hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egretnewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the time you took to let us know how your stay was! While we always want to hear the best things about our property, we do need to know what areas we can make improvements in. It's our goal to create an unique and unforgettable experience for each guest. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison AR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice quiet rooms but it looked as if it hadn't been dusted in months. We had to be careful of the towels.... a couple were full of hair!

Only complaint was of Travis, assistant hotel manager. He was VERY disrespectful to me and my wife. We were told by staff that nothing would come of our complaint but he was the most OBNOXIOUS hotel manager we have every dealt with. We hope that his supervisor, Lori, will advise him that guests are not inferior but should be treated with respect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JK100599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. I am sorry if that was not the case during your stay. While our hotel is still fairly new and truly is our pride and joy, sometimes there are quirks with both the product and service as we strive to get everything running as smoothly and as perfectly as possible. I can certainly understand and empathize with your disappointment over the issues you encountered during your stay. I must admit that I am rather surprised to hear that you had a poor experience with Travis, as he has been with Deadwood Mountain Grand since before the casino even opened its doors in 2011 (the hotel opened in April 2012). In the three years that he’s been here, we’ve never had one bad comment about Travis- from either guests or employees. Guests are normally quite impressed with this young man and his usually wonderful customer service skills, manners, and professional demeanor. I am also surprised to hear of the cleanliness issues you encountered in your room. Normally, our rooms get very high praises for their cleanliness and comfortableness. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! We appreciate your feedback and will use that to continue to improve our service to our valued guests.

Lori Van Winsen-Moore, CHA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here early May and I was a little off put by the huge shape - size of the place however once we got over the "awe" of it, it was really great fun. Everyone was real nice and I think I gained 10 pounds from the great food since the weather was not the best we mainly stayed at the motel when we ran out of stuff to drive and see, but never ran out of stuff to do at the motel! We were not there while there was a concert going on, but it seemed like they had 2 or 3 scheduled a month with some pretty big names. Would definitely stay again! Thanks for a great last minute weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel! We are so glad you were able to enjoy so many of our services while you were here. Surveys such as yours mean a great deal to the staff and we will make sure to share it with everyone! We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a cool restored mine plant hotel. Rooms are beautiful, nice staff, did well on slots. Live music was poor. Coffee bar was nice. Perfect location for walking to downtown Deadwood. 10% off gift shop with room. $$$$

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimicasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time here in Deadwood. We truly appreciate your business. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time while you were here with us. If you are ever in the neighborhood again we will have a room ready for you, and hopefully music that better suits your taste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Mount Rushmore over Memorial weekend. It was just by accident that we picked it. It was in the perfect spot to walk around Deadwood that evening and the next day - great place to park too! Walking through the casino was no big deal - the guest service was so helpful and took us right where we needed to go - even into the parking lot! The only bummer was the ac in our room - sounded like a 747 taking off. I would definitely check this first thing when arriving to switch if needed. The only sound from outside the room was when the guests were talking right outside our door, otherwise, the concert that was going on downstairs sounded no louder than a faint radio playing. Nice beds, nice shower, and the room with a view was worth the $$.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BozemanMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We appreciate knowing that your first stay with us was such a nice experience. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing