We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competitive price, clean room - fine for a place to sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Nice room, good location. We like Holiday Inn and belong to their loyalty program. Clean room. The front desk clerk was very nice but she didn't know a lot. In her defense, though, she was new. Also, we asked her a question about AAA benefits we were supposed to get and she didn't know what it was, but she stopped us in the lobby later that night and said she had asked someone else but they didn't know either. I wasn't real surprised and it was nice she went the extra step to try to find out even though I told her it wasn't a big deal. Negatives = 1) no parking near the hotel; they pay for the parking in the city garage, but you do have to walk a block and a half (not bad, but could be annoying in the winter), 2) the keys KEPT demagnatizing; this happened every single time we walked out of the room - very annoying! The clerks kept telling us if you have the key card too close to your cell phone or something, but we didn't! 3) they advertise a "buffet breakfast" but it was the usual Holiday Inn breakfast - not bad, not great - scrambled eggs, toast, dry cereal, coffee, milk, juice, hard-boiled eggs, 4) no fridge or microwave and I was misinformed about this when I called to ask a few days before our arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelcat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

We ate the continental breakfast 3 mornings and even though they served the same items all days, it was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in a perfect spot for walking, taking the shuttle or going on the Boot Hill tour. We would recommend this hotel for anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackeill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

In the centre of everything. Lovely hotel with a good breakfeast. Very helpful staff too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My company offered a discounted price so I disregarded the previous reviews and reserved one night at the Holiday Inn Express. The room was smaller than other Holiday Inn Express rooms I had previously stayed at. The window faced the lobby so we kept the Roman shade closed. The shade was not long enough or wide enough to keep the room dark. There was little water pressure for hot water and so the morning shower was luke warm at best. I mentioned the problem to the one lobby person working that morning, I was told Leah the manager would not be in until after 9 am and there was not a manager I could address my complaint to. I was given an email to contact Leah. Even with the discount, the room was expensive. The previous reviews were right on. If there is a next time, we will visit Deadwood for the day only and will stay in Spearfish or Rapid City.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mctraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a very standard Holiday Inn Express. Which means it is very dependable and reliable on its room finishes, breakfast, linens and comfort. It is smack dab in the middle of Main Street of Deadwood so walking distance to all the local attractions. The community parking garage nearby is a brilliant idea.

The front desk staff were pleasant and accommodating. But let's talk the management...

We were in town for the Deadwood Mickleson Trail Marathon. I called ahead to inquire about a late departure and was told since I am a Priority Member I have until 2pm. When I talked to the front desk the day before they say "Nope...the general manager says no late departures, even for Priority Club members. " Even though I told them I had been assured of it, they reported that "a note from the manager said no." I asked for the manager to call me, but she did not. Staff did say that I could speak to her at 8 am, but gosh, I'm at the start of a half-marathon at 8 a.m., 13.1 miles away.

This race brings in a lot of people to Deadwood. The general manager's petty, unaccommodating attitude not only destroyed every ounce of good feelings that all hotel guests who were running had about the Holiday Inn Express, but left me with the desire to write the Chamber, Visitor's Bureau, Marathon, and HIE management to complain. A tiny bit of goodwill, allowing for late check out with a small fee, or even free for those who had been assured it, would have completely changed my ranking of this hotel. The grumbling in the lobby of guests who had to shower in the pool room was audible. Trust me, there were not guests lined up to check in on Sunday night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agalooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We checked in on September 21, 09 for a two night stay. We had stayed here in June of 05 and just loved it. I really wanted the same room and finally managed to get it, but the hotel seems to have gone down. We're Priority Club members with the Holiday Inn Hotel chains and in 05, we stayed here for 10,000 points, now it takes 25,000($180) for the same room. We stayed in the spa suite again, but it was not as nice as before. We really enjoyed the town itself, there is a lot to do and see. I think I've said before that Holiday Inn is pricing us out of there hotels and when you call them about it, they seem very unconcerned. They have a decent continental breakfast, but the staff at this hotel leaves a little to be desired. You have to park a block or so away from the hotel which was really inconvenient if you needed to go anywhere, especially in the rain. We'd really like to go back to Deadwood in the future, but more than likely will not stay at this location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForneyNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We found the suite very spacious, quiet, bright and for the most part clean. Staff let us check-in early, thank-you..it was a life saver, and they were very pleasant about it. We found the location ideal and could walk very easily to everything. We slept well and had a nice breakfast in the morning. The only downfalls were the price (just a wee bit high- we just stayed at the Wynn in Vegas for $60.00 less per night) and the fridge and microwave area needed to be cleaned. Also, we took the stairs a lot as the small elevator was unable to keep up with demand.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleponyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 26 in Deadwood
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 26 in Deadwood
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#11 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: $59 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing