We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived in Deadwood for a 1 night stay at the Hampton Inn Deadwood 4 Aces Casino. We had no trouble finding it but could not find a place to park. After locating a parking spot we went in and got our room keys. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We were told where we could park and that we needed to keep the pass in our car while parking . The parking area for hotel guest was a little distance from the main entrance. Might not be suitable for some.The hotel was clean,and bed was comfortable. The next morning we went up stairs to the breakfast area. It was a very small crowded room. Once we found a place to sit we had a good breakfast. I believe that the hotel could have used a bigger room for their breakfast area. Not suitable for the number of guest in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    201
    78
    26
    11
See reviews for
165
298
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

This is such a great location, just a couple of blocks from anything. Great service, quiet, clean, the front desk was friendly and very helpful. We used the valet and they were great. We had a wonderful stay and would stay again. Breakfast was very good as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I read a couple of reviews that commented negatively on the staff. Not sure who they were talking about because we found everyone to be friendly and helpful. Rose, the woman that makes breakfast happen, is a real stand out. She helped us with some directions and plans then asked how we enjoyed it when we saw her the next day. We also watched as she greeted regulars and helped people that wanted something not out that day (we were one of those on our last day).

We booked a suite because that is all that was available at the time. It was great and worth the extra money for us. I get up early and my husband stays up later. The extra room was heaven for a 4 night stay! Have only stayed in a couple of Hampton Inns but this seems pretty standard in comparison. Got a nice thank you note from our maid for our daily tip....again...a really nice staff.

Location was good for us but it is towards one end of the downtown Deadwood. We were there for the first night of Kool Nights in Deadwood. Thought it would be crazy but hotel assured us that we would be fine and they were right.

Don't expect to go back to Deadwood anytime soon but would stay here if I did!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcdogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn in July for 2 nights, found it to be very clean and comfortable, Used the self parking across the street never had any problem getting a space. Its in a good location easy walk to the main part of the Deadwood. It had a buffet breakfast which was a bit crowded on the first morning i expect everybody got up at once. Cant comment on the swimming pool as never got to experience it. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexoldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you are looking for hospitality, look elsewhere! I have never been treated so rudely by front desk staff for our entire stay! Yes, occasionally you may get one not so friendly front desk clerk but for all of them to be that way? Upon arriving, we were told a room was not available and could come back for check-in at 3pm. I was fine with that because it was around 1:00. However, she didn't even look at my reservation or the fact that I am a Gold Hilton Honors member. I brushed that off and we left to enjoy Deadwood and the Black Hills for a few hours. Upon our return around 5pm, I was once again very rudely treated. In fact, it was so bad that when I asked for a late check-out, the front desk clerk said, and I quote, "Well, if you want a late check out, you will have to talk with the manager and see if they are willing to have housekeeping stay late just for YOU!" Wow! I said, "Okay, thank you!" Walked outside to my husband and said, "We are driving back to Rapid City and staying there!" after explaining the scenario I just had with the front desk, my husband walked inside and he also was treated extremely inhospitable. I have never wanted to check out of a hotel as soon as I checked in! After calling Hilton Honors, the situation was handled, so we thought.

The valet parking was a joke. We always use valet and tip very generously. However, this guy never got off his stool! No "hello" or "checking-in". Nothing! And every time we came back to the hotel, it was the same scenario... Sitting on his stool reading a magazine and never even acknowledge we drove up. So we used self parking which was another joke. The parking lot is very small, across the street and down a good bit from the entrance. Most of the cars parked there were not hotel guests and just there for the casino or locals using it for free parking. Very, very few cars actually had the hotel parking pass! With parking as limited as it was it was ridiculous to have to search and search and wait for someone to come out so you could park for your hotel. Valet parking was a gravel lot for maybe six cars total. The hotel was no where near full or even busy. Would hate to have tried to find parking if it was! If you have the misfortune of staying here, maybe you'll be lucky in finding a place to park!

When we got to our room, it was not clean and very small. The bathroom had toothpaste dried on the counter and splatters on the faucet. I took a Clorox wipe to clean it and the wipe was black from all the dirt. The toilet had tissue in the bowl and the desk was covered in crumbs. Maybe they should have housekeeping stay late just for "clean rooms"!  After about 20-30 minutes in the room, my entire family began having allergy problems. In fact, my daughter and husband are still sick from the room! By far the worst Hampton we have ever stayed and definitely the most expensive Hampton Inn. It cost almost as many points as it does for us to stay at the Embassy Suites on Waikiki beach! And this hotel is more of a Motel 6 compared to that property! The pool is extremely small and an after thought. The breakfast bar was okay.

The following morning my husband confirmed with both Shawn and housekeeping of our late check out and was told that, yes, they have a note of it.  However, when we checked out it was another story! In fact, the front desk clerk, Shane (had to ask for her name but failed to get the blonde heavy set lady at check in because no one here wears their name tag), hatefully said to my husband, "Did anyone talk to you about checking out so late?" It wasn't that she said it, it was how she said it. In fact she then went on to say that she had housekeeping calling and then Shane went on to ask yet again very rudely, "Why are you checking out late?" Needless to say, this did not go well!

If you are looking specifically for a Hilton brand hotel, stay in Rapid City! We had a great stay there and the hospitality was impeccable! Deadwood is an easy day trip from the Rapid City Hampton and really, a few hours is all you need for Deadwood.

Room Tip: Stay in Rapid City and do a day trip to Deadwood. You really don't need much time in this town a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Runnermom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle F, Manager at Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty as a Hhonors member. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. It is discouraging to hear that you were treated so discourteously by our staff. I can assure you this has been addressed. I’ve also spoken to our housekeeping staff about your guest room and reminded them of our strict procedures for servicing guest rooms. I’m also very sorry for the miscommunication from our front desk staff regarding your late check-out. This has also been addressed. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again to see how we’ve improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral City, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Welcome reception for our motorcoach group which was very nice. Hotel very clean, personnel very nice especially those taking care of the breakfast room!! The restaurant located in the hotel is not a part of the Hampton Inn chain, so save your money and go elsewhere. We are a motorcoach group and some of our passengers ate here, they said they should of listen to the people who were leaving upon their arrival, who stated save you money!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Good service. Great complimentary breakfast! In walking distance of a lot of attractions in deadwood! Hotel was clean and modern! Comfy beds! It was quiet place to stay. Easy parking across the street. Would stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.4 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort

Property: Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
Address: 531 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1105 (Formerly Hampton Inn Deadwood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#9 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#12 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hampton Inn at the Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort located downtown in historic Deadwood, SD, just minutes from Interstate 90. Our hotel provides easy access to Deadwood's many attractions, including the Days of '76 Museum and Rodeo Grounds, Mt. Moriah Cemetery, Historic Adams House and the site of Wild Bill's last poker game. Pan for gold at the Broken Boot Gold Mine or watch a reenactment of a Deadwood shootout. Hike or cycle on the famous George S. Mickelson trail. Venture further to admire Mount Rushmore, the Crazy Horse Memorial, Spearfish Canyon Scenic Byway, Devils Tower and the Badlands National Park. Our hotel is attached to the newly renovated Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort, offering over 275 slot machines, six live table games, a full service bar, expansive buffet, made-to-order grill, and the best parking on historic Main Street. Get your morning started with a free hot breakfast (served daily), or dine at the Tin Lizzie Restaurant and Grill - open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. After a busy day, refresh in the indoor pool, work out in the fitness center or relax on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Each room in our Deadwood hotel has free WiFi, a 37-inch TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Consider staying in a suite with a separate living area and sofa bed or deluxe whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing