We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
North Dakota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice new place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

In Deadwood for Mardi Gras with 10 friends. Nice new hotel & casino. Not cheap to stay here, cost is a bit more than we like to spend when we go to Deadwood. Good location fun place for functions. Everything very clean, nice staff for the most part we didn't see too many staff or we really didn't pay much attention. We didn't hang out at the casino all that much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthDakotaMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    125
    31
    15
    15
See reviews for
116
205
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here with my family of 4 at the end of March. It was the off season, so the room was dirt cheap. We stayed just one night during a family trip through the Black Hills. The room is huge and brand new - beautiful finishes and what a fabulous shower!! Super comfortable beds and soft pillows, plus a big flat screen tv and a refrigerator. The pool and hot tub are a bit vanilla, but if you just want a dip, it's perfect. My kids enjoying swimming for a short time. You'll also love the robes they provide in the rooms. Staying in March was great for a family with young kids, but if you are without kids, the off season is probably not the time to visit. We had a hard time finding any other gamblers and that was a buzz kill. But this hotel is fabulous!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your GRAND review! We are so pleased you enjoy staying with us here at Deadwood Mountain Grand! It's so nice to read such positive comments. Please let us know when you're coming back so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights with family; the room itself was very nice - clearly new - and spotless. Beds were comfy and the temperature was pretty nicely regulated. Common areas of the hotel are very pretty and immaculately clean as well. I wasn't there for the event facilities, but they looked nice and it looked like it would make a fun getaway for folks into gambling or country music concerts.

The hotel is very oddly setup though; you have to walk all the way through the casino floor to take an elevator to the hotel lobby, then walk around the lobby to a second bank of elevators to take you up to your room. There is NO direct entrance to the hotel from the parking structure. This was more of an annoyance to me than a 'problem', but judging by the average age of many of the hotel/casino's guests, could be cumbersome to negotiate.

The desk staff was very nice, but quite apologetic from the get-go. It's not always the best sign when the person checking you in apologizes unprompted within the first minute as a guest...

Do note that South Dakota apparently does not have smoke-free air laws in place, and hotel staff does not inform you if you have a smoking room when you check in. As someone who is used to a smoke-free environment, the fact that my room had a strong odor of smoke was pretty offputting. It did dissipate when I turned on the HVAC, but I would have appreciated if the desk had asked or notified me when I checked in.

Another (minor) caveat: the hotel has its own casino, event center, 3 restaurants, pool, and business center, but NO fitness facility. Since the property seems quite new, I was pretty surprised that they couldn't even provide a treadmill or two as is commonplace in most hotels.

Bottom line: if you like to gamble and smoke while also enjoying nice accommodations, the Mountain Grand might be right up your alley. If I should ever find myself back in Deadwood, I'll probably look elsewhere, but I wouldn't necessarily oppose staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zshwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your open, honest feedback. We have already put your suggestions to good use, as fitness equipment to populate our work-out area will be ordered this week and is on its way.
We are a little bit baffled by the smoke smell you apparently encountered in your room, as our entire facility is smoke free. Perhaps the person in the room before you had belongings that smelled of smoke..? None of our rooms are smoking rooms, so the odor should not be there at all.
As for the complex configuration, we have rehabilitated a contributing historic structure, the former Deadwood Slime Plant that was erected in 1906 and processed gold ore transported from the Homestake Mine in Lead. Due to compliance measures with strict historic preservation guidelines, the complex was tediously and tenuously constructed according to our architect's suggestions for maximizing the usefulness of the space. We receive positive comments daily thanking us for turning the building into a bonus for Deadwood.
We were pleased to hear that your room and bed were comfortable and met with your satisfaction. When we hear of great guest service encounters, it reinforces our commitment to training in that area, as well.
Again, thank you for your candid comments. They have assisted us in the quest for constant improvements on the property. Your business is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The rooms were very nice and clean. All of the staff was very friendly! The price was reasonable and it was in close walking distance to downtown. We ate dinner and breakfast at their restaurant Aught Six and both meals were great. I hope I have a chance to come back again.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the elevator have lots of noise through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJoLady444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our property. We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The facility was beautiful. We booked our room for the Deadwood St. Patricks Weekend PubCrawl in December. I was a bit taken back by the price of our room, even for booking so far in advance. I later learned that check in time wasn't until 4:00--an hour after the event started. We were encouraged by the staff to call frequently to check on the status of our room. Thankfully, we were able to get into our room prior to the start of the event. After the event, we made it back to our room, only to be kept awake all night due to the night club which was in the adjoining building. We were kept awake by the bass from the music being played and the resulting shaking and vibration of our room's windows. We could also hear all the other hotel guests coming to their rooms during the night, some of which were speaking quietly. After our day on Saturday, we were really looking forward to a good night's sleep, and we were unable to get one. Also, our room would fluctuate in temperature so much, I found myself adjusting the thermostat constantly.

I loved the facility and the courtesy of the staff--but certain things didn't help our review. Maybe things would be different on a less-chaotic weekend.

Room Tip: I enjoyed my friend's suite: The Big and Rich room. It was absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDGirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for staying with us over St. Patrick's Day weekend. We truly value your business and are disappointed to hear of the challenges you encountered during your stay. Every so often, improperly adjusted sound equipment in the event center can be an issue and it sounds like that's what you encountered during your stay. For that, we apologize and have already taken measures to avoid the same sort of incident. While we would hope that our guests would be mindful of others who might be sleeping by lowering their voices in the hotel hallways late in the evening, St. Patrick's Day festivities in Deadwood can carry on well into the wee hours of the night. Thank you for letting us know about the temperature fluctuation in your room. Our maintenance staff is addressing that issue, as well. We were happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service you received as a hotel guest and hope you are able to enjoy our venue during another, less hectic event. Again, thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had booked the Big and Rich room for me and my boyfriend as a gift from me for our one year anniversery. He loves the old west and has been obsessed with the history of deadwood. Were from pennsylvania and ive never been out west before. So for it being my first time i was absolutely amazed! The room first of all was gorgeous and the view was breathtaking, and the hotel is placed so close to everything. But what was so nice to see was how nice everyone who worked there was. We talked to quite a number of the staff and everyone was extremely helpful, kind, and genuinely asked how we were enjoying our time while we were there. Over the Mardi Gras weekend, we went to a lot of places, but were still amazed at how the sevice at the hotel excelled compared to other places. The food was amazing and the night club was a lot of fun! On our last morning there we sat at the bar and talked with the barteneder who told us of other events that happen durring the summer and other things to check out. We are already planning to come back durring the summer and stay at the Mt. Grand in the same room.

Room Tip: If you want a nice suit and your not entertaining. The big and Rich is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your words of appreciation. We are humbled to have received such thoughtful comments, for there really is no greater satisfaction, than receiving kind words from a valued guest. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewood, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We made reservations to be at the Grand for my son's birthday, which happens to be over Presidents day weekend. In total, we had 16 kids and a handful of adults. We rented the Mountain Harmony suite and the adjoining room. And we were a MOB. The entire staff, and I do mean entire staff, was amazing. They looked after us and pampered us. The kids left feeling like a million bucks! This type of group, on that busy of a weekend in Deadwood, could overwhelm ever the most seasoned professional; but they made it look easy. And if you stay at the Grand, you should ask for Jerry; trust me.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManagerIronHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you! Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing