We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed in Deadwood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed in Deadwood”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here two nights, and really enjoyed the hospitality at this hotel. Although it is not convenient to many Black Hills sites, if you are a Wild West fan, you will enjoy Deadwood. This hotel is perfectly placed, right off of Main Street with its casinos and Wild Bill Hickok attractions. We did not spend that much time in the hotel itself, but the rooms were a good size and clean. The staff was uniformly friendly and professional. Be sure to "print" yourself a pancake for breakfast ("making 1 of 1"). They had an amazing array of selections for such a small space. We also checked out the fitness room which included a treadmill, elliptical and a couple of other cardio machines. Parking is free, at a parking garage that is about a block away. Since the hotel entrance is not on Main Street, we had more than enough time to unload and re-load our vehicle and did not feel the need to carry any of our luggage to and from the parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    92
    42
    23
    13
See reviews for
83
121
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devils Tower, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great rooms that adjoin for families. Great pool! We travel more than most people, and I've never had a more helpful friendly staff!! They made every effort to make our trip pleasant. Great grandparents, grandparents, children friendly!

Room Tip: First floor, first two room adjoin for families...pool, vending, ice right beside them. Excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Parking 2 blocks away
Stayed 2 nites they didn't shake sheets left dirt on be just pulled covers over it
Not enough room in hot tub for population of hotel and not near enough tables for breakfast and coffee was not hot

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Marilynn B,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am disappointed to hear your troubles during your visit. I am truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with the sheets and regret the inconvenience you have encountered in the breakfast area.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

after having a bad night in another hotel in another city we were very happy with night. the beds were comfy and the pillows were perfect. the room was nice and clean. the breakfast was good a nice verity of things.

Room Tip: good location to downtown things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here two times and love the location. Parking is free and you have access by walking to all of downtown Deadwood. If you get the players club card from their casino you save an extra 10%.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ceatriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As we entered Deadwood, you have to be aware of the corner to turn for the hotel. The hotel staff was wonderful as we checked in. The room was clean and quiet, and our room window overlooked the breakfast area. The breakfast was typical for a HI Express: eggs, sausage, warm cinnamon rolls, biscuits and sausage gravy. Also cereal, oatmeal, yogurt and bananas were available. Two types of milk were available, 2% and skim. I think there were three or four juices in the machine. I always enjoy my stays at HI Express as I enjoy a nice breakfast to start the day. The casino on the ground level is pretty small and has some dated machines, however, they paid out better than some other areas of town. I sure am glad that Deadwood is a quiet town, as the walk from the parking garage to the hotel at 2am is a little scary. But, I am also saying that as a person who had lived in the Chicago area for over 10 years, where you just don't make that kind of walk, by yourself, at that time of night. I guess I should also mention that I paid for this trip using my Priority Club points, and the staff really took care of us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BD_IC_2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Meticulous place, walking distance to most attractions in Deadwood, located in the center of town, breakfast bar serves delicious warm food (say hi to Vicki), hotel clean, free parking, friendly knowledgable staff, still remodeling but we did not notice

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabfour2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.2 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1349
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing