We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour guide hates children”
Review of Adams House

Adams House
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Historic Adams House was built in 1892 by Deadwood pioneers Harris and Anna Franklin. Local contemporary press described the home as "the grandest house west of the Mississippi." The elegant Queen Anne-style house heralded a wealthy and socially prominent new age for Deadwood, a former rough and tumble gold mining town. Harris and Anna Franklin’s son Nathan bought the house for $1 in 1905. In 1920, Nathan Franklin sold the house to W.E. and Alice Adams for $8,500. Adams' second wife Mary closed up the house in 1936, two years after W.E.'s death, leaving the contents and furnishings intact. By 1987, an infirm Mary Adams Balmat sold the mansion to a couple who renovated the house and operated it as a bed and breakfast inn until 1992 when they sold the home to the City of Deadwood’s Historic Preservation Commission.
dmcmccm
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tour guide hates children”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Awesome home to tour, but beware of the ogre who leads the tours, she is not child friendly. In fact, shes the epitome of a mean old spinster. It quickly became a joke among those of us in the tour, that day. The kids were scared to move after she admonished my son for running his "knuckles" over the wallpaper. I am a strict parent. I am not over reacting. If she was a fictional character, she'd be heating up the oven for Hansel and Gretel

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dmcmccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryAustin613, Manager at Adams House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Adams House. We actually love children. I am very sorry our docent treated the children on the tour badly. I have already spoken to our head docent about this. We will get this corrected immediately. Thank you so much for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    94
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Museum visit”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A must see in Deadwood for history buffs. Good exhibits. Only negative is three floors. Lots of variety.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great piece of history. Beautiful home.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This house has a great bit of history and is so beautiful. Hopefully you will have Robin as a tour guide You can also buy half price tickets for this at Deadwood on Main St at the KDSJ radio station.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adams house”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was just a really nice tour with a lot of interesting history and the people providing it were so nice!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rita11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

So beautiful and interesting... Guided tours every half hour, tour guides are nice, and informative. Tours take about 40min. No cameras though

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LynFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adams House also viewed

 

Been to Adams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing