We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30th anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Bellbrook, OH
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“30th anniversary trip”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Deadwood Mountain Grand was a very nice hotel. Our room was fantastic. Was not fond of the casino. Mostly slot machines and few tables. We did learn 3 card poker there and found the dealers to be very nice and helpful in teaching the game. Met some nice people at our table that made the evening a blast. Food in the dining room (breakfast) was okay. Food and drinks in the bar were better and our bartender was very nice. The upstairs bar connected to the event room wasn't open which was a bummer. Nice location to the town. We were there at the end of September and the town was pretty empty. Would like to experience it during a busier time of the year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate your Deadwood Mountain Grand experience. We're so glad to hear your positive comments about the hotel and were thrilled you managed to have a good time in the casino! A very important component of our service mix is guest service and it sounds like our personnel delivered -- from your positive experience at the gaming tables to your food and drinks in the bar. We do hope you'll join us again if you choose to return when Deadwood is hustling and bustling. We truly appreciate your business and your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    132
    36
    16
    15
See reviews for
128
221
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NE
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Deadwood Mountain Grand is a beautiful new hotel in Deadwood. It definetly looked like the best hotel in town. We got a great deal $89 + tax for a Monday night...about $30 less than the Hampton Inn. Free internet and parking. Seemed really empty/quiet, but this is the end of season, so I am assuming that's why. The reason it received 4 out of 5 stars, it really is a trip from the entrance to the actual check-in/rooms. With all the luggage, kind of awkward. Would be great if they had extra valet guys to take luggage to the room. Also, there were hardly any outlets in the room. Had to unplug clock to charge cell phone. Room itself is very beautiful and I loved all the pics of what the town used to look like. Pool is nice and disability friendly with chair lifts. Exercise room has no equipment yet :) (9/25). Deadwood itself involves mostly casinos and I wouldn't recommend the city for people with kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing both the challenges and positive experiences you encountered at Deadwood Mountain Grand. You were able to take advantage of our "Rates Are Falling" promotion, which offers great room rates at one of the most beautiful times of the year in Deadwood. Believe it or not, we are taking a closer look at our valet staffing and hope to have exercise equipment in the near future. We appreciate you taking the time to weigh in on your stay, as we take this feedback seriously when developing and amending policies and procedures. Please come back and visit us some time in the near future and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent two nights at the DMG. Rooms were excellent, beds were comfortable, and the room was quite. We ate two meals in the restaurant and were extremely pleased with the food and the service. The hotel, casino and restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful. The only thing that would have made the trip better was winning at gambling.
We will stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking Deadwood's main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay. We love to read reviews and print them for our staff to see also. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we get to see you again in the near future. Have a good day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife's family lives up here, so we've been coming to Deadwood for many years. This has been the best new asset to the community. It's very well decorated, rooms good size and the mattress and pillows I want at our house. We stayed a full week. Three of those nights though, the people above us came back to their room after midnight, waking me up. Between the refrigerator humming, the upstairs hot tub and adjacent room air conditioner running, it was hard to get back to sleep. Maybe it was just my problem? Every night before bedtime, we would run the A/C down to 68 degrees, then adjust it to 75 so it wouldn't run overnight. But hotels aren't built to be sound proof. I would stay here again but ask for a room on top floor. The staff was exceptional as well as the food served in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Shut off refrigerator and A/C before going to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6mark0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the DMG for two nights (Sept 9 and 10). We stayed in the Big Time Suite and we couldn't have asked for more. The bed was very comfortable and loved the separate living area. The bathroom is large and the shower is great. We also really enjoyed our private balcony that offered a great view of the city of Deadwood. We ate breakfast one morning at the restaurant onsite and it was very good. Wish we would have eaten dinner there as well, but thought we'd try something else downtown (Gem Steakhouse) and were disappointed. Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend the DMG to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review of Deadwood Mountain Grand! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you stay with us again (and have dinner!) next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the moment we pulled up front and were greeted by Jeff the concierge until we left Deadwood this was a perfect stop. This is a new casino/hotel with beautiful furnishings, spacious comfortable rooms and a staff that will bend over backwards to see that you are happy. A huge plus is the location, a very short to Main St Deadwood. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We take great pride in our level of customer service here at Deadwood Mountain Grand, and we are so happy it lives up to our guest’s expectations. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankton, SD
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This new hotel opened about 4 months ago and is immediately adjacent to the downtown entertainment areas of Deadwood. Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed loaded with pillows. Very quiet. Bathroom was well done with a huge shower, but lacked a tub. Bathrobes provided. An LG flatscreen TV with cable channels had great reception. Internet is free. I would have liked to have had a comfortable easy chair. Safe and a small refrigerator are provided. In non-convenient casino fashion, there is a fair hike through the casino to reach an elevator to the lobby, and from there another elevator to the rooms. Convenient free parking is provided. We enjoyed a great breakfast with quick service; the selections and prices were attractive. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our property. We strive to make our guests as comfortable and as possible, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your room and amenities. Please consider staying with us again if you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
0.3 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Dr, Deadwood, SD 57732-1572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home. At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, perched on a hill overlooking historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing