We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but pricey during Sturgis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Okay, but pricey during Sturgis”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

In mid-2012, we started staying at Holiday Inns & members of that Hotel Group. By and large, we are VERY satisfied!

Overall, the Holiday Inn Express in Deadwood is good; pretty clean, pretty quiet, pretty good breakfast spread. The prices go WAAAAAAY up during the "Black Hills Motorcycle Classic" rally ("Sturgis"), but all hotels in the area do.

When we stayed there, the hotel had no laundry facilities. None. No laundromat in the entire town of Deadwood. None. While we were there, the place was getting a bit of a facelift, and major renovations were in the works.

The Staff was very professional and friendly. So, pack a lot of clean clothes, and call the hotel before you click on "BOOK NOW". It's a good hotel in a great location, and they are truly trying to up their game.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, the Staff can tell you about the current renovations, amenities, and even s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.


Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    90
    41
    23
    13
See reviews for
83
117
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

my husband and I spent 5 days at the holiday inn sd. What a wonderful experience the staff was great, the room was wonderful. ( we stayed in the king Jacuzzi suite a little more expensive, but so worth it and very relaxing.) The breakfast was good and filling not fancy but just what you need to start the day. It is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a relaxing time with your spouse get a sweet and just enjoy each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here about 3 years ago and it was good, and it still is. It is pretty much front and center of all the shopping, restaurants and casinos. If you are familiar with the Holiday Inn Express chain, then you know what to expect. It is extremely clean and comfortable. Good breakfast and best of all the atrium is connected to a casino. Indoor pool and hot tub is icing on the cake. Don't hesitate, it's an HI Express.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank digger-ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our visit to Deadwood, SD was something we have been looking forward to for a long time. The city was nice and the old buildings were something to see, however we were a little disappointed in the lack of western atmosphere in the stores, restaurants and all the casinos. The Holiday Inn Express downtown was well located and the rooms were clean. The staff was not all that friendly except for Julie who helped us upon arrival. She was friendly and helpful. We had a queen suite so I can't say how roomy the other rooms were but ours was adequate. Other than advising the staff to upgrade their attitude of friendliness you should enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Terry O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are happy to read that our location and rooms exceeded your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the negative impression you had with the quality of the service you received from our staff. We will certainly discuss your comments with our staff. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Again, we are thankful for your review. We hope to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, SD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Kool Deadwood Nights 2013. We had a Queen Junior Suite. The room was standard size, the bed was comfy and the room was clean. The bathroom was VERY small though, and it was a pain to use with 2 people. The breakfast was standard continental breakfast: pancakes, eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, yogurt, milk, OJ, and some muffins/rolls. The lady at the front desk when we checked in wasn't the friendliest in the world, but the rest of the staff was pleasant. The hotel/casino boarders main street, which is where everything is so it had a great location. I would stay here again. The only thing that I didn't like is that they more than doubled their rates for the weekend because of the event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The rooms are very nice and clean, The location is great. You can step out of the front door and be in the middle of main street. The staff is very friendly and helpful.. They have a fantastic free breakfast consisting of biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, ham, juice, coffee, milk, cereal, bagels, waffles, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

On vacation husband & I stayed here. It is a nice hotel, very clean and the staff is friendly. The staff is knowledgable about the town anad how to get from Deadwood to other places of interest. This hotel has a great location, and is safe. To bad they don't have a restaurant on sight. But still a very good place to stay. They do have a gambling casino & bar for fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, our first room was a little small and husband said that he felt closed in. I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#6 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing