We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Normal Hotel Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aught Six Grille - CLOSED

Aught Six Grille
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Normal Hotel Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is based in the Deadwood Mountain Grand. Food OK but not brilliant - no sauces so a bit dry. Staff pleasant but a bit slow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeggQ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    5
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, which I also highly recommend, and we decided to try this restaurant based on reviews on trip advisor. There were many mentions of it in the reviews for the hotel. I am glad we did.

We arrived on a Thursday and they were serving a buffet. They had two options and we chose the buffet. The prime rib was so yummy! Excellent job on the part of the chef. They also had other options like fishto (salmon I believe). He could cook up a mealgood with veggies, pasta and chicken.....and also Asian cuisine. The gentlemen was friendly and always focused on taking good care of the customers who came up to the buffet. Hands down......the meal was excellent. The gentlemen at the buffet took better care of us than our waitress. She barely kept our glasses full of water and he had to go and find her so we could get our bill. That would be my only negative .....but someone was also watching and willing to help, which is great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ccc9958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGManagement, Public Relations Manager at Aught Six Grille, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give our Aught 6 Grille a review! As always we welcome any advice or commentary from our guests, positive or negative, so that we may as a business grow to serve those who visit us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the services of the chef staff. We do apologize that our wait staff was not up to your standard and we will adjust accordingly. Thank you for choosing Deadwood Mountain Grand and the Aught 6 Grille! Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped in at the Deadwood Mountain Grand over the July 4th holiday, the atmosphere was that of a diner lots of booths little table space. Ordered steaks which took forever to get and when we did get them both were way under cooked, we wanted medium rare and get raw. Sent them back and got well done. I felt sorry for the server it was definitely not her fault. There were people in the place but would have to say not to the point of being busy. Someone told us they are "under new management" which just says the place was a mess before and it would appear there is no change. Very disappointed and will not ever go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“It could be good but you take a chance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is the grill inside the Mountain Grand Hotel and Casino. We ate there when they had run out of some things but found some reasonable options on the menu. I had pork chops which were two sizeable hunks of meat - one would have been enough. Shared a large cheesecake for dessert which was good.

We were sat in a high sided booth which meant we were quite isolated. There was not much atmosphere in this place and although we had a pleasant enough meal we were quite glad to leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were just recently in Deadwood, staying at the Mountain Grand, and decided to try the restaurant on site the Aught 6. It was a beautiful evening and wanted to be able to enjoy the outdoor seating. We were seated quickly by a friendly staff member. After looking at the menu we decided to order the lobster ( 2 tails for $35!) and a steak and share the meal. The food came in good time and the lobster was fine. I cut into the steak, which I had ordered medium rare and was disappointed to see it was more like medium well and an awful grey color. Very strange as it had grill marks on it which made it appear barbecued. I asked for another steak which arrived after we had finished our lobster and it was stone cold raw in the middle. Again it had an awful color with grill marks – microwaved maybe – anyway I just asked that they take it back. The cost was taken off our bill and free dessert was offered. I would not recommend ordering steak at this restaurant!! Very disappointing meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joana_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aught Six Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing