We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Stay Deadwood S.D.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Stay Deadwood S.D.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Top notch, downtown location with all the fun.
Amenities of a Holiday Inn Express.
Staff was great.
Location on main street is convenient to the theatrics of the old west.
Parking is a block away in the public garage, included and no problem.
Trolley gets you to all the off site areas you may want to vist.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    90
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
81
115
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,011 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The priority at this hotel seems to be the casino and not the hotel accommodation as even at check in discounts at their "sister" casino were offered. The hotel has only one elevator and this was woefully inadequate for the number of guests at the time that we were staying (a Saturday in June) - in addition, to normal hotel traffic guests are constantly using the elevator to move in/out of the casino. If you chose to use the stairs (as we did) you end up out on the street and not in the hotel lobby as we had expected. We were allocated an internal room with windows opening on to public areas; the Roman blinds provided privacy but did not exclude the light from the corridor throughout the night. The edges of the room (i.e. where the vacuum doesn't reach) were very dusty. On the plus side, customer service was very good particularly the staff on the front desk and breakfast bar who were very friendly and helpful, and the location is ideal for Main Street, Deadwood.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not allocated an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express in Deadwood on 6/19 through 6/22/2012. We were so happy with the service and staff that we decided to stay there again on the last two days of our vacation trip 6/26 and 6/27/2012. Allie and Jessie at the front desk were outstanding in assisting us with restaurant information, tours, etc. The rooms were great and the workers in the casino (Russell in particular) were very courteous and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We traveled to Deadwood in May. The HIE is a very nice hotel and in a great location. The downside of our trip was we arrived on a Sunday afternoon in May and the city was extremely quiet and many of the shops and casinos were closed or closing. Monday, we discovered that once again many of the shops were closed. All in all glad we stayed at HIE, plan on returning in the high season to fully enjoy the city of Deadwood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marriottfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Another wonderful stay at the HiExpress in Deadwood. The location is great for visiting Main St Deadwood.

Special shout out to Jessie at the front desk. She went above and beyond for us. Great customer service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carter1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our family of 5 recently visited Deadwood and chose HIExpress for our stay. What a pleasant experience! The front desk staff was very warm and hospitable, as well as housekeeping staff. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. The location is ideal for touring downtown Deadwood. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

55 guests from Wisconsin stayed 2 nights May 30 and 31st in Deadwood at the Holiday Inn Express. Excellant rooms, excellant service and a tremendous breakfast. Great location on Main Street in the heart of historic Deadwood. Thanks to the management for helping with our "surprise" for one of our guests. Seems Rattlesnake Jim was captured, arrested and tried right on our bus by Marshall May and Deputy Massy. Linda helped me set it all up. What a way to start our stay in Deadwood. Love the place and will go back!

Room Tip: Tell them Pine Hill Entertainment from Wisconsin sent ya!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sturgeon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Deadwood at Tin Lizzie Gaming Resort
0.0 mi away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#7 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Property: Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Address: 22 Lee St, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino, where you'll find South Dakota's own Mavericks Steaks & Cocktails (featuring the best in steaks, ribs and pasta), plenty of exciting action at the blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a banquet, reception or business conference, we're ready to accommodate you with first class facilities and catering by Mavericks. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, hardboiled eggs, make your own pancakes, biscuits & gravy, the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing